Using RVA to measure pre-germination in barley and predict germination energy after storage

Pre-germination in barley

In the absence of dormancy, Canadian malting barley varieties have a propensity to pre-germinate in the field. Pre-germination is the premature sprouting of grain while still in the ear. Pre-germination can occur before full grain maturity is reached; this event is called ‘precocious germination’. More often, however, pre-germination is encountered as a consequence of prolonged spells of wet weather when mature grain remains uncut in the field; this event is called ‘pre-harvest sprouting’.

Although severely sprouted grain can be identified by visual inspection of barley, conducted during the selection processes, incipient germination may be more difficult to detect. The germination energy (GE) test does not indicate pre-germination in barley. Pre-germinated grain may show acceptable characteristics, including good germination percentage and may produce good quality malt. However, the capacity of barley to maintain a high level of germination energy during long-term storage is diminished by pre-germination. Barley initially accepted for malting may be rejected after several months in storage if it loses germination capacity and no longer has the high, uniform germination rates that produce good quality malt.

In 2005, the Canadian Grain Commission teamed up with industry partners to assess whether instrumental methods can be used to detect pre-germination in barley. It was determined that rapid visco analysis (RVA) was the best method to detect and measure the degree of pre-germination in barley.

The early stages of germination proceed without any visible changes to the kernel. However, there are numerous biochemical reactions that occur inside the kernel. One of the enzymes produced very early during germination is alpha-amylase, the enzyme responsible for catalyzing reactions leading to the conversion of starch into sugars used by the growing embryo. Since the level of alpha-amylase in sound grain is very low compared to its level in the germinating grain, the content of alpha-amylase in grain can be used as a marker of germination. RVA indirectly estimates the amount of alpha-amylase in barley by measuring the viscosity of ground barley in water.

Using RVA and interpreting RVA results

The test can be done using RVA instruments. The final viscosity of a mixture of ground barley and water is determined at 3 minutes after starting a specific heating and stirring protocol. The results are displayed as viscosity in centipoise (cP) or Rapid Visco Units (RVU).

Higher final viscosity values indicate lower amylase activity and no pre-germination in barley; in this case the risk of rapid germination loss during storage is very low. Low final viscosity values indicate higher amylase activity and moderate to high pre-germination; the risk of germination loss during storage is much greater.

Risk of raipd germination loss in storage RVA final viscosity
RVU (units) cP
Low ≥ 120 ≥ 1440
Intermediate ≥ 50 & < 120 ≥ 600 & < 1440
High < 50 < 600
1 RVU = 12cP

Samples with final viscosity values higher than 120 RVU (1440 cP) are normally considered sound and the probability that they will retain GE after storage is very high. However, the use of a single cut-off value to predict whether barley will retain its GE after storage may not be fully reliable because the retention of GE depends also on the storage conditions and moisture content of grain.

Samples with final viscosity values between 50 and 120 RVU (600-1440 cP) are moderately pre-germinated, and the risk that they will lose GE after storage is intermediate. The risk can be lowered if the samples are dry and/or they are stored in cool and dry conditions.

Samples with final viscosity values lower than 50 RVU (< 600 cP) units are pre-germinated, and the probability that they will lose GE after storage is high. They should be malted as soon as possible.

To predict safe storage time more accurately, not only the degree of pre-germination in barley, but also the storage conditions (temperature and relative humidity) and the initial moisture content of the grain have to be taken into account.

Testing for pre-germination using RVA – recommended practices

Apparatus

  1. Rapid Visco Analyser: StarchMaster viscometer (Newport Scientific, Pty. Ltd; Perten Instruments Inc.).
  2. Falling Number Laboratory Mill 311 with 0.8 mm screen or equivalent.
  3. NIR spectrometer or other suitable equipment for moisture content determination
  4. Laboratory balance accurate to ±0.01 g
  5. Bottle-top dispensette or other volumetric pipetting device capable of delivering 25.0 ml
  6. Sample canisters and paddles
  7. Robot Dispenser (optional)

Reagents

  1. Distilled water
  2. Calibration oil - to check the viscometer calibration. See Note 3.3.

Procedure

1. Instrument preparation

1.1 Switch on the RVA unit and allow a 30-min warm-up.

1.2 In order to ensure the accuracy of measurements, the calibration offset (zero viscosity) should be checked daily. Please follow the instructions in the Installation and Operation manual.

1.3 The calibration of the RVA unit should be checked with a standard oil of known viscosity once per month. See note 3.3. Heat the oil to between 60 and 70°C and weigh out 28.0 ± 0.1 grams. Measure the viscosity of the calibration oil using the CAL95 program (profile designed for a calibration check). The viscosity of the calibration oil should be within ± 5% of the recommended value provided with the standard.

1.4 The samples should be be analyzed using the Stirring Number (SN) profile or equivalent. The test temperature should be 95±1°C. Initial stirring (0-10 sec) 960 rpm; stirring for the remainder of the test (10 sec – 3 min) is 160 rpm. The duration of test is 3 min.

2. Sample preparation and analysis

2.1 Determine the moisture content (%) of the whole grain by NIR or another suitable method.

2.2 Grind a representative sample (~300g) using the Falling Number Laboratory Mill 3100 or a suitable mill to pass a 0.8-mm sieve. Clean the grinder thoroughly after each sample.

2.3 Thoroughly stir the ground sample before weighing out a sub-sample. Weigh the appropriate amount of ground sample into a canister. Use the moisture content determined in step 2.1 and the “moisture conversion table” provided below to determine the amount of sample in grams to be weighed into a canister.

2.4 Add exactly 25.0 ml of distilled water using a bottle-top dispensette or other suitable volumetric pipetting device.

2.5 Mix the contents of the canister with a spatula to disperse the sample. Ensure that no lumps remain at the bottom of the canister where the paddle cannot reach. Use the paddle to scrape off the sample from the spatula and place the paddle into the canister.

2.6 Insert the canister into the instrument and initiate the test by pressing the tower down.

2.7 Record the Final Viscosity as displayed in cP (centipoise) units. Divide by 12 to convert into RVU.

2.8 Remove the canister upon completion of test with an insulated glove and discard.

2.9 Run each sample in duplicate.

Alternative procedure using Robot Dispenser

Please refer to the manual for installation and operation of Robot Dispenser. The Robot should be filled with fresh distiller water every day and the calibration check should be performed every day.

Conduct steps 2.1 and 2.2 as previously.

2.3a Place an empty canister on the balance and add ~4.00±0.15g of ground barley. Follow the instructions displayed in the window.

2.4a Set the control dial to the appropriate moisture content of the sample and press the dial to continue. Wait until the Robot will dispense the appropriate amount of water.

Continue through steps 2.5-2.9 as outlined above.

Alternative procedure using Robot Dispenser
M.C. (%) Weight (g) M.C. (%) Weight (g)
8.0 3.74 12.5 3.93
8.1 3.74 12.6 3.94
8.2 3.75 12.7 3.94
8.3 3.75 12.8 3.94
8.4 3.76 12.9 3.95
8.5 3.76 13.0 3.95
8.6 3.76 13.1 3.96
8.7 3.77 13.2 3.96
8.8 3.77 13.3 3.97
8.9 3.78 13.4 3.97
9.0 3.78 13.5 3.98
9.1 3.78 13.6 3.98
9.2 3.79 13.7 3.99
9.3 3.79 13.8 3.99
9.4 3.80 13.9 4.00
9.5 3.80 14.0 4.00
9.6 3.81 14.1 4.00
9.7 3.81 14.2 4.01
9.8 3.81 14.3 4.01
9.9 3.82 14.4 4.02
10.0 3.82 14.5 4.02
10.1 3.83 14.6 4.03
10.2 3.83 14.7 4.03
10.3 3.84 14.8 4.04
10.4 3.84 14.9 4.04
10.5 3.84 15.0 4.05
10.6 3.85 15.1 4.05
10.7 3.85 15.2 4.06
10.8 3.86 15.3 4.06
10.9 3.86 15.4 4.07
11.0 3.87 15.5 4.07
11.1 3.87 15.6 4.08
11.2 3.87 15.7 4.08
11.3 3.88 15.8 4.09
11.4 3.88 15.9 4.09
11.5 3.89 16.0 4.10
11.6 3.89 16.1 4.10
11.7 3.90 16.2 4.11
11.8 3.90 16.3 4.11
11.9 3.90 16.4 4.11
12.0 3.91 16.5 4.12
12.1 3.91 16.6 4.12
12.2 3.92 16.7 4.13
12.3 3.92 16.8 4.13
12.4 3.93 16.9 4.14

3. Notes

3.1 Analyze each sample within a few minutes after adding water.

3.2 A new canister should be used for each analysis

3.3 Certified Viscosity Standard may be obtained from the Cannon Instrument Company. Please note that some RVA units are calibrated at 25°C. In this case, the calibration check should be done with CAL25 profile and appropriate oil.

Summary of the collaborative study conducted in 2005.

For more information and/or full report of the study please contact:

Marta Izydorczyk, Ph.D.
Grain Research Laboratory, Canadian Grain Commission
303 Main Street
Winnipeg, MB R3C 3G8

Tel: (204) 983-1300
Email: marta.izydorczyk@grainscanada.gc.ca

Date modified:

Utilisation de l’analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA) pour mesurer le degré de prégermination de l’orge et prévoir l’énergie de germination après l’entreposage

Prégermination de l’orge

En l’absence de dormance, les variétés d’orge brassicole canadiennes ont tendance à; prégermer au champ. Par prégermination, on entend la germination prématurée du grain alors qu’il se trouve toujours dans l’épi. Ce phénomène peut se produire avant que le grain n’ait atteint sa pleine maturité; dans ce cas, il s’agit d’une « germination précoce ». Cependant, la prégermination s’observe le plus souvent à; la suite d’épisodes de pluie prolongés, qui empêchent la récolte du grain mûr; on parle alors de « germination sur pied ».

Bien qu’une inspection visuelle de l’orge effectuée durant les processus de sélection puisse permettre de déceler les grains dont la germination est avancée, il est plus difficile de détecter la germination à; ses débuts. Le test de détermination de l’énergie de germination n'indique pas la prégermination chez l’orge. Le grain prégermé peut présenter des caractéristiques acceptables, notamment un bon pourcentage de germination, et produire un malt de bonne qualité. Toutefois, la prégermination réduit la capacité de l’ordre de conserver un degré élevé d’énergie de germination durant un entreposage à; long terme. L’orge initialement destinée au maltage peut alors être rejetée après plusieurs mois d’entreposage si elle perd sa capacité de germination et ne donne plus le taux de germination élevé et uniforme qui permet d’obtenir un malt de bonne qualité.

En 2005, la Commission canadienne des grains s’est alliée à; des partenaires de l’industrie afin d’évaluer l’utilité de certaines méthodes instrumentales dans la détection de la prégermination de l’orge. On a ainsi découvert que l’analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA) était la meilleure méthode pour ce faire.

Au début de la germination, le grain ne présente aucun changement visible, même s’il subit de nombreuses réactions biochimiques à; l’intérieur. L’une des premières enzymes à; être produites est l’alpha-amylase, responsable de catalyser les réactions menant à; la conversion de l’amidon en sucres, lesquels sont ensuite utilisés par l’embryon en croissance. Puisqu’un grain sain contient un niveau d’alpha-amylases très inférieur à; celui d’un grain en germination, la teneur du grain en alpha-amylases peut servir de marqueur de la germination. L’analyse RVA permet indirectement d’évaluer la quantité d’alpha-amylases présente dans l’orge en mesurant la viscosité de l’orge moulue dans l’eau.

Utilisation de l’analyse RVA et interprétation des résultats

Cette analyse se fait à; l’aide d’instruments RVA. On détermine la viscosité finale d’un mélange d’orge moulue et d’eau 3 minutes après avoir suivi certaines étapes de chauffage et de mélange. Les résultats s’affichent en centipoises (cP) ou en unités RVA.

Des valeurs de viscosité finale élevées indiquent une faible activité des amylases, donc aucune prégermination de l’orge; dans ce cas, le risque que le grain perde rapidement sa capacité de germination durant l’entreposage est très faible. à; l’opposé, des valeurs de viscosité finale basses indiquent une grande activité des amylases ainsi qu’une prégermination modérée à; élevée; le risque d’une perte de germination durant l’entreposage est beaucoup plus grand dans ce cas.

Risque d'une perte rapide de germination durant l'entreposage RVA - Viscosité finale
RVU (unités) cP
Faible > ou = 120 > ou = 1440
Intermédiaire > ou = 50 & < 120 > ou = 600 & < 1440
Élevé < 50 < 600
1 RVU = 12cP

Les échantillons dont les valeurs de viscosité finale sont supérieures à; 120 unités RVA (1440 cP) sont normalement jugés sains, et la probabilité qu’ils conservent leur EG après entreposage est très élevée. Toutefois, l’utilisation d’une seule valeur limite n’est peut-être pas une méthode totalement fiable pour déterminer si l’orge conservera son EG après entreposage parce que cette conservation repose également sur les conditions d’entreposage et la teneur en eau du grain.

Les échantillons dont les valeurs de viscosité finale se situent entre 50 et 120 unités RVA (600-1440 cP) sont moyennement prégermés, et le risque qu’ils perdent leur EG après entreposage est intermédiaire. Ce risque est réduit lorsque les échantillons sont secs et/ou entreposés dans des conditions fraîches et sèches.

Les échantillons dont les valeurs de viscosité finale sont inférieures à; 50 unités RVA (< 600 cP) sont prégermés; la probabilité qu'ils perdent de l'EG après entreposage est élevée. Ils doivent donc être maltés le plus tôt possible.

Pour estimer la durée d’entreposage sécuritaire avec plus de précision, il faut tenir compte non seulement du degré de prégermination de l’orge, mais aussi des conditions d’entreposage (température et humidité relative) ainsi que de la teneur en eau initiale du grain.

Détection de la prégermination à; l’aide de l’analyse RVA – pratiques recommandées

Appareil

  1. Appareil d’analyse RVA : viscosimètre StarchMaster (Newport Scientific, Pty. Ltd.; Perten Instruments Inc.).
  2. Moulin de laboratoire Falling Number de type 311 muni d’un tamis de 0,8 mm ou l’équivalent.
  3. Spectromètre NIR ou tout autre appareil approprié pour déterminer la teneur en eau.
  4. Balance de laboratoire précise à; ±0,01 g
  5. Flacon Dispensette ou tout autre dispositif de pipettage volumétrique approprié pouvant contenir 25,0 ml
  6. Cartouches d’échantillons et palettes
  7. Distributeur automatique (facultatif)

Réactifs

  1. Eau distillée
  2. Huile de calibrage – pour vérifier l’étalonnage du viscosimètre. Voir la note 3.3.

Procédure

1. Préparation de l’instrument

1.1 Mettre l’appareil RVA en marche et allouer un temps de réchauffement de 30 minutes.

1.2 Pour assurer l’exactitude des mesures, l’écart d’étalonnage (viscosité nulle) doit être vérifié chaque jour. Suivre les instructions dans le manuel d’installation et d’utilisation.

1.3 L’étalonnage de l’appareil RVA doit être vérifié à; l’aide d’une huile standard de viscosité connue une fois par mois. Voir la note 3.3. Chauffer l’huile à; une température de 60 à; 70 °C et en prélever 28,0 ± 0.1 grammes. Mesurer la viscosité de l’huile de calibrage à; l’aide du programme CAL95 (profil conçu pour un contrôle d’étalonnage). La viscosité de l’huile de calibrage devrait être d’une valeur de ± 5 % de celle recommandée dans la norme.

1.4 Les échantillons doivent être analysés à; l’aide du programme Stirring Number (SN) ou l’équivalent. La température d’analyse doit être de 95±1 °C. Mélange initial (0-10 sec) à; 960 rpm; puis, mélange à; 160 rpm jusqu’à; la fin (10 sec–3 min). L’analyse dure 3 minutes.

2. Préparation et analyse de l’échantillon

2.1 Déterminer la teneur en eau (%) dans le grain entier par NIR ou toute autre méthode appropriée.

2.2 Broyer un échantillon représentatif (environ 300 g) à; l’aide du moulin de laboratoire Falling Number de type 3100 ou d’un moulin pouvant recevoir un tamis de 0,8 mm. Bien nettoyer le moulin entre chaque échantillon. Si l’échantillon moulu n’est pas utilisé immédiatement, le conserver dans un contenant hermétique résistant à; l’humidité.

2.3 Bien mélanger l’échantillon moulu avant de prélever un sous-échantillon et de le peser. Peser la quantité appropriée de l’échantillon moulu dans une cartouche RVA. Utiliser la teneur en eau déterminée à; l’étape 2.1 et la « table de conversion de la teneur en eau » ci-dessous pour déterminer la quantité d’échantillon (en g) à; peser dans la cartouche.

2.4 Ajouter exactement 25,0 ml d’eau distillée à; l’aide d’un flacon Dispensette ou de tout autre dispositif de pipettage volumétrique approprié.

2.5 Mélanger le contenu de la cartouche avec une spatule pour disperser l’échantillon. Vérifier qu’aucun grumeau ne reste au fond de la cartouche. Utiliser la palette pour récupérer l’échantillon sur la spatule et placer la palette dans la cartouche.

2.6 Insérer la cartouche dans l’instrument et commencer l’analyse en abaissant la tour.

2.7 Enregistrer la viscosité finale, affichée en cP (centipoise). Diviser cette valeur par 12 pour la convertir en unités RVU.

2.8 Une fois l’analyse terminée, retirer la cartouche à; l’aide d’un gain isolant et la jeter.

2.9 Analyser chaque échantillon en double.

Autre procédure à; l’aide d’un distributeur automatique

Consulter le manuel d’installation et d’utilisation du distributeur automatique. Chaque jour, il faut remplir le distributeur d’eau distillée fraîche et contrôler l’étalonnage.

Suivre les étapes 2.1 et 2.2, décrites précédemment.

2.3a Placer une cartouche vide sur la balance et ajouter environ 4,00±0,15 g d’orge moulue. Suivre les instructions affichées dans la fenêtre.

2.4a Régler le cadran de commande selon la teneur en eau de l’échantillon et pousser sur le cadran pour poursuivre. Attendre jusqu’à; ce que le distributeur verse la bonne quantité d’eau.

Poursuivre en suivant les étapes 2.5 à; 2.9, décrites précédemment.

T.E. (%) Poids (g) T.E. (%) Poids (g)
8,0 3,74 12,5 3,93
8,1 3,74 12,6 3,94
8,2 3,75 12,7 3,94
8,3 3,75 12,8 3,94
8,4 3,76 12,9 3,95
8,5 3,76 13,0 3,95
8,6 3,76 13,1 3,96
8,7 3,77 13,2 3,96
8,8 3,77 13,3 3,97
8,9 3,78 13,4 3,97
9,0 3,78 13,5 3,98
9,1 3,78 13,6 3,98
9,2 3,79 13,7 3,99
9,3 3,79 13,8 3,99
9,4 3,80 13,9 4,00
9,5 3,80 14,0 4,00
9,6 3,81 14,1 4,00
9,7 3,81 14,2 4,01
9,8 3,81 14,3 4,01
9,9 3,82 14,4 4,02
10,0 3,82 14,5 4,02
10,1 3,83 14,6 4,03
10,2 3,83 14,7 4,03
10,3 3,84 14,8 4,04
10,4 3,84 14,9 4,04
10,5 3,84 15,0 4,05
10,6 3,85 15,1 4,05
10,7 3,85 15,2 4,06
10,8 3,86 15,3 4,06
10,9 3,86 15,4 4,07
11,0 3,87 15,5 4,07
11,1 3,87 15,6 4,08
11,2 3,87 15,7 4,08
11,3 3,88 15,8 4,09
11,4 3,88 15,9 4,09
11,5 3,89 16,0 4,10
11,6 3,89 16,1 4,10
11,7 3,90 16,2 4,11
11,8 3,90 16,3 4,11
11,9 3,90 16,4 4,11
12,0 3,91 16,5 4,12
12,1 3,91 16,6 4,12
12,2 3,92 16,7 4,13
12,3 3,92 16,8 4,13
12,4 3,93 16,9 4,14

3. Notes

3.1 Analyser chaque échantillon tout de suite après avoir ajouté l’eau.

3.2 Il faut utiliser une nouvelle cartouche pour chaque analyse.

3.3 On peut obtenir la norme de certification de la viscosité auprès de l’entreprise Cannon Instrument Company. Il convient de noter que certains appareils RVA sont étalonnés à; 25°C. Dans ce cas, il faut faire un contrôle d’étalonnage à; l’aide du programme CAL25 et de l’huile appropriée.

Le résumé de l’étude conjointe menée en 2005.

Pour obtenir plus d’information et/ou le rapport complet de l’étude, communiquer avec :

Marta Izydorczyk, Ph.D.
Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains, Commission canadienne des grains
303, rue Main
Winnipeg (MB) R3C 3G8

Tél. : (204) 983-1300
Courriel : marta.izydorczyk@grainscanada.gc.ca

Date de modification :