Milling for quality evaluation of new wheat lines

Marta Izydorczyk and Jerry Kletke, Grain Research Laboratory

Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory Mill
Photo 1. The Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory Mill for milling new wheat lines at the Grain Research Laboratory.

The Grain Research Laboratory uses three Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory Mills for milling new wheat lines tested in the Canadian wheat breeding programs. Two mills are used for hard wheat and one mill is used for soft wheat. The Buhler mill is a batch mill with stock being conveyed pneumatically (photo 1). The milling flow consists of three corrugated roll break (B) passages, three smooth roll reduction (C) passages, and one bran finisher passage. A rotary sifter is used for final sieving of the flour and to separate the bran flour from the residual bran.

For the evaluation of milling and functional qualities of late generation lines in the Western Canadian wheat breeding programs, an extraction rate (flour yield) of 74% is kept constant for all lines. The constant extraction rate is used so that samples can be compared on an equivalent basis, in particular for ash content. A sample with lower ash content than the check varieties, prepared at the same extraction rate, indicates that a miller could extract more flour compared with the current varieties while meeting customer specifications for ash. In contrast, if a sample has higher ash content than the check varieties at equivalent extraction rate then it would have to be milled to a lower extraction rate in order to produce flour with equivalent ash content.

Handling and tempering wheat before milling

  1. Wheat samples are cleaned using a Carter dockage tester to remove impurities. After cleaning, a test weight is performed, and the grain is cleaned again using a Forster Cyclone Grain scourer to further remove any dust and dirt adhering to the grain kernels.
  2. Wheat moisture is determined using the Brabender MT-C moisture tester. 10 grams of grain is ground with a Brabender SM-3 Break mill and placed in the moisture tester for one hour at 130°C.
  3. The samples are tempered to different moisture levels depending on the wheat class:
    • Canada Western Red Spring wheat is tempered to 16.4% moisture
    • Canada Western Hard White wheat is tempered to 16.4% moisture
    • Canada Western Prairie Spring wheat is tempered to 16.0% moisture
    • Canada Western Amber Durum wheat is tempered to 16.0% moisture
    • Canada Western Red Winter wheat is tempered to 15.5% moisture
    • Canada Western Soft White wheat is tempered to 14.5% moisture
    • Canada Northern Hard Red wheat is tempered to 16.4% moisture
  4. When the wheat moisture content is above 10%, an appropriate amount of water is added to achieve the desired tempered milling moisture. If the wheat moisture content is below 10%, the wheat is tempered in two stages: initially to approximately 13% and then to the desired level. Wheat samples are placed in 6 litre plastic containers with airtight lids. The samples are shaken by hand after the initial addition of water and then inverted intermittently by a mechanical mixer for 6 hours. Generally wheat samples are tempered overnight for at least 18 hours. The milling performance does not change if the total tempering time ranges from 12 to 48 hours. Therefore the samples can be milled over several hours without fear that the milling results will change from the first to the last sample.
  5. After tempering, the moisture content of the wheat samples is determined again to confirm the desired level.

Milling

Flour tumbler for mixing flour streams
Photo 2. Flours streams are combined in a flour tumbler and mixed for 10 minutes.
  1. Milling is performed using the Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory Mill in a temperature and humidity-controlled room: 21°C and 60% humidity to assure repeatable results, regardless of the ambient conditions.
  2. The routine Grain Research Laboratory hard wheat mill flow is illustrated in figure 1. The feed rate for hard wheat is 100 grams per minute.
  3. The routine Grain Research Laboratory soft wheat mill flow is illustrated in figure 2. The feed rate for soft wheat is 75 grams per minute.
  4. The smooth rolls (C1-3) are warmed up to 30°C (overnight using electric heaters) to avoid any mill warm up time and to ensure constant temperature of the rolls during milling. Variations in grinding roll temperature will influence milling results, since rolls expand as they warm up, decreasing space between rolls. Decrease in roll spacing increases grinding action and may affect the bran and flour yield and the level of starch damage.
  5. After verifying the room temperature and humidity, roll temperature, roll gaps, and the feed settings, the mill is ready for operation. The tempered wheat is weighed to the appropriate amount on a 14% moisture basis (for example, 1.029 kilograms at 16.4% moisture equals 1 kilogram at 14.0% moisture).
  6. A 2 kilogram check sample is milled on a daily basis at various times of the day. The following parameters for the mill check are determined and documented to ensure proper mill performance and reproducibility of results:
    • flour yield
    • flour moisture
    • farinograph absorption
    • flour ash
  7. Wheat lines tested in the 1st year breeding trials are milled once (3 kilogram portion).
    Wheat lines in the 2nd and 3rd year trials are milled in duplicate (2 x 2 kilogram portion).
  8. Milling generates several flour streams. The moisture content of flour streams is determined using the Brabender moisture oven.
  9. The exact extraction rate (flour yield) is kept constant for all lines within a particular wheat trial. The streams are combined from the lowest to the highest ash content (usually the B1-B3, C1, C2 flour streams are combined immediately and kept separate from the C3 and Bran flour streams).
  10. Taking into consideration the ash and moisture content of the flour streams, the desired extraction rate is reached by blending the streams in appropriate proportions. Flour streams are combined in a tumbler and mixed for 10 minutes (photo 2).
  11. Flour yield (extraction rate) is expressed as percentage of clean wheat on a constant moisture basis (14%).

Figure 1. Mill flow for hard wheat using the Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory Mill

Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory for hard wheat (diagram)
B=break rolls
C=smooth reduction rolls
W=wire mesh sieve
N=nylon sieve (number indicates aperture in µm)

Figure 2. Mill flow for soft wheat using the Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory Mill

Buhler MLU 202 Laboratory for soft wheat (diagram)
B=break rolls
C=smooth reduction rolls
W=wire mesh sieve
N=nylon sieve (number indicates aperture in µm)

Reliability of laboratory milling of common wheat

Target values and acceptable tolerances for Canada Western Red Spring 'mill checks'
Flour moisture 14.5% plus or minus 0.3%
Flour yield 75.5% plus or minus 1.0%
Farinogragh absorption 63.8% plus or minus 0.5%
Flour ash 0.49% plus or minus 0.03%

To maintain a high degree of accuracy and precision of milling and test results, reliable laboratory milling procedures and tolerances for control samples have been established at the Grain Research Laboratory to produce milled products that are comparable and repeatable not only day-to-day but year-to-year and longer. Standard control samples ('mill check'), included with the test samples every day, provide constant verification of the mill performance and related test procedures. The 'mill check' samples are prepared in large quantities by blending No. 1 Canada Western Red Spring wheat from two crop years; the ‘mill checks’ are stored less than 5°C.

Experimental wheat samples are thoroughly cleaned, blended, and sub-sampled. Tempering moisture can strongly influence wheat milling properties, and improper wheat conditioning moisture will affect the flour yield, flour moisture, and ash content. If the tempered wheat is too dry, more of the bran will be ground finer, causing flour yield and ash to increase. If the tempered wheat is too wet then more of the endosperm will adhere to the bran, causing a flour yield decrease. Proper tempering procedures, including determination of moisture in wheat before and after tempering, determination of moisture content in flour, and temper time and temperature, must be ensured. Variations in ambient temperature and relative humidity in the mill room can have marked effects on experimental milling results. Milling at the Grain Research Laboratory is performed in a temperature and humidity-controlled mill room.

Standard procedures involved in preparation of the mill include pre-warming mill rolls overnight, checking the mill roll temperature, checking the proper roll gap setting and the feed rate settings. These practices guarantee the correct mill performance in achieving flour yields and flour farinograph absorption within the set tolerances. Proper maintenance is performed to prevent leakage, tears, and clogging of the mill sifters. Thorough cleaning of rolls and sifters during the milling process will ensure correct flour yields and recovery.

Durum wheat milling

Allis-Chalmers Laboratory Mill for durum wheat
Photo 3. General view of the Allis-Chalmers Laboratory Mill for durum wheat
Laboratory purifier for durum semolina.
Photo 4. General view of the purifier for durum semolina

The experimental durum wheat lines tested in the Western Canadian wheat breeding programs are milled using the Allis-Chalmers Laboratory Mill (photo 3) in conjunction with a laboratory purifier (photo 4).

The procedures for handling and tempering of durum wheat are similar to those used for common wheat. Durum wheat is tempered to 16% moisture before milling. Samples are milled according to the flow illustrated in Figure 3. The flow consists of four corrugated break roll passages, five corrugated sizing roll passages and ten purification steps. Roll gaps on the first three breaks are kept relatively wide to produce semolina with coarse granulation. The purification steps in durum milling ensure better particle size separation and bran removal. Semolina streams are collected after each purification step, whereas the coarser material retained on a 630 µm screen is passed through the sizing rolls and sifted on a box sifter. After sizing passages, streams with fine particles passing through the 180 µm sieve are collected as flour, whereas the coarser streams are passed through the purifier. Our definition of durum semolina is any particles greater than 180 µm and less than 600 µm. The distribution of particle size in semolina produced with our mill is shown in Figure 4.

Durum wheat lines being tested in the Western Canadian wheat breeding programs are milled in duplicate (2 x 2.3 kilogram portions) to a constant extraction rate of 70% semolina and 75% total yield (semolina and flour).

Reliability of laboratory milling of durum wheat

Target values and acceptable tolerances for durum wheat 'mill checks'
Tempered wheat moisture 16% plus or minus 0.2%
Semolina moisture 15% plus or minus 0.3%
Semolina ash 0.66% plus or minus 0.02%
Semolina yield 66.7% plus or minus 1.0%
Total yield 75.0% plus or minus 1.0%

Major sources of error in experimental milling of durum are similar to those involved in milling of common wheat and include: improper sampling, incomplete removal of foreign material, inappropriate tempering, variations in ambient conditions, poor conditions of milling equipment, and improper mill settings. Durum wheat semolina milling is particularly sensitive to fluctuation in relative humidity of the mill room because stocks are exposed to air during purification passages. Milling of durum wheat occurs in a humidity and temperature-controlled room (21°C and 60% humidity). The mill performance is verified by milling the standard ‘mill check’ sample and ensuring that the yield and the results for moisture, yield, and ash fall within the defined tolerances.

Figure 3. The Allis-Chalmers laboratory mill flow for durum wheat semolina incorporating modified Grain Research Laboratory sifter unit (70% extraction rate)

Allis-Chalmers laboratory mill flow for durum wheat semolina (diagram)
B=break rolls, P=purifier, S=sizing rolls, semo=semolina, REB=stock to rebolted

Figure 4. Distribution of particle size in durum semolina

Particle size distribution by volume in durum semolina (chart)
Distribution of particle size by volume % for durum semolina milled from Canada Western Amber Durum wheat varieties Brigade and Strongfield
Figure 4. Distribution of particle size in durum semolina
Brigade Strongfield
Particle size (µm) Volume (%)
0 to 149 6.7 6.5
149 to 180 4.7 4.8
180 to 250 14.8 15.3
250 to 350 23.8 24.3
350 to 450 19.8 19.8
450 to 550 13.7 13.3
550 to 650 8.5 8.2
650 to 750 4.8 4.5
750 to 850 2.5 2.3
850 to 1000 1.0 0.8
Date modified:

Mouture pour l’évaluation des qualités meunières de nouvelles lignées de blé

Marta Izydorczyk et Jerry Kletke, Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains

Moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202
Photo 1. Le moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202 est utilisé pour moudre de nouvelles lignées de blé au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains

Le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains (LRG) utilise trois moulins de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202 pour moudre de nouvelles lignées de blé des essais de sélection dans le cadre des programmes d'amélioration du blé canadien. Deux moulins servent à moudre le blé de force et l’autre, le blé tendre. Le moulin Buhler est un broyeur par lot en discontinu à entrainement pneumatique (photo 1). Les grains passent trois fois entre des cylindres cannelés de broyage (B), trois fois entre des cylindres lisses de convertissage (C) et une fois à travers un finisseur à son. La farine de son obtenue passe ensuite à travers un tamis rotatif (blutoir) pour être débarrassée du son résiduel.

Pour évaluer les qualités meunières et fonctionnelles des plus récentes lignées de blé issues des programmes d'amélioration du blé de l'Ouest canadien, on maintient pour toutes les lignées un taux d'extraction constant (rendement en farine) de 74 %. Le maintien d’un taux d’extraction constant permet de comparer différents échantillons sur une base équivalente, dont le taux de cendres. À un taux d'extraction égal, une lignée de blé donnant un taux de cendres inférieur à celui de variétés témoins signifie qu'un meunier pourra en extraire davantage de farine que dans les variétés actuelles, tout en respectant les taux de cendres exigés par les clients. À l’opposé, une lignée de blé donnant un taux de cendres supérieur aux variétés témoins devra être moulue à un taux d'extraction plus faible pour donner une farine au taux de cendres équivalent.

Manutention et conditionnement préalables à la mouture du blé

  1. On nettoie les échantillons de blé à l’aide d’un tarare Carter afin d’enlever les impuretés. Après le nettoyage, on mesure le poids spécifique des échantillons et on les nettoie à nouveau à l’aide d’une épointeuse à cyclone Forster pour enlever les poussières et la saleté qui adhèrent aux grains.
  2. On détermine la teneur en eau du blé au moyen d’un humidimètre Brabender MT-C. On moud 10 grammes de grains à l’aide d’un broyeur Brabender SM-3. Les grains broyés sont ensuite placés dans l’humidimètre pendant une heure à 130 °C.
  3. Les échantillons sont conditionnés à différentes teneurs en eau selon la classe de blé :
    • le blé roux de printemps de l'Ouest canadien à 16,4 %
    • le blé de force blanc de l’Ouest canadien à 16,4 %
    • le blé de printemps de l’Ouest canadien à 16,0 %
    • le blé dur ambré de l'Ouest canadien à 16,0 %,
    • le blé rouge d'hiver de l'Ouest canadien à 15,5 %,
    • le blé tendre blanc de printemps de l'Ouest canadien à 14,5 %
    • le blé de force rouge du Nord canadien à 16,4 %.
  4. Lorsque la teneur en eau du blé est supérieure à 10 %, on ajoute la quantité d’eau nécessaire pour atteindre la teneur en eau désirée pour conditionner les grains à la mouture. Si la teneur en eau du blé est inférieure à 10 %, on le conditionne en deux étapes : d'abord à une teneur en eau d’environ 13 %, puis à la teneur désirée. Les échantillons de blé sont placés dans des contenants de plastique de 6 L munis d'un couvercle hermétique. Ils sont ensuite brassés à la main après le premier ajout d'eau, puis inversés de façon intermittente par un agitateur mécanique pendant six heures. En règle générale, les échantillons de blé sont conditionnés durant la nuit pendant au moins 18 heures. Les résultats de mouture ne changent pas si le conditionnement a duré de 12 à 48 heures au total. On peut donc procéder à la mouture des échantillons dans un intervalle de plusieurs heures sans crainte d'obtenir des résultats différents entre le premier et le dernier échantillon.
  5. Après le conditionnement, on mesure à nouveau la teneur en eau des échantillons de blé pour confirmer que la teneur désirée a été atteinte.

Mouture

Tambour culbuteur pour le mélange des fractions de farine
Photo 2. Les fractions de farine sont combinées dans un tambour culbuteur et mélangées pendant dix minutes.
  1. Les grains sont broyés au moyen d’un moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202 dans une pièce dont la température et l’humidité relative sont régulées à 21 °C et à 60 % d’humidité relative pour s’assurer de résultats reproductibles, quelles que soient les conditions ambiantes.
  2. Le diagramme de la figure 1 présente les étapes de mouture du blé de force qui sont généralement suivies par le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains. La vitesse d’alimentation en blé de force est de 100 grammes par minute.
  3. Le diagramme de la figure 2 illustre les étapes de mouture du blé tendre qui sont généralement suivies par le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains. La vitesse d’alimentation en blé tendre est de 75 grammes par minute.
  4. Les cylindres lisses (C1-3) sont chauffés à 30 °C (toute la nuit à l’aide de chaufferettes électriques) pour éviter tout retard de préchauffage du moulin et assurer une température constante des cylindres durant la mouture. Des variations de la température des cylindres de broyage ont des incidences sur les résultats de mouture, car des cylindres plus chauds vont prendre de l’expansion et l'espacement entre eux sera réduit. Un espacement réduit entre les cylindres se traduit par un accroissement du degré de broyage et peut avoir une incidence sur le rendement en son et en farine ainsi que sur le niveau de dégradation de l'amidon.
  5. Après vérification de la température et de l'humidité relative de la pièce, de la température des cylindres, de l'espacement entre les cylindres et des réglages de la vitesse d'alimentation, le moulin est prêt à utiliser. On pèse le blé conditionné pour obtenir la quantité voulue à une teneur en eau de 14 % (par exemple, 1,029 kilogrammes de blé à 16,4 % d'humidité équivaut à 1 kilogramme de blé à 14,0 % d’humidité).
  6. On moud chaque jour un échantillon de blé témoin de 2 kilogrammes à diverses heures de la journée. Les paramètres suivants de vérification de la mouture ont été établis et documentés pour assurer le bon fonctionnement du moulin et la reproductibilité des résultats :
    • rendement en farine
    • teneur en eau de la farine
    • absorption au farinographe
    • teneur en cendres de la farine
  7. Les lignées de blé provenant des essais de sélection de première année sont moulues en épreuve simple (en portion de 3 kilogramme), alors que celles provenant des essais de sélection de deuxième année et de troisième année sont moulues en épreuve double (en portion de 2 kilogramme x 2).
  8. La mouture produit plusieurs fractions de farine. On mesure la teneur en eau des fractions à l'aide d’une étuve Brabender.
  9. Le taux d'extraction exact (rendement en farine) est maintenu constant pour toutes les lignées de blé provenant d’un même essai de sélection. On combine des fractions selon leurs teneurs en cendres de la plus faible à la haute (en général les fractions B1-B3, C1, C2 sont immédiatement combinées et conservées à part de la fraction C3 et de la farine de son).
  10. En tenant compte de la teneur en cendres et en eau des fractions, le taux d'extraction désiré est obtenu en mélangeant les fractions dans les bonnes proportions. Les fractions sont combinées dans un tambour culbuteur et mélangées pendant dix minutes (photo 2).
  11. Le rendement en farine (taux d'extraction) est exprimé en pourcentage du blé nettoyé à une teneur en eau constante de 14 %.

Figure 1. Diagramme des étapes de mouture du blé de force à l’aide du moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202

Moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202 pour le blé de force (diagram)
B =cylindres de broyage
C =cylindres lisses de convertissage
W =tamis métallique
N =tamis de nylon (les chiffres indiquent la dimension des mailles en micromètres)

Figure 2. Diagramme des étapes de mouture du blé tendre à l’aide du moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202

Moulin de laboratoire Buhler MLU 202 pour le blé tendre (diagram)
B =cylindres de broyage
C =cylindres lisses de convertissage
W =tamis métallique
N =tamis de nylon (les chiffres indiquent la dimension des mailles en micromètres)

Fiabilité de la mouture du blé commun faite en laboratoire

Valeurs cibles et seuils de tolérance acceptables pour les échantillons témoins de blé roux de printemps de l’Ouest canadien
Teneur en eau de la farine 14,5 % plus ou moins 0,3 %
Rendement en farine 75,5 % plus ou moins 1,0 %
Absorption au farinographe 63,8 % plus ou moins 0,5 %
Teneur en cendres de la farine 0,49 % plus ou moins 0,03 %

Pour assurer un niveau élevé d'exactitude et de précision des résultats de mouture et d’analyses, le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains a établi des procédures fiables pour la mouture en laboratoire ainsi que des seuils de tolérance pour les résultats des échantillons témoins qui assurent la comparabilité et la reproductibilité des résultats de mouture non seulement de jour en jour, mais aussi d'année en année, voire sur une plus longue période. On insère chaque jour des échantillons de contrôle standards (« mouture témoin ») parmi les échantillons à traiter pour contrôler en continu le fonctionnement du moulin et les procédures connexes. On prépare les échantillons témoins en grande quantité en mélangeant du blé roux de printemps de l’Ouest canadien no 1 issu de deux campagnes agricoles différentes que l’on conserve à une température ambiante inférieure à 5 °C.

Les échantillons de blé des essais de sélection sont nettoyés à fond, puis mélangés et séparés en sous-échantillons. Puisque l'humidité ajoutée lors du conditionnement peut avoir de fortes incidences sur les propriétés du blé à la mouture, une humidité inadéquate du blé conditionné nuira au rendement en farine, à la teneur en eau et en cendres de la farine. Si le blé conditionné est trop sec, une plus grande partie du son sera broyé plus finement, ce qui donnera un rendement en farine et une teneur en cendres accrus. Par contre, un blé conditionné trop humide causera une plus grande adhérence de l'albumen au son et réduira le rendement en farine. Il faut observer les procédures de conditionnement établies, notamment évaluer la teneur en eau du blé avant et après le conditionnement, la teneur en eau de la farine et respecter la durée et la température qui sont recommandées pour le conditionnement. Toute fluctuation de la température ambiante et de l'humidité relative dans la salle de mouture peut avoir de lourdes conséquences sur les résultats de mouture. La mouture du blé effectuée au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains se fait dans une pièce où la température et l’humidité relative sont régulées.

Les procédures standards de préparation du moulin consistent à préchauffer les cylindres au cours de la nuit, à vérifier la température des cylindres et à s’assurer que l'espacement entre les cylindres et la vitesse d’alimentation sont adéquats. Ces pratiques assurent un bon fonctionnement du moulin et l’obtention de rendements en farine et d’absorption de la farine au farinographe qui se situent à l'intérieur des seuils de tolérance établis. Un entretien adéquat est effectué pour prévenir toute fuite, coulure et obstruction des blutoirs. Un nettoyage à fond des cylindres et des blutoirs durant la mouture assurera une bonne récupération des fractions et des rendements en farine adéquats.

Mouture du blé dur

Moulin de laboratoire Allis-Chalmers utilisé pour moudre le blé dur.
Photo 3. Vue générale du moulin de laboratoire Allis-Chalmers utilisé pour moudre le blé dur
Sasseur utilisé pour la semoule de blé dur.
Photo 4. Vue générale du sasseur utilisé pour la semoule de blé dur

Les lignées de blé dur expérimentales analysées dans le cadre des programmes d'amélioration du blé de l'Ouest canadien sont moulues à l'aide du moulin de laboratoire Allis-Chalmers (photo 3) et d'un sasseur de laboratoire (photo 4).

Les procédures de manipulation et de conditionnement du blé dur sont semblables à celles du blé tendre. Le blé dur est conditionné à une teneur en eau de 16 % avant d’être moulu. La mouture des échantillons se fait selon les étapes illustrées à la figure 3. Les grains passent quatre fois entre des cylindres de broyage cannelés, cinq fois entre des cylindres de claquage cannelés et dix fois à travers des sas. L'espacement entre les cylindres des trois premiers broyeurs est relativement grand afin d’obtenir une semoule grossière. Les diverses étapes de sassage pendant la mouture du blé dur assurent une meilleure séparation des particules selon leur taille et un meilleur enlèvement du son. Les fractions de semoule sont recueillies après chaque étape du sassage, alors que les particules plus grossières retenues par le tamis de 630 µm passent à travers des craqueurs, puis sont tamisées dans un blutoir. Après leur sortie des claqueurs, les fractions contenant des particules fines qui passent à travers un tamis de 180 µm sont recueillies à l’état de farine, alors que les fractions contenant des particules plus grossières sont acheminées vers le sasseur. Nous entendons par semoule de blé dur toute particule supérieure à 180 µm, mais inférieure à 600 µm. La répartition de la taille des particules de semoule issues de notre moulin est présentée à la figure 4.

Les lignées de blé dur analysées dans le cadre des programmes d'amélioration du blé de l'Ouest canadien sont moulues en épreuve double (portions de 2,3 kilogramme de blé x 2) à un taux d'extraction constant de semoule de 70 % et à un rendement total de 75 % (semoule et farine).

Fiabilité de la mouture du blé dur faite en laboratoire

Valeurs cibles et seuils de tolérance acceptables pour les « vérifications de mouture » du blé dur
Teneur en eau du blé conditionné 16 % plus ou moins 0,2 %
Teneur en eau de la semoule 15 % plus ou moins 0,3 %
Taux de cendres de la semoule 0,66 % plus ou moins 0,02 %
Rendement en semoule 66,7 % plus ou moins 1,0 %
Rendement total 75,0 % plus ou moins 1,0 %

Les principales sources d'erreur dans la mouture expérimentale du blé dur sont les mêmes que celles dans la mouture du blé commun, soit : un échantillonnage inadéquat, l'enlèvement incomplet des matières étrangères, un conditionnement inadéquat, des conditions ambiantes variables, un équipement de mouture en mauvais état et un moulin mal ajusté. La mouture de la semoule de blé dur est particulièrement sensible aux fluctuations de l'humidité relative de la pièce, car les produits de mouture sont exposés à l'air lors des sassages. La mouture du blé dur se fait donc dans une pièce à ambiance régulée (température de 21 °C et humidité relative de 60%). On contrôle le fonctionnement du moulin en moulant des échantillons standards («mouture témoin ») et en veillant à ce que le rendement et les résultats de teneur en eau, de rendement et de taux de cendres se situent à l'intérieur des seuils de tolérance établis.

Figure 3. Diagramme des étapes de mouture de la semoule de blé dur au moyen du moulin de laboratoire Allis-Chalmers au Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains qui comprend une unité de tamisage modifiée (taux d'extraction de 70 %)

Diagramme des étapes de mouture de la semoule de blé dur à l’aide du moulin de laboratoire Allis-Chalmers
B=cylindres de broyage, P=sasseur, S=cylindres de claquage, semo=semoule, REB=produits de mouture à bluter de nouveau

Figure 4. Répartition de la taille des particules de semoule de blé dur

Répartition de la taille des particules de semoule de blé dur selon le volume (graphique)
Répartition de la taille des particules de semoule de blé dur tirée des variétés de blé dur ambré de l’Ouest canadien Brigade et Strongfield, selon le volume (%)
Figure 4. Répartition de la taille des particules de semoule de blé dur
Brigade Strongfield
Taille des particules (µm) Volume (%)
De 0 à 149 6,7 6,5
De 149 à 180 4,7 4,8
De 180 à 250 14,8 15,3
De 250 à 350 23,8 24,3
De 350 à 450 19,8 19,8
De 450 à 550 13,7 13,3
De 550 à 650 8,5 8,2
De 650 à 750 4,8 4,5
De 750 à 850 2,5 2,3
De 850 à 1000 1,0 0,8
Date de modification :