Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Measuring barley kernel colour and size to predict end use malt quality



Materials and methods

All samples were from the 2003 harvest and were AC Metcalfe malting barley that had been commercially selected for malting. Samples were sourced from unloads at port positions or directly from producers. The port-sourced barley samples were collected in Vancouver by the CGC using standard sampling techniques as cars unloaded during the winter and spring of 2004. The producer samples were from submissions to the Barley Development Council's 2003 competition.

The effect of kernel plumpness on malt quality was investigated by separating the port unload samples into intermediate kernels, kernels remaining on a 5/64" slotted screen after passing through a 6/64" slotted screen; and plump kernels, kernels remaining on the 6/64" slotted screen. Samples of each size were malted separately. Composites of samples had to be formed in order to ensure an adequate amount of barley for malting, especially for samples of the intermediate kernels. Four to five unload samples, with similar grades, colour and kernel size, were identified for compositing. The twenty-four composites were mixed after separating samples into intermediate and plump fractions. The 44 competition samples were not mixed but were sized and only plump kernels were malted.

All 68 samples were graded, prior to sizing, (CGC Grading Guide) by one CGC inspector who also visually assessed each sample for colour based on a numerical scale of 1 (good colour) to 6 (poor colour). Colour was determined objectively with image analysis by scanning unsized samples for determination of the RGB, an additive colour model in which equal proportions of red, green and blue can be combined to create white. Thousand kernel weights and analysis with the SKCS were done on the plump and intermediate port composites.

The port and competition samples differed with respect to the homogeneity of kernels within a sample. Not only were composites of the port samples mixed in the laboratory, but unloads in Vancouver were likely blends of barley from different producers. This all contrasted with the competition samples which were from individual producers, thus most likely individual fields, with no compositing in the laboratory. Storage time also differed between the two sets of samples with competition samples being stored at room temperature (ca. 20°C) for 18 months compared to 8 months of room temperature storage for composited port samples.

Samples were malted in a Phoenix Micromalting System with standard 2003 micro-malting conditions (Steeping: 10h wet, 18h dry, 8h wet, 12h dry @ 13°C; Germination: 36h @ 16°C, 60h @ 15°C; Kilning: 12h @ 55°C, 6h @ 65°C, 2h @ 75°C, 4h @ 85°C).

Grades, kernel plumpness and 1000 kernel weight were determined with methods from CGC's Official Grain Grading Guide. Other barley and malt analyses were performed according to the standard methods of the American Society of Brewing Chemists (ASBC).

Barley analyses included:

  1. Grain protein;
  2. Germination energy, the percentage of kernels growing after 72 hours in 4 mL of water;
  3. Germination index, an indication of uniformity and speed of germination over the 72 hours; and
  4. Steep-out moisture, the percentage of water in barley after steeping, the initial process in malting.

Malt analyses included:

  1. Malt extract (fine grind), a measurement of the proportion of a malt that can go into solution, thus, indicating a malt's beer production potential;
  2. Soluble protein, which is required for adequate foam stability in beer, although, too much soluble protein can result in beer hazes and darker coloured beers;
  3. ß-glucan, viscosity and friability, all indicators of the extent to which the barley endosperm has broken down during malting;
  4. Diastatic power and α-amylase, enzymes that render malt starch soluble during the first phase of brewing; and
  5. Wort colour, an indication of final beer colour.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Mesure de la couleur et de la taille du grain d'orge pour prédire la qualité d'utilisation finale du malt



Matériel et méthodes

Tous les échantillons provenaient de la récolte de 2003 d'orge brassicole de la variété 'AC Metcalfe', sélectionnée commercialement pour le maltage. Nous avons utilisé deux types d'échantillons : les premiers, ici appelés « échantillons portuaires », ont été prélevés par la Commission canadienne des grains dans le port de Vancouver, au déchargement des wagons, durant l'hiver et le printemps 2004, au moyen des techniques d'échantillonnage standard. Les seconds, ici appelés « échantillons de concours », provenaient directement des producteurs, qui les avaient soumis au concours de 2003 du Conseil de développement de l'orge.

Pour étudier l'effet du caractère ventru des grains sur leur qualité brassicole, nous avons séparé les échantillons portuaires en fractions à grains intermédiaires (retenus par un crible à fentes de 5/64 po après avoir traversé un crible à fentes de 6/64 po) et à grains ventrus (retenus par le crible à fentes de 6/64 po), et les deux fractions ont été maltées séparément. Afin de disposer d'une quantité suffisante de grains pour le maltage, particulièrement dans le cas des grains intermédiaires, nous avons dû grouper les échantillons portuaires en échantillons composites, chacun à partir de quatre ou cinq échantillons initiaux dont les grains avaient un grade, une couleur et une taille semblables; le mélange a été effectué après la séparation des échantillons en fractions à grains intermédiaires ou à grains ventrus. Les 44 échantillons de concours n'ont pas été groupés en échantillons composites, mais ils ont été calibrés, et seuls les grains ventrus ont été maltés.

Les échantillons portuaires et les échantillons de concours présentaient des différences quant à l'homogénéité des grains de chaque échantillon. Non seulement les échantillons portuaires avaient-ils été groupés en échantillons composites en laboratoire, mais les lots déchargés à Vancouver étaient sans doute déjà des mélanges d'orges provenant de divers producteurs. Dans les cas des échantillons de concours, au contraire, chaque échantillon provenait d'un seul producteur, et donc probablement d'un seul champ, et aucun échantillon composite n'a été constitué en laboratoire. Les deux types d'échantillons avaient également été soumis à des périodes d'entreposage différentes : les échantillons de concours avaient été conservés à la température ambiante (environ 20 °C) pendant 18 mois, alors que les échantillons portuaires avaient été entreposés pendant 8 mois, également à la température ambiante.

Les échantillons ont été maltés dans un appareil Phoenix Micromalting System, selon les conditions standard de micro-maltage de 2003 (encuvage à 13 °C 10 h à l'eau, 18 h à sec, 8 h à l'eau, puis 12 h à sec; germination 36 h à 16 °C, puis 60 h à 15 °C; séchage 12 h à 55 °C, 6 h à 65 °C, 2 h à 75 °C, puis 4 h à 85 °C).

Le grade, le pourcentage de grains ventrus et le poids de 1000 grains ont été déterminés conformément au Guide officiel du classement des grains de la Commission canadienne des grains. Les autres analyses de l'orge et du malt ont été effectuées selon les méthodes standard de l'American Society of Brewing Chemists (ASBC).

L'orge a été soumise aux analyses suivantes :

  1. teneur du grain en protéines;
  2. énergie de germination, ou pourcentage de grains germant après 72 heures dans 4 mL d'eau;
  3. indice de germination, indiquant l'uniformité et la rapidité de la germination au cours de ces 72 heures;
  4. teneur en eau au décuvage, ou pourcentage d'eau présente dans le grain après l'encuvage, qui est la première étape du maltage.

Le malt a été soumis aux analyses suivantes :

  1. rendement en extrait de malt (mouture fine), ou fraction soluble du malt, indicatrice de la capacité du malt à donner de la bière;
  2. teneur en protéines solubles (ces protéines sont nécessaires à l'obtention d'une bière à mousse stable, mais peuvent, en quantité excessive, donner une bière trouble ou trop foncée);
  3. teneur en ß-glucane, viscosité et friabilité, indiquant jusqu'à quel point l'albumen du grain s'est désagrégé durant le maltage;
  4. pouvoir diastasique et teneur en α-amylase (les enzymes visées par ces analyses rendent l'amidon soluble à la première étape du brassage);
  5. couleur du moût, indicatrice de la couleur finale de la bière.