Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Using ultrasound to characterize fresh yellow alkaline noodles



Summary of research

Researchers at the Canadian Grain Commission evaluated using low-intensity ultrasound to characterize changes in the mechanical properties of fresh yellow alkaline noodles prepared with different ingredients (Bellido and Hatcher, 2009a). Their research found that the ultrasonic technique could provide technologically relevant information about the rheological properties of fresh noodles. It is a simple and reliable way to determine important textural parameters of yellow alkaline noodles and distinguish between them.

To compare the results of ultrasonic testing with a commonly-used test, the researchers evaluated samples of fresh noodles using stress relaxation testing. Results from these tests showed that ultrasonic velocity increased and attenuation decreased (p<0.05) with either an increase of sodium chloride concentration (1 to 3%, flour basis) or the addition of 2% transglutaminase to the fresh noodle formula. These changes to the fresh noodle formula gave the noodles increased mechanical strength. This increased strength was shown by changes in the longitudinal mechanical moduli (a modulus derived from applying ultrasonic waves as the external, probing force).

The velocity, attenuation and storage mechanical modulus obtained from ultrasonic experiments were correlated with the maximum stress detected by stress relaxation tests the researchers performed on the noodle samples.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Utilisation des ultrasons pour caractériser les nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches



Résumé des travaux de recherche

Des chercheurs de la Commission canadienne des grains ont utilisé des ultrasons à faible intensité pour caractériser les changements des propriétés mécaniques de nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches préparées avec différents ingrédients (Bellido et Hatcher, 2009a). Ils ont constaté que les ultrasons pouvaient fournir des informations technologiquement pertinentes sur les propriétés rhéologiques des nouilles fraîches. L’utilisation des ultrasons est une façon simple et fiable de déterminer certains paramètres texturaux importants des nouilles alcalines jaunes et les distinguer.

Afin de comparer les résultats des tests aux ultrasons avec ceux d’un test courant, les chercheurs ont examiné des échantillons de nouilles fraîches en utilisant des tests de relaxation des contraintes. Les résultats de ces tests ont montré que la vitesse des ultrasons augmentait et que l’atténuation diminuait (p < 0,05) avec une augmentation de la concentration de chlorure de sodium (1 3 %, base farine) ou l’addition de 2 % transglutamase à la composition des nouilles fraîches. Ces modifications de la composition des nouilles fraîches en ont augmenté la résistance mécanique. Cette augmentation a été constatée par des changements dans les modules mécaniques longitudinaux (modules déterminés par l’application d’ultrasons comme force de sondage extérieure).

La vitesse, l’atténuation et le module mécanique de conservation déterminés par les expériences avec les ultrasons ont été corrélés à la contrainte maximale déterminée par les tests de relaxation des contraintes effectués par les chercheurs sur des échantillons de nouilles.