Pulse methods and tests used to measure quality

Analytical tests:

  • Identify the quality characteristics of pulses
  • Determine end use of the pulses
  • Help pulse researchers and plant breeders understand the effect of environment on pulse crop quality

List of pulse methods and tests

Colour
Colour of dehulled lentils is measured using a Hunterlab LabScan XE spectrocolorimeter using the CIE (1976) L*, a* and b* colour scale with a D65 Illuminant. L*=darkness (0) to brightness (+); a*=greenness (-) to redness (+); b*=blueness (-) to yellowness (+).
Cooking time
Cooking time is determined using an automated Mattson cooker as described by Wang and Daun (2005), Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture 85:1631-1635. The automated Mattson cooker consists of a cooking rack and 25 hollow plungers. The weight of each plunger is adjusted to 90 g. A sample (30 g) is soaked in distilled water at room temperature (22±2°C) for 24 h. Soaked seeds are then positioned into each of the 25 saddles of the rack so that the tip of each plunger rests on the surface of the seed. The rack is then placed into a 2 L metal beaker containing 1.2 L of boiling water. When a seed becomes sufficiently tender, the plunger penetrates the seed and drops a short distance through the hole in the saddle. The time taken for each plunger to drop is automatically recorded. Cooking time for a sample is defined as the time required for 80% of the seeds to be penetrated.
Dehulling characteristics of red lentils
Dehulling characteristics of red lentils are determined using a Satake TM05C Grain Testing Mill (Satake Engineering Co Ltd, Hiroshima, Japan) in accordance to the procedure described by Wang (2005), Cereal Chemistry 82(6):671-676. Lentil seeds are passed through a series of sieves with 4.5, 5.0 and 5.5 mm holes and separated into fractions. The fraction ranging from 4.5 to 5.0 mm is used. Samples (30 g) are tempered to 12.5% moisture before they are dehulled. The tempered lentils are then processed in the mill for 38 sec. The speed of rotation of the abrasive wheel is operated at 1100 rpm. After dehulling, the powder is collected using a No. 20 mesh sieve and the rest of the product is separated into whole seeds, split seeds, broken seeds and hulls using a dockage tester (Simon-Day Ltd., Winnipeg, Canada). Both split and whole seeds are further separated by hand into their respective hulled and dehulled classes. All fractions are weighed and expressed as a proportion of the total original weight. Dehulling efficiency (%) is calculated as the sum of dehulled whole seed (%) and dehulled split seed (%).
Firmness of cooked pulse seeds
Firmness of cooked seeds is measured with a TA-HDi texture analyzer (Texture Technologies Corp., Scarsdale, NY) according to the method described by Wang et al (2010), Food Chemistry 118:109–115. A TA-91M Kramer Shear Cell (Texture Technologies Corp., Scarsdale, NY) is used. Firmness of cooked seeds is defined as the maximum force required to shear the cooked seeds and expressed as the maximum shear force per gram of cooked sample (N/g cooked sample). Values reported are averages of six determinations.
100-seed weight
100-seed weight is determined according to the AACC method 56-35.01. Broken and damaged seeds along with foreign material were handpicked from a sample. One hundred seeds are counted using a custom-made seed sampling paddle and weighed.
Protein content
Protein content (N x 6.25) is predicted by near-infrared (NIR) spectroscopy using a NIRSystems 6500 scanning near-infrared spectrometer. The instrument is calibrated and results are verified by the AOAC Official Method 992.23 – Crude Protein in Cereal Grains and Oilseeds Generic Combustion Method using a LECO Model FP-428 CNA analyzer. Protein content is reported as percentage calculated on a dry matter basis.
Seed size distribution
Seed size distribution is determined using the Image Analysis technique developed at the Canadian Grain Commission.
Starch content
Starch content is determined by the AACC method 76-13.
Water absorption
Water absorption or hydration capacity defined as the maximum amount of water that 100 seeds absorb at room temperature (22±2°C) is determined by the AACC method 56-35.01.
Date modified:

Méthodes et analyses servant à mesurer la qualité des légumineuses

Les analyses :

  • renseignent sur les caractéristiques qualitatives des légumineuses
  • déterminent l'utilisation finale des légumineuses
  • aident les chercheurs et les sélectionneurs de végétaux à comprendre l'effet de l'environnement sur la qualité des récoltes des légumineuses

Liste des méthodes et analyses des légumineuses

Couleur
La couleur des graines de lentille décortiquées est mesurée au moyen d'un spectrocolorimètre de modèle Hunterlab LabScan XE et d'une échelle colorimétrique CIE (1976) L*, a* et b* avec illuminant D65. L*= couleur sombre (0) à couleur éclatante (+); a*= teinte verte (-) à teinte rouge (+); b*= teinte bleue (-) à teinte jaune (+).
Durée de cuisson
La durée de cuisson est déterminée à l’aide d’un autocuiseur Mattson, tel que décrit par Wang et Daun (2005), Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture, vol. 85, pp. 1631-1635. Cet appareil comporte une grille de cuisson munie de 25 pistons creux. Le poids de chaque piston peut être réglé à 90 g. Les échantillons (30 g) sont trempés dans de l’eau distillée à température ambiante (22 ± 2 °C) pendant 24 heures. Les graines imbibées sont ensuite placées individuellement dans les 25 supports de la grille de cuisson, de manière à ce que l’extrémité de chaque piston touche la surface de la graine. La grille est alors disposée dans un bécher métallique de 2 L contenant 1,2 L d'eau bouillante. Lorsque la graine devient suffisamment tendre, le piston la perfore et poursuit sa course sur une faible distance à travers l'orifice du support. Le temps de chute de chaque piston est enregistré automatiquement. La durée de cuisson des échantillons représente le temps requis pour que les pistons pénètrent dans 80 % des graines.
Dehulling characteristics of red lentils
Dehulling characteristics of red lentils are determined using a Satake TM05C Grain Testing Mill (Satake Engineering Co Ltd, Hiroshima, Japan) in accordance to the procedure described by Wang (2005), Cereal Chemistry 82(6):671-676. Lentil seeds are passed through a series of sieves with 4.5, 5.0 and 5.5 mm holes and separated into fractions. The fraction ranging from 4.5 to 5.0 mm is used. Samples (30 g) are tempered to 12.5% moisture before they are dehulled. The tempered lentils are then processed in the mill for 38 sec. The speed of rotation of the abrasive wheel is operated at 1100 rpm. After dehulling, the powder is collected using a No. 20 mesh sieve and the rest of the product is separated into whole seeds, split seeds, broken seeds and hulls using a dockage tester (Simon-Day Ltd., Winnipeg, Canada). Both split and whole seeds are further separated by hand into their respective hulled and dehulled classes. All fractions are weighed and expressed as a proportion of the total original weight. Dehulling efficiency (%) is calculated as the sum of dehulled whole seed (%) and dehulled split seed (%).
Caractéristiques de décorticage des lentilles rouges
Les caractéristiques de décorticage des lentilles rouges sont déterminées à l’aide d’un moulin à échantillon TM05C de Satake (Satake Engineering Co., Hiroshima, Japon), conformément à la procédure décrite par Wang (2005), Cereal Chemistry, vol. 82, no 6, pp. 671-676. Les graines de lentille sont passées dans divers tamis (avec fentes de 4,5 mm, 5,0 mm et 5,5 mm), puis divisées en fractions. Des fractions de 4,5 mm à 5,0 mm sont utilisées. Les échantillons de lentilles (30 g) sont conditionnés pour amener leur teneur en eau à 12,5 % avant le décorticage. Les lentilles conditionnées passent ensuite dans le moulin pendant 38 secondes. La meule abrasive tourne à une vitesse de 1 100 tours/min. Après le décorticage, la poudre est séparée au moyen d'un tamis à mailles no 20, et les particules sont séparées en graines entières, graines fendues, graines cassées et enveloppes au moyen d'un tarare (Simon-Day Ltd.), Les graines fendues et entières sont séparées une deuxième fois à la main en deux catégories : vêtues et décortiquées. Toutes les fractions sont pesées, et leur poids est exprimé en pourcentage du poids total de départ. Le taux d'efficacité du décorticage (en %) est obtenu en additionnant le taux de graines décortiquées entières et le taux de graines décortiquées fendues.
Dureté des graines cuites
La dureté des graines cuites se mesure au moyen de l'analyseur de texture TA-HDi (Texture Technologies Corp., Scarsdale, NY), selon la méthode décrite par Wang et al (2010), Food Chemistry vol. 118, no 1, pp. 109–115. Un tendomètre TA-91M (Texture Technologies Corp., Scarsdale, NY) est utilisé. La dureté des graines cuites se définit comme la force maximale nécessaire pour entraîner la rupture des graines par cisaillement, et s’exprime sous forme d'énergie de compression maximale par gramme de graines cuites (N/g échantillon cuit). La valeur retenue est la moyenne de six déterminations.
Poids de 100 graines
Le poids de 100 graines est déterminé selon la méthode AACC 56-35.01. Les graines cassées et endommagées ainsi que les matières étrangères sont enlevées manuellement de chaque échantillon. Cent graines sont comptées à l'aide d'une planche conçue à cette fin, puis pesées.
Teneur en protéines
La teneur en protéines (N x 6,25) est mesurée par spectroscopie dans le proche infrarouge à l'aide d'un spectromètre à rayonnement infrarouge de modèle NIRSystems 6500. L'appareil est calibré et les résultats sont vérifiés en fonction de la méthode officielle no 992.23 de l'AOAC - Crude protein in Cereal Grains and Oilseeds Generic Combustion Method, à l'aide de l'appareil de dosage de l'azote et des protéines alimentaires de modèle LECO FP-428. Les résultats sont exprimés en pourcentage de la matière sèche.
Répartition des graines
La répartition des graines en fonction de la taille est déterminée à l'aide de la technique d'analyse d'images mise au point par la Commission canadienne des grains.
Teneur en amidon
La teneur en amidon est déterminée selon la méthode 76-13 d'AACC.
Taux d'absorption d'eau
Le taux d'absorption d'eau, ou capacité d’hydratation, qui se définit comme la quantité maximale d’eau pouvant être absorbée par 100 graines à température ambiante (22 ± 2 °C), est déterminé selon la méthode AACC 56-35.01.
Date de modification :