Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Using ultrasound to characterize fresh yellow alkaline noodles

Discussion about the results of the experiment

This study shows that ultrasound is capable of:

  • Characterizing the rheological behaviour of noodles from a non-empirical (objective) perspective
  • Responding to a parameter of technological interest. Example: Maximum compress stress relates to noodle firmness (Bellido et al., 2006) and it is well correlated with sensory scores on the force required to compress a noodle between the molars (Oh et al., 1983).

Flour characteristics

Table 1 shows the chemical and physical characteristics of the flour used to make the noodle specimens.

  • Both flours had equivalent protein contents and gluten indices.
  • Ash content of the amber durum flour is higher than that of the hard white spring flour. Higher ash content is typical when yellow pigment-rich durum wheat is milled into flour.
  • Durum flour had significantly greater Farinograph water absorption capacity because of the starch damage caused by milling the harder durum wheat into flour. Rapid Visco Analyzer tests also showed this higher starch damage because durum flour resulted in a paste with reduced peak viscosity and final viscosity.
  • Excessive starch damage is undesirable in noodles made from bread wheat flour (Hatcher, Edwards and Dexter, 2008a). . However, high starch damage in durum flour has less of an effect on noodles made from it (Hatcher, Edwards and Dexter, 2008a).
Table 1. Proximate analyses of the experimental wheat (CWHWS and CWAD) flours used for the production of fresh yellow alkaline noodles.
Analysis CWHWS CWAD LSD b
a Combustion nitrogen analysis
b Least significant difference (p=0.05)
c Breakdown=(Peak Viscosity – Hot Peak Viscosity);
Setback=(Cool Paste Viscosity – Hot Peak Viscosity);
Stability ratio = [(Final Viscosity – Trough)/Trough];
Setback ratio = [(Peak Viscosity – Trough)/Peak Viscosity].
Analytical      
    Protein content (CNA a), % 13.2 13.1 -
    Gluten index, % 95.8 93.6 -
    Ash Content, % 0.41 0.62 -
    Moisture (w.b.), % 14.9 14.2 -
Farinogram      
    Absorption, % 62.4 76.4 -
    Dough Development Time, min 10.0 4.3 -
    Stability, min 14.8 5.8 -
RVA Pasting and Swellling Parameters c      
    Peak Viscosity, Pa s 3.117 2.203 0.051
    Trough, Pa s 1.725 1.324 0.031
    Breakdown, Pa s 1.391 0.879 0.061
    Final viscosity, Pa s 3.130 2.712 0.032
    Setback, Pa s 1.306 1.388 0.042
    Stability ratio 0.81 0.40 0.02
    Setback ratio 0.45 1.05 0.05

Ultrasonic properties

It is possible to use ultrasonic velocity measurements to investigate and quantify the effects various ingredients have on the physical properties of yellow alkaline noodles (Figure 3A). The researchers found that the velocity of the ultrasound wave increased significantly in either type of noodle after either the SK2 or SKT treatments relative to a control treatment.

Figure 3A

A - Ultrasonic velocity, see text for details.

Ultrasonic velocity (A) and attenuation (B) obtained from fresh YAN noodles formulated with CWHWS or CWAD wheat flour and with different combinations of ingredients. SK1= 1% NaCl + 1% kansui, SK2= 3% NaCl + 1% kansui and SKT=1% NaCl + 1% kansui + 2% transglutaminase.

Figure 3B

B - Attenuation, see text for details.

Because ultrasonic velocity is greater in stiffer materials, ultrasonic velocity appeared to be sensitive to the stiffening effects of sodium chloride (Bloksma and Bushuk, 1988) and transglutaminase (Autio et al., 2005; Steffolani et al., 2008) on dough rheology. However, the ultrasonic data showed that ultrasonic velocity measurements could not discriminate differences in the properties of noodles made from 2 different classes of wheat. This is consistent with findings from earlier ultrasonic studies on bread dough (Kidmose, Pedersen and Nielsen, 2001).

The researchers decided that the ultrasonic technique yields velocity measurements free from artifacts. They determined ultrasonic velocity from the inverse slope of the best-fit line passing through the plotted data (Figure 2A). The excellent fit of the straight line (R² = 0.997) shows that the effects on transit times due to stacking the noodle specimens were too small to be detected by the researchers’ experiments.

Figure 2A

A - Pulse time of flight, see text for details.

Pulse time of flight (A) and ultrasonic signal amplitude (B) as a function of sample thickness for fresh YAN doughs made from two wheat classes and various ingredients (fwb), as illustrated here for CWAD dough formulated with SKT treatment (1% NaCl + 1% kansui and 2% transglutaminase). Error bars denote SD (n=3). See text for details.

Figure 2B

B - Ultrasonic signal amplitude, see text for details.

Attenuation coefficient

The researchers found that ultrasonic attenuation in fresh noodles was smaller in noodles that had been prepared with additional salt (SK2) and transglutaminase (SKT) (Figure 2B). The attenuation data shows that the dough samples became stiffer after salt was added, just as the ultrasonic velocity data showed. The dough samples also became stiffer after transglutaminase was added as shown in the ultrasonic velocity data.

Mechanical properties obtained from ultrasonic measurements

Table 2 shows the mechanical properties for the experimental yellow alkaline noodles derived from the density and ultrasonic measurements at a frequency of 40 kHz. Results show that:

  • Ultrasound was sensitive to changes in the mechanical properties of yellow alkaline noodles caused by adding either:
    • More sodium chloride (SK2 versus SK1)
    • Tansglutaminase enzyme (SKT versus SK1).
  • Noodles made with SK2 and SKT had a significantly higher (p<0.05) higher mechanical modulus than noodles made with SK1.

When transglutaminase enzyme was used in the noodles, the elastic component of the longitudinal modulus was sensitive to the stiffening effects of salt and the transglutaminase enzyme. M’ values increased by nearly 30%.

Ultrasound analysis of viscoelastic behaviour of noodle showed that when compared to the standard formula (SK1), dough made from SK2 or SKT and hard white spring wheat flour resulted in noodles with more elastic-like behaviour (as measured by a lower M”/M’ ratio) (Table 2). This effect was not seen in noodles made with durum wheat flour.

The researchers proposed in an earlier study (Bellido and Hatcher, 2009b) that because a relatively smaller fraction of disulfide bonds participate in cross-linking the network protein structure of proteins in amber durum, the rheological properties of noodles made from durum wheat flour would be less susceptible to the cleavage of the disulphide bonds caused by L-cysteine. Similarly, one interpretation of the observed differences in the M”/M’ ratio for durum wheat and hard white spring wheat noodles (Table 2) is that transglutaminase did not bring about as much of a change in the viscoelasticity of durum wheat noodles because durum wheat has a lower fraction of gluten proteins with a high molecular weight(hence a lower number of intermolecular disulfide bonds in its protein newtwork) than hard white spring wheat.

Table 2. Density, storage modulus (M’), loss modulus (M”) and ratio M”/M’ for fresh YAN made from two classes of Canadian wheat (CWHWS and CWAD) flour and different combinations of salts and/or an enzyme. SK1= 1% NaCl + 1% kansui, SK2= 3% NaCl + 1% kansui and SKT=1% NaCl + 1% kansui + 2% transglutaminase.
Treatment Density
(kg/m3) 1
M’ (MPa) 1,2 M” (MPa) 1,2 M”/M’ 1,2
1 Values within the same column with different letters are significantly different at p<0.05.
2 Values derived from triplicate measurements of ultrasonic velocity and attenuation.
CWHWS        
    SK1 1262 ± 23 b 231 ± 95 b 286 ± 23 ab 1.24 ± 0.05 a
    SK2 1265 ± 14 b 300 ± 26 a 285 ± 15 ab 0.96 ± 0.12 c
    SKT 1303 ± 18 a 296 ± 48 a 326 ± 61 a 1.10 ± 0.07 b
CWAD        
    SK1 1277 ± 8 ab 245 ± 21 b 251 ± 28 b 1.02 ± 0.03 bc
    SK2 1260 ± 20 b 301 ± 13 a 291 ± 79 ab 0.97 ± 0.03 bc
    SKT 1281 ± 2 ab 317 ± 21 a 307 ± 29 ab 0.97 ± 0.01 bc
LSD 0.05 28 47 57 0.14

Stress relaxation testing

Canadian Grain Commission researchers used 3 parameters to characterize the stress relaxation behaviour of YAN:

  • Maximum compress stress (σmax)
  • Overall rate of relaxation (1/S*)
  • Residual stress (P*)

Stress relaxation testing showed that SK2 and SKT treatments produced firmer noodle doughs than the SKI treatment (Table 3). This result is similar to the rheological information obtained from the ultrasonic experiments (Table 2).

Table 3. Maximum compression stress (σmax), overall rate of relaxation (1/S*) and residual stress (P*) obtained from stress relaxation testing of fresh YAN made from two classes of Canadian wheat flour and different combinations of ingredients. SK1= 1% NaCl + 1% kansui, SK2= 3% NaCl + 1% kansui and SKT=1% NaCl + 1% kansui+ 2% transglutaminase.
Treatment σmax (kPa) 1 1/S* 1,2 P* 1,2
1 Values within the same column with different letters are significantly different at p<0.05.
2 Values derived from triplicate measurements.
CWHWS      
    SK1 18.9 ± 0.3 c 1.37 ± 0.01 a 0.68 ± 0.01 b
    SK2 21.8 ± 1.5 ab 1.42 ± 0.05 a 0.65 ± 0.01 c
    SKT 22.4 ± 0.4 a 1.42 ± 0.03 a 0.66 ± 0.01 bc
CWAD      
    SK1 20.2 ± 0.4 bc 1.24 ± 0.03 b 0.77 ± 0.02 a
    SK2 21.3 ± 1.8 ab 1.21 ± 0.01 b 0.79 ± 0.01 a
    SKT 21.4 ± 1.4 ab 1.22 ± 0.02 b 0.78 ± 0.01 a
LSD 0.05 2.1 0.05 0.02

Stress relaxation testing showed that durum wheat flour yielded noodles with stronger elastic-like behaviour (greater overall rate of relaxation and residual stress) than hard white spring wheat flour. The greater elastic-like mechanical behaviour of durum wheat noodles compared to hard white spring wheat noodles was also captured by the ultrasonic parameter measuring viscoelastic behaviour (M’/M’; Table 2). However, statistical analysis for the pooled data showed that the correlation between these parameters (overall rate of relaxation, residual stress, M”/M’) were not strong enough to be statistically significant (Table 4).

Table 4. Correlation Coefficients (R) and Probability Values 1 (p) between Stress Relaxation and Ultrasonic Rheological Parameters.
  Maximum Stress 1/S* P*
1 ns denotes not significant at 5% of probability.
Velocity (v) 0.529 -0.034 0.025
0.024 ns ns
Attenuation (α) -0.537 0.246 -0.291
0.022 ns ns
Density (ρ) 0.201 0.259 -0.169
ns ns ns
M’ 0.566 -0.078 0.098
0.014 ns ns
M” 0.304 0.180 -0.226
ns ns ns
M”/M’ -0.410 0.316 -0.382
0.091 ns ns
M 0.485 0.059 -0.070
0.485 0.059 ns

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Utilisation des ultrasons pour caractériser les nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches

Discussion des résultats de l’expérience

La présente étude montre que les ultrasons peuvent :

  • caractériser le comportement rhéologique des nouilles d’un point de vue non empirique (objectif);
  • réagir à un paramètre d’intérêt technologique. Exemple : la contrainte de compression maximale est liée à la fermeté des nouilles (Bellido et al., 2006) et est bien corrélée avec la force mesurée requise pour comprimer une nouille entre les molaires (Oh et al., 1983).

Caractéristiques de la farine

Le tableau 1 montre les caractéristiques chimiques et physiques de la farine utilisée dans la fabrication des échantillons de nouilles.

  • Les deux farines avaient les mêmes teneurs en protéines et indices de gluten.
  • La teneur en cendres de la farine de blé dur ambré est plus grande que celle de la farine de blé de force blanc de printemps. Une teneur en cendres élevée est souvent observée quand du blé dur riche en pigments jaunes est broyé pour être incorporé à la farine.
  • La farine de blé dur avait une capacité d’absorption de l’eau au farinographe nettement plus grande à cause de la dégradation de l’amidon causée par le broyage des grains plus vitreux du blé dur pour incorporer celui ci à la farine. Les tests d’analyse rapide de la viscosité ont également montré cette plus grande dégradation de l’amidon parce que la farine de blé dur donne une pâte dont les viscosités maximale et finale sont moins grandes.
  • L’amidon très dégradé n’est pas souhaitable dans les nouille faites de farine de blé tendre (Hatcher, Edwards et Dexter, 2008a). Cependant, l’amidon très dégradé dans la farine de blé dur a un effet moindre sur les nouilles fabriquées avec cette farine (Hatcher, Edwards et Dexter, 2008a).
Tableau 1. Analyses immédiates des farines de blé expérimental (blé de force blanc de printemps de l’Ouest canadien [CWHWS] et blé dur ambré de l’Ouest canadien [CWAD]) utilisées dans la production de nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches.
Analyses CWHWS CWAD PPDS b
a CNA (« Combustion Nitrogen Analysis ») : dosage de l’azote par combustion
b PPDS : plus petite différence significative (p = 0,05)
c Décomposition = (viscosité maximale – viscosité maximale à chaud);
retour = (viscosité de la pâte après le refroidissement – viscosité maximale à chaud);
rapport de stabilité = [(viscosité finale – creux)/creux]);
rapport de retour = [(viscosité maximale – creux)/viscosité maximale].
Mesures      
    Teneur en protéines (CNAa), % 13,2 13,1 -
    Indice de gluten, % 95,8 93,6 -
    Teneur en cendres, % 0,41 0,62 -
    Teneur en eau (à l’état humide), % 14,9 14,2 -
Farinogramme      
    Absorption, % 62,4 76,4 -
    Durée d’élaboration de la pâte, min 10,0 4,3 -
    Stabilité, min 14,8 5,8 -
Paramètres de collage et de gonflement de la RVAc      
    Viscosité maximale, Pa s 3,117 2,203 0,051
    Creux, Pa s 1,725 1,324 0,031
    Décomposition, Pa s 1,391 0,879 0,061
    Viscosité finale, Pa s 3,130 2,712 0,032
    Viscosité de retour, Pa s 1,306 1,388 0,042
    Rapport de stabilité 0,81 0,40 0,02
    Rapport de retour 0,45 1,05 0,05

Propriétés déterminées par les ultrasons

Il est possible d’utiliser les mesures de la vitesse des ultrasons pour étudier et quantifier les effets qu’ont divers ingrédients sur les propriétés physiques des nouilles alcalines jaunes (figure 3A). Les chercheurs ont trouvé que la vitesse des ondes ultrasonores augmentait de façon importante dans tous les types de nouilles après un contrôle SK2 ou SKT relatif à un traitement de contrôle.

Figure 3A

A - Vitesses, les renseignements sont dans le texte.

Vitesses (A) et atténuations (B) des ultrasons obtenues avec des nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches faites de farine de CWHWS ou de CWAD avec différentes combinaisons d’ingrédients. SK1 = 1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui, SK2 = 3 % NaCl + 1 % kansui et SKT = 1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui + 2 % transglutaminase.

Figure 3B

B - Atténuations, les renseignements sont dans le texte.

La vitesse des ultrasons étant plus grande dans les matières dures, elle semble sensible aux effets de durcissement du chlorure de sodium (Bloksma et Bushuk, 1988) et de la transglutaminase (Autio et al., 2005; Steffolani et al., 2008) sur les propriétés rhéologiques de la pâte. Cependant, les données montrent que les mesures de la vitesse des ultrasons ne peuvent distinguer les différences des propriétés de nouilles faites avec deux classes de blé différentes, ce qui confirme les résultats d’études antérieures de la pâte à pain (Kidmose, Pedersen & Nielsen, 2001) faites avec des ultrasons.

Les chercheurs ont conclu que la technique des ultrasons donne des mesures de vitesse exemptes d’artefacts. Ils ont déterminé la vitesse des ultrasons à partir de l’inverse de la pente de la droite d’ajustement optimal des données (figure 2A). L’excellent ajustement de la droite (R² = 0,997) montre que les effets des temps de transit dus à l’empilage des échantillons de nouilles sont trop faibles pour être détectés dans les expériences des chercheurs.

Figure 2A

A - Le temps de transit des impulsions, les renseignements sont dans le texte.

Le temps de transit des impulsions (A) et l’amplitude des signaux ultrasonores (B) en fonction de l’épaisseur de l’échantillon pour des nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches faites avec deux catégories de blé et divers ingrédients (base farine), tel qu’illustré ici pour la pâte de CWADformulée avec un traitement SKT (1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui et 2 % transglutaminase). Les barres d’erreur indiquent l’écart type (n = 3). On trouvera une information plus détaillée dans le texte.

Figure 2B

B - Amplitude des signaux ultrasonores, les renseignements sont dans le texte.

Coefficient d’atténuation

Les chercheurs ont trouvé que l’atténuation des ultrasons dans les nouilles fraîches était plus faible dans les nouilles contenant un supplément de sel (SK2) et de transglutaminase (SKT) (figure 2B). Les données sur l’atténuation montrent que les échantillons de pâte sont devenus plus durs après l’addition de sel, comme l’indiquaient les données sur la vitesse des ultrasons. Les échantillons ont également durci après l’addition de transglutaminase comme l’indiquent les données sur la vitesse des ultrasons.

Propriétés mécaniques déduites des mesures sur les ultrasons

Le tableau 2 montre les propriétés mécaniques des nouilles alcalines jaunes expérimentales qui sont déduites des mesures de densité et des mesures sur les ultrasons à une fréquence de 40 kHz. Les résultats montrent que :

  • les ultrasons sont sensibles aux changements des propriétés mécaniques des nouilles alcalines jaunes causés par l’addition :
    • de chlorure de sodium (SK2 vs SK1), ou
    • de transglutaminase (SKT vs SK1);
  • les nouilles faites avec SK2 et SKT ont un module mécanique nettement plus élevé (p < 0,05) que les nouilles faites avec SK1.

Quand on a utilisé une transglutaminase dans les nouilles, la composante élastique du module longitudinal était sensible aux effets de durcissement dus au sel et à la transglutaminase. M’ a augmenté d’environ 30 %.

L’analyse aux ultrasons du comportement viscoélastique des nouilles montre que, comparativement à la formule standard (SK1), la pâte faite de SK2 ou de SKT et de farine de blé de force blanc de printemps a donné des nouilles ayant un comportement plus élastique (tel qu’indiqué par une baisse du rapport M’’/M’) (tableau 2). Cet effet n’a pas été observé dans les nouilles faites avec de la farine de blé dur.

Dans une étude antérieure (Bellido & Hatcher, 2009b), les chercheurs ont proposé qu’étant donné que seule une fraction relativement faible des liaisons disulfure participe au pontage du réseau de protéines dans le blé dur ambré, les propriétés rhéologiques des nouilles faites de farine de blé dur seraient moins sensibles au clivage des liaisons disulfure causé par la L cystéine. De même, l’une des interprétations des différences observées dans les rapports M”/M’ pour les nouilles de blé dur et de blé de force blanc de printemps (tableau 2) est que la transglutaminase n’a pas modifié autant la viscoélasticité des nouilles de blé dur parce que celui ci a une fraction plus faible de protéines de gluten à poids moléculaire élevé (et par conséquent un nombre plus faible de liaisons disulfure intermoléculaires dans son réseau de protéines) que le blé de force blanc de printemps.

Tableau 2. Densité, module de conservation (M’), module de perte (M”) et rapport M”/M’ pour les nouilles alcalines jaunes faites avec deux catégories de blé canadien (le blé de force blanc de printemps de l’Ouest canadien et le blé dur ambré de l’Ouest canadien) et différentes combinaisons de sels et/ou d’enzymes. SK1 = 1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui, SK2 = 3 % NaCl + 1 % kansui et SKT = 1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui + 2 % transglutaminase.
Traitement Densité
(kg/m3) 1
M’ (MPa) 1,2 M” (MPa) 1,2 M”/M’ 1,2
1 Dans une même colonne, les valeurs auxquelles sont apposées des lettres différentes sont significativement différentes à p < 0,05.
2 Valeurs dérivées de mesures triples de la vitesse et de l’atténuation des ultrasons.
CWHWS        
    SK1 1262 ± 23 b 231 ± 95 b 286 ± 23 ab 1,24 ± 0,05 a
    SK2 1265 ± 14 b 300 ± 26 a 285 ± 15 ab 0,96 ± 0,12 c
    SKT 1303 ± 18 a 296 ± 48 a 326 ± 61 a 1,10 ± 0,07 b
CWAD        
    SK1 1277 ± 8 ab 245 ± 21 b 251 ± 28 b 1,02 ± 0,03 bc
    SK2 1260 ± 20 b 301 ± 13 a 291 ± 79 ab 0,97 ± 0,03 bc
    SKT 1281 ± 2 ab 317 ± 21 a 307 ± 29 ab 0,97 ± 0,01 bc
LSD 0,05 28 47 57 0,14

Tests de relaxation des contraintes

Les chercheurs de la Commission canadienne des grains ont utilisé trois paramètres pour caractériser le comportement des nouilles alcalines jaunes dans les tests de relaxation des contraintes :

  • la contrainte de compression maximale (σmax);
  • le taux de relaxation global (1/S*);
  • la contrainte résiduelle (P*).

Les tests de relaxation des contraintes ont montré que les traitements SK2 et SKT produisaient des pâtes à nouilles plus fermes que le traitement SK1 (tableau 3). Ce résultat est semblable aux renseignements rhéologiques obtenus dans les expériences aux ultrasons (tableau 2).

Tableau 3. Tension de compression maximale (σmax), taux de relaxation global (1/S*) et contrainte résiduelle (P*) obtenus dans des tests de relaxation des contraintes effectués sur des nouilles alcalines jaunes fraîches faites avec de la farine de deux classes de blé canadien et différentes combinaisons d’ingrédients. SK1 = 1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui, SK2 = 3 % NaCl + 1 % kansui et SKT = 1 % NaCl + 1 % kansui+ 2 % transglutaminase.
Traitement σmax (kPa) 1 1/S* 1,2 P* 1,2
1 Dans une même colonne, les valeurs auxquelles sont apposées les lettres différentes sont significativement différentes à p < 0,05.
2 Valeurs dérivées de mesures triples.
CWHWS      
    SK1 18,9 ± 0,3 c 1,37 ± 0,01 a 0,68 ± 0,01 b
    SK2 21,8 ± 1,5 ab 1,42 ± 0,05 a 0,65 ± 0,01 c
    SKT 22,4 ± 0,4 a 1,42 ± 0,03 a 0,66 ± 0,01 bc
CWAD      
    SK1 20,2 ± 0,4 bc 1,24 ± 0,03 b 0,77 ± 0,02 a
    SK2 21,3 ± 1,8 ab 1,21 ± 0,01 b 0,79 ± 0,01 a
    SKT 21,4 ± 1,4 ab 1,22 ± 0,02 b 0,78 ± 0,01 a
LSD 0,05 2,1 0,05 0,02

Les tests de relaxation des contraintes ont montré que la farine de blé dur donnait des nouilles à comportement élastique plus fort (taux de relaxation global et tension résiduelle plus élevés) que la farine de blé de force blanc de printemps. Le plus net comportement élastique des nouilles de blé dur comparativement aux nouilles de blé de force blanc de printemps a été confirmé par le paramètre ultrasonore mesurant le comportement viscoélastique (M’’/M’, tableau 2). Cependant, l’analyse statistique des données groupées a montré que la corrélation entre ces paramètres (taux de relaxation global, tension résiduelle, M”/M’) n’était pas suffisamment forte pour être statistiquement significative (tableau 4).

Tableau 4. Coefficients de corrélation (R) et probabilités1 (p) pour les paramètres de relaxation des contraintes et de rhéologie ultrasonore
  Contrainte maximale 1/S* P*
1 ns : non significatif à une probabilité de 5 %.
Vitesse (v) 0,529 -0,034 0,025
0,024 ns ns
Atténuation (α) -0,537 0,246 -0,291
0,022 ns ns
Densité (ρ) 0,201 0,259 -0,169
ns ns ns
M’ 0,566 -0,078 0,098
0,014 ns ns
M” 0,304 0,180 -0,226
ns ns ns
M”/M’ -0,410 0,316 -0,382
0,091 ns ns
M 0,485 0,059 -0,070
0,485 0,059 ns