Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

The road to quality hulless malting barley - Where to now?

By M.J. Edney, Canadian Grain Commission, Winnipeg, Manitoba, B.G. Rossnagel, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, W. G. Legge, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Brandon, Manitoba

History of hulless barley for malting in Canada

Hulless barley, with its high level of digestible energy for feeding or high level of malt extract for brewing, has always intrigued end users of barley. In western Canada hulless barley first came into prominence with the registration in 1985 of Scout, a hulless feed barley variety. Several more feed varieties were to follow, many with inherent problems of adhering hulls which, along with poor price discovery, limited the commercial success of hulless barley for feed.

pig feeding

Investigations into the malting potential of hulless barley began in 1995. Results indicated a significant increase in extract level, which was encouraging, but problems with adhering hulls, high levels of wort ß-glucan and low friability were a concern (Table 1). Commercial brewers were attracted to the high extract level along with reduced amounts of spent grain and lower transportation costs for hulless barley but showed limited commercial interest.

Table 1 – Malt quality in original hulless study
  Malt Extract (%) Wort ß-glucan (ppm) Friability (%)
* average 22 hulless breeder lines (1995)
Harrington 79.4 115 86.6
Hullness barley malt * 83.9 750 35.0
barley

As mash filters became more common,however, the lure of high extracts peaked the interest of one international brewer and they tried some smallcommercial trials with hulless barley malt. They were encouraged by the results which provided stimulus to continue the development of hulless malting barley in Canada. Canadian breeders began making specific crosses for improving the malt potential of hulless barley but quality objectives for breeding were still not well defined.

Timelines for development of hulless barley for malting in Western Canada

1985


Scout released; 1st Canadian hulless (feed) barley

1995


Numerous hulless feed barley varieties released in the 1990's Condor, Falcon, AC Bacon, CDC Dawn, CDC McGwire

2000


International brewers investigate hulless barley malt from Canada

2005


Release of hulless barley Wort ß-glucan (low) varieties specifically for malting CDC ExPlus Taylor6

2010


Specialized malts produced commercially from Canadian hulless barley

Hulless Barley varieties bred specifically for malting are now registered

Industry must now test and demonstrate commercial demand

Future of hulless barley for malting

The future of hulless barley for malt was given a boost when the malting and brewing industry indicated high extracts was their only interest in hulless barley malt. They suggested breeders limit their quality objectives to reducing adhering hulls, lowering grain protein, increasing malt extract, and decreasing wort ß-glucan. Enzymes, soluble protein and other commonly analysed malt parameters were not to be a concern. Any commercial use of hulless barley malt would be limited to blends with covered malts, and the covered malts would supply all the necessary enzymes and soluble protein.

Breeders have since concentrated on improving these specific aspects of quality, along with agronomic and pathological objectives, and the first hulless barley varieties bred specifically for malting were registered in 2009 (CDC ExPlus, Taylor).

Table 2 – Malt quality of recently released hulless barley varieties
Varieties Grain Protein (% dm) Malt Extract (%) Wort ß-glucan (ppm)
* recommended for registration 2011
CDC McGwire 9.2 88.3 364
CDC ExPlus 9.5 89.2 130
Taylor 9.6 89.7 83
HB08304* 9.1 90.7 88
cerealmalt barley beer

Despite the availability of hulless barley varieties with exceptional malt quality potential (Table 2), commercial demand has been limited. Large commercial maltsters and brewers remain skeptical due to potential processing concerns, such as stickiness of hulless barley during processing and acrospire loss; the need for separate storage bins and general conservatism.

Micro brewers have shown some interest in this unique product and commercial quantities of specialty malts were recently produced from Canadian hulless barley. Hulless barley malt, however, will only become a commercial success if the malting and brewing industries pursue the full processing potential of the new varieties, including potentially new markets such as the food industry and small brewers where the full marketing potential of this unique grain can be pursued.

Alternative format

The document is also available in PDF format:

The road to quality hulless malting barley - Where to now? (PDF, 72 kb)

Refer to our PDF help page for information on how to view, print and download PDF documents.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vers une orge à grains nus de qualité pour le maltage : quelle est la prochaine étape?

Par M.J. Edney, Commission canadienne des grains, Winnipeg (Manitoba) B.G. Rossnagel, Université de la Saskatchewan, Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) W. G. Legge, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Brandon (Manitoba)

Historique de l'orge à grains nus destinée au maltage au Canada

Dotée d'une teneur élevée en énergie digestible pour le fourrage et en extrait de malt pour le brassage, l'orge à grains nus a toujours intrigué les utilisateurs finaux de l'orge. Dans l'Ouest canadien, l'orge à grains nus s'est d'abord fait connaître en 1985 grâce à l'enregistrement de la variété Scout, destinée au fourrage. Plusieurs autres variétés fourragères ont suivi, mais bon nombre présentaient un problème inhérent de glumes adhérées, ce qui, combiné à un faible prix, a restreint la réussite commerciale de l'orge à grains nus pour cet usage.

fourragères de cochons

On a commencé à étudier le potentiel brassicole de l'orge à grains nus en 1995. On a ainsi pu constater une hausse importante de la teneur en extrait, ce qui était encourageant, mais des problèmes de glumes adhérées, un taux élevé de bêta-glucane dans le moût et une faible désagrégation ont suscité quelques réserves (tableau 1). Les brasseurs commerciaux étaient attirés par la teneur élevée en extrait de l'orge à grains nus, ainsi que par une moindre quantité de drêche et des coûts de transport réduits, mais ils ont montré peu d'intérêt sur le plan commercial.

Tableau 1. Qualité du malt de l'orge à grains nus de la première étude
  Extrait de malt(%) Taux de ß-glucane dans le moût (ppm) Désagré-gation (%)
* 22 lignées d'orge à grains nus en moyenne (1995)
Harrington 79,4 115 86,6
Malt de l'orge à grains nus * 83,9 750 35,0
Orge canadienne

Cependant, grâce à la popularité des filtres à moût, l'attrait d'une teneur élevée en extraits a suscité un vif intérêt de la part d'un brasseur étranger, qui a fait quelques essais commerciaux à partir du malt issu de l'orge à grains nus. Les résultats prometteurs obtenus l'ont encouragé à poursuivre l'exploitation de l'orge à grains nus pour le maltage au Canada. Les sélectionneurs canadiens se sont mis à faire des croisements particuliers afin d'améliorer le potentiel brassicole de l'orge à grains nus, mais les objectifs de qualité en ce qui concerne la sélection restaient à définir.

Chronologie du développement de l'orge à grains nus destinée au maltage dans l'Ouest canadien

1985


Lancement de la variété Scout; 1re variété canadienne d'orge à grains nus (fourrage)

1995


Lancement de nombreuses variétés fourragères d'orge à grains nus dans les années 1990 : Condor, Falcon, AC Bacon, CDC Dawn et CDC McGwire

2000


Étude du malt issu de l'orge à grains nus canadienne par des brasseurs étrangers

2005


Lancement de variétés d'orge à grains nus spécialement conçues pour le maltage CDC ExPlus et Taylor

2010


Production commerciale de malts de spécialité à partir de l'orge à grains nus canadienne

Des variétés d'orge à grains nus cultivées spécialement pour le maltage sont enregistrées.

L'industrie doit maintenant faire des essais et démontrer l'existence d'une demande commerciale.

Avenir de l'orge à grains nus destinée au maltage

L'avenir de l'orge à grains nus cultivée pour son malt est des plus prometteurs depuis que l'industrie de la brasserie et de la malterie s'est dite uniquement intéressée par sa teneur élevée en extrait de malt. Elle suggère aux sélectionneurs de limiter leurs objectifs de qualité à la réduction des glumes adhérées, de la teneur en protéines du grain et du taux de ß-glucane dans la moût, ainsi qu'à l'accroissement de l'extrait de malt. Ceux-ci n'ont donc pas à se soucier du taux d'enzymes, de la teneur en protéines solubles ou des autres paramètres du malt habituellement analysés. Toute utilisation commerciale de l'orge à grains nus se limitera aux mélanges contenant les malts visés, lesquels fourniront tous les enzymes et protéines solubles nécessaires.

Depuis, les sélectionneurs concentrent donc leurs efforts à améliorer ces aspects particuliers de la qualité, ainsi certaines caractéristiques agronomiques et pathologiques. Les toutes premières variétés d'orge à grains nus cultivées spécifiquement pour le maltage ont été enregistrées en 2009 (CDC ExPlus, Taylor).

Tableau 2. Qualité du malt des récentes variétés d'orge à grains nus
Variétés Teneur en protéines(% dm) Extrait de malt(%) Taux de ß-glucane dans le moût(ppm)
* Enregistrement recommandé en 2011
CDC McGwire 9,2 88,3 364
CDC ExPlus 9,5 89,2 130
Taylor 9,6 89,7 83
HB08304* 9,1 90,7 88
Céréalesbière à l'orge à grains nus canadienne

Malgré la disponibilité de variétés offrant une qualité brassicole exceptionnelle (tableau 2), la demande commerciale d'orge à grains nus est limitée. Les grandes brasseries et malteries commerciales demeurent sceptiques en raison des problèmes pouvant survenir durant sa transformation (adhésivité et perte de la plumule), de la nécessité de l'entreposer séparément et d'un certain conservatisme généralisé.

Les microbrasseries montrent un certain intérêt envers ce produit unique en son genre, et une quantité commerciale de malts de spécialité a dernièrement été produite à partir de l'orge à grains nus canadienne. Toutefois, le malt qui en est extrait ne connaîtra de succès commercial que si les brasseurs et les malteurs exploitent le plein potentiel de transformation des nouvelles variétés, notamment les nouveaux débouchés comme l'industrie alimentaire et les petits brasseurs, où toutes les possibilités commerciales de cette céréale sans pareil peuvent être explorées.

Média substitut

Le document est aussi disponible en format PDF :

Vers une orge à grains nus de qualité pour le maltage : quelle est la prochaine étape?( PDF, 66 Ko)

Veuillez consulter la page d'aide qui renferme des renseignements sur la façon de visualiser, imprimer et télécharger les fichiers PDF.