A rapid and efficient micro-scale extraction procedure for total yellow pigments in durum semolina and wholemeal

L. Schlichting and B.X. Fu

Abstract

Total yellow pigment (TYP) content is one of the most important quality factors in durum wheat and semolina because of its relationship to pasta colour. The standard methods used to measure TYP content require large amounts of sample and solvent and a 16-18 hour extraction time, which limits their use as a screening tool in breeding programs and for routine quality assurance. To that end, a rapid micro-scale procedure was developed to measure TYP. Semolina or wholemeal (200 mg) was homogenized with 1 ml water-saturated butanol (WSB) in a micro-centrifuge tube containing a steel bead. Pigments were allowed to extract for one hour, followed by centrifugation and measurement of absorption of the supernatant. TYP contents obtained using the new extraction procedure were 3-9% higher compared to values obtained with the standard method. This indicates that the new procedure increases extraction efficiency in addition to significantly reducing sample and solvent quantity and extraction time.

Objectives

The objective of this study was to develop a rapid method using a very small quantity of material and solvent (in a micro-centrifuge tube) to quantify TYP in semolina or wholemeal samples.

Materials and methods

The materials used in this study were six registered Canada Western Amber Durum (CWAD) wheat varieties grown in 2009 in Saskatchewan, Canada. All wheat samples were graded as No. 1 CWAD. Semolina was generated on a four stand Allis Chalmers mill in conjunction with a laboratory purifier as reported by Dexter et al (1990). Wheat samples were tempered to 16% moisture overnight before milling. Wholemeal was prepared by grinding 300 g of the durum wheat sample on a Perten 3100 laboratory mill (Perten Instruments, Springfield, IL, USA) equipped with a 0.8 mm sieve.

The Approved Method 14-50.01 (AACC International 2010) was used as a reference for the measurement of TYP content in semolina and wholemeal. For the micro-scale method, the sample size was reduced from 8.0 g to 0.2 g, and 150 ml flasks were replaced with 2.0 ml micro-centrifuge tubes. The solvent to material ratio (5:1) was kept the same as the standard method. WSB (1 ml) was added to a micro-centrifuge tube containing 200 mg of sample and a 2 mm stainless steel bead. The mixture was homogenized at 30 Hz for 5 minutes on a TissueLyser II bead mill (Qiagen, Hilden, Germany), followed by resting (1 hour), vortexing (15 seconds), and centrifugation (at 15 000 g for 10 minutes). Absorbance of the supernatant was measured with a spectrophotometer at 436 nm and converted to yellow pigment content as specified in AACC 14-50.01. TYP content was determined in triplicate for all samples.

Statistical analysis was performed using SAS 9.1 (SAS Institute, Cary, NC).

Results

Table 1 shows the TYP contents as determined with the AACC standard method and the micro-scale method for all the semolina samples. Table 2 shows the TYP contents as determined with the AACC standard method and the micro-scale method for all the wholemeal samples.

Tables 1 and 2 show the TYP contents as determined with the AACC standard method and the micro-scale method for all the semolina and wholemeal samples. Both methods were very reproducible, indicating that a 40 x reduction in sample size did not affect the reliability of the micro-scale method. The TYP values obtained using the new extraction procedure were significantly higher than those determined with the standard method for all samples, i.e., an increase of 3-5% for semolina and 6-9% for wholemeal. These results indicated that the new micro-scale procedure was more efficient in extracting pigments from semolina and wholemeal. Homogenization creates more surface area for the solvent to access and allows the solvent to penetrate faster inside the particles. As a result, extraction time can be reduced. Figure 1 and Table 3 show that one hour of resting was sufficient to extract all pigments in the semolina after 5 minutes of homogenization. Extended extraction time did not result in an increase in pigment recovery. The standard method extracted less pigments even after 16 hrs of resting, especially in wholemeal samples which usually have larger particle size.

The micro-scale extraction procedure results in significant saving of time, sample and solvent for TYP measurement (Figure 2 A-C). Using the micro-centrifuge tubes, semolina/wholemeal can be mixed simply by homogenizing with WSB and pigment extracts recovered by centrifugation, thus avoiding filtration. Micro-centrifuge tubes can be handled easily and are disposable, requiring less time and space than the 150 ml flasks described in the AACC method. The micro-method increases the throughput significantly, so a large number of samples can be analysed easily at one time. The limiting factor is the time required to weigh the samples.

Table 1

Total yellow pigment contents of semolina as determined by the standard method and micro extraction procedure
Sample Total yellow pigment in semolina (ppm)
Standard method New micro method Increase in extractable TYP (%)
* significant at P < 0.0001
AC Avonlea 7.38 ± 0.03 7.81 ± 0.03 5.1
Brigade 8.70 ± 0.03 9.05 ± 0.02 3.3
Commander 8.63 ± 0.00 8.98 ± 0.03 4.4
Eurostar 7.68 ± 0.01 7.99 ± 0.06 3.8
AC Navigator 8.13 ± 0.02 8.53 ± 0.05 4.7
Strongfield 7.08 ± 0.02 7.51 ± 0.02 5.3
Mean ± standard deviation 7.93 ± 0.02 8.31 ± 0.03 4.8
Coefficient of variation, % 0.21 0.41  
t test   *  

Table 2

Total yellow pigment contents of wholemeal as determined by the standard method and micro extraction procedure
Sample Total yellow pigment in wholemeal (ppm)
Standard method New micro method Increase in extractable TYP (%)
* significant at P < 0.0001
AC Avonlea 8.19 ± 0.12 8.78 ± 0.06 6.8
Brigade 9.62 ± 0.07 10.34 ± 0.03 8.1
Commander 9.47 ± 0.06 10.04 ± 0.06 7.1
Eurostar 8.65 ± 0.09 9.17 ± 0.05 6.5
AC Navigator 8.79 ± 0.09 9.25 ± 0.06 6.4
Strongfield 7.74 ± 0.05 8.39 ± 0.16 8.7
Mean ± standard deviation 8.74 ± 0.08 9.33 ± 0.07 6.5
Coefficient of variation, % 0.90 0.73  
t test   *  

Figure 1

The graph shows the effect of extraction time on the recovery of yellow pigments. After 5 minutes of homogenization, one hour of resting is sufficient to extract all yellow pigments in semolina. Extending extraction time does not result in an increase in pigment recovery.
Chart showing quantity of total yellow pigment extracted over length of extraction time.

Table 3

Effect of extraction time on the recovery of yellow pigments
Sample Extraction time (hours)
0.5 1 2 3 4 24
Strongfield 8.1 8.3 8.2 8.4 8.4 8.2
AC Avonlea 8.5 8.6 8.5 8.7 8.6 8.5
AC Navigator 9.3 9.3 9.5 9.3 9.3 9.3

Figure 2

Figure 2a. Sample and solvent requirements

Erlenmeyer flask, water-saturated butanol in beaker and semolina.
Standard method. Clockwise from left: 125 ml Erlenmeyer flask, 40 ml water-saturated butanol, 8 g of semolina
Pipette, micro-centrifuge tube, semolina, stainless steel bead.
Micro method. Clockwise from left: 1 ml pipette, 2 ml micro centrifuge tube, 200 mg semolina; center: 2.0 mm stainless steel bead.

Figure 2b. Pigment extraction conditions

Erlenmeyer flask filled with semolina and solvent mixture.
Standard method requires an extraction time of 16 to 18 hours.
Micro-centrifuge tube filled with semolina and solvent mixture.
Micro method. Semolina and water-saturated butanol are homogenized for 5 minutes and extracted for 1 hour.

Figure 2c. Extract recovery

Funnel of semolina and solvent mixture filtering into flask.
Standard method. Extract is recovered by filtration.
Micro-centrifuge tube of extract.
Micro method. Extract is recovered by centrifugation.

Conclusions

The micro-scale pigment extraction procedure described in this study is fast, reproducible and efficient for determining TYP content. It is useful as a tool for early generation screening in breeding, as a rapid test in routine quality assurance programs, and in preparation of pigment extracts for biochemical analysis.

References

  • AACC International. 2010. Approved Methods of Analysis, 11th edition. Method 14-50.01.
  • Dexter, J.E., Matsuo, R.R., and Kruger, J.E. 1990. Cereal Chemistry. 67:405-412.

Acknowledgements

The authors acknowledge the technical assistance of S. Nam, D. Taylor and D. Turnock.

Procédure d'extraction à petite échelle rapide et efficace pour mesurer la teneur totale en pigments jaunes de la semoule et de la farine complète de blé dur

L. Schlichting et B.X. Fu

Résumé

La teneur totale en pigments jaunes (TTPJ) est un des facteurs de qualité les plus importants du blé dur et de la semoule en raison de son lien avec la couleur des pâtes. Les méthodes courantes servant à mesurer la TTPJ nécessitent de grandes quantités d’échantillon et de solvant ainsi qu’une durée d’extraction de 16 à 18 heures, ce qui diminue leur utilité pour le criblage dans le cadre des programmes d’amélioration et les contrôles habituels d’assurance de la qualité. C’est pourquoi nous avons élaboré une procédure rapide à petite échelle pour mesurer la TTPJ. Nous avons homogénéisé 200 mg) de semoule ou de farine complète dans 1 ml de butanol saturé d’eau (BSE) dans un microtube à centrifuger contenant une bille d’acier. L’extraction a duré une heure et a été suivie d’une centrifugation. Nous avons ensuite mesuré l’absorption du surnageant. Les valeurs de TTPJ mesurées avec la nouvelle procédure d’extraction étaient de 3 à 9 % plus élevées que celles obtenues avec la méthode classique, ce qui indique que la nouvelle procédure améliore l’efficacité de l’extraction en plus de diminuer de façon significative les quantités d’échantillon et de solvant ainsi que le temps d’extraction nécessaires.

Objectif

L’objectif de la présente étude était d’élaborer une méthode rapide utilisant une très petite quantité de matière de base et de solvant (dans un microtube à centrifuger) pour mesurer la TTPJ d’échantillons de semoule et de farine complète.

Matériel et méthodes

Dans le cadre de cette étude, nous avons utilisé six variétés de blé dur ambré de l’Ouest canadien (CWAD) cultivées en 2009 en Saskatchewan (au Canada). Tous les échantillons de blé ont été classés CWAD no 1. La semoule a été produite à l’aide d’un moulin Allis-Chalmers à quatre cages relié à un sasseur de laboratoire, tel que décrit par Dexter et coll. (1990). Avant d’être moulus, les échantillons ont été conditionnés à 16 % d’humidité durant la nuit. Pour préparer la farine complète, nous avons moulu 300 g de l’échantillon de blé dur à l’aide d’un moulin de laboratoire Perten 3100 (Perten Instruments, Springfield, Ill., É.­U.) muni d’un tamis à mailles de 0,8 mm.

La méthode approuvée no 14­50.01 (AACC International, 2010) a servi de référence pour la détermination de la TTPJ de la semoule et de la farine complète. Pour la méthode à petite échelle, nous avons utilisé des échantillons de 0,2 g plutôt que de 8,0 g et avons remplacé les flacons de 150 ml par des microtubes à centrifuger de 2,0 ml. Nous avons toutefois conservé le rapport solvant­matériel (5:1) de la méthode classique. Nous avons ajouté 1 ml de BSE à un microtube à centrifuger contenant 200 mg d’échantillon et une bille en acier inoxydable de 2 ml. Nous avons homogénéisé le mélange pendant 5 minutes à l’aide d’un moulin à bille TissueLyser II (Qiagen, Hilden, Allemagne) à 30 Hz; ensuite nous l’avons laissé reposer pendant 1 heure, puis nous l’avons vortexé pendant 15 secondes et centrifugé à 15 000 g pendant 10 minutes. Par la suite, nous avons mesuré l’absorbance du surnageant à 436 nm à l’aide d’un spectrophotomètre, puis nous avons converti cette valeur en teneur en PJ, en suivant les indications de la méthode AACC 14­50.01. Trois exemplaires de chaque échantillon ont été utilisés pour doser la TTPJ.

L’analyse statistique a été effectuée à l’aide du logiciel SAS 9.1 (Institut SAS, Cary, C.N., É.­U.).

Résultats

Le tableau 1 présente les TTPJ déterminées à l’aide de la méthode de l’AACC et de la méthode à petite échelle pour tous les échantillons de semoule et de farine complète. Les deux méthodes ont été très reproductibles, ce qui montre que de réduire d’un facteur de 40 la taille de l’échantillon ne compromet pas la fiabilité de la méthode à petite échelle. Les TTPJ obtenues à l’aide la nouvelle procédure d’extraction étaient significativement plus élevées que celles obtenues à l’aide de la méthode habituelle pour tous les échantillons (augmentations de 3 à 5 % pour la semoule et de 6 à 9 % pour la farine complète). Ces résultats ont montré que la nouvelle procédure à petite échelle était plus efficace que la méthode classique pour extraire les pigments de la semoule et de la farine complète. L’homogénéisation génère une augmentation de la surface de contact qui permet au solvant de pénétrer plus rapidement dans les particules. Ce changement permet de diminuer le temps d’extraction. La figure 1 montre qu’une période de repos d’une heure était suffisante pour extraire tous les pigments de la semoule après une homogénéisation de 5 minutes. Prolonger la durée de l’extraction n’a pas permis d’augmenter le taux de récupération des pigments. Nous avons extrait moins de pigments à l’aide de la méthode classique, même après 16 heures de repos, et la différence était particulièrement marquée pour les farines complètes, qui sont habituellement composées de particules plus grosses.

La procédure d’extraction à petite échelle permet d’économiser beaucoup de temps ainsi que de produit et de solvant pour la détermination de la TTPJ (figure 2 A­C). Grâce aux microtubes à centrifuger, la semoule ou la farine entière peut être mélangée simplement par homogénéisation dans le BSE et les pigments peuvent être récupérés par centrifugation, ce qui permet de ne pas effectuer de filtration. Les microtubes à centrifuger sont faciles à manipuler et jetables; ils prennent donc moins d’espace et sont plus rapides à utiliser que les flacons de 150 ml décrits dans la méthode de l’AACC. La méthode à petite échelle permet d’augmenter considérablement le débit et ainsi d’analyser facilement un grand nombre d’échantillons à la fois. Le facteur limitant est le temps requis pour peser les échantillons.

Tableau 1

Teneur totale en pigments jaunes de la semoule déterminée par la méthode classique et par la procédure d’extraction à petite échelle
Échantillon Teneur totale en pigments jaunes dans la semoule (ppm)
Méthode classique Nouvelle méthode à petite échelle Augmentation de la TTPJ extractible, %
* seuil de signification : P < 0,0001
AC Avonlea 7,38 ± 0,03 7,81 ± 0,03 5,1
Brigade 8,70 ± 0,03 9,05 ± 0,02 3,3
Commander 8,63 ± 0,00 8,98 ± 0,03 4,4
Eurostar 7,68 ± 0,01 7,99 ± 0,06 3,8
AC Navigator 8,13 ± 0,02 8,53 ± 0,05 4,7
Strongfield 7,08 ± 0,02 7,51 ± 0,02 5,3
Moyenne ± é.-t. 7,93 ± 0,02 8,31 ± 0,03 4,8
Coefficient de variation, % 0,21 0,41  
Test t   *  

Tableau 2

Teneur totale en pigments jaunes de la farine complète déterminée par la méthode classique et par la procédure d’extraction à petite échelle
Échantillon Teneur totale en pigments jaunes dans la farine complète (ppm)
Méthode classique Nouvelle méthode à petite échelle Augmentation de la TTPJ extractible, %
* seuil de signification : P < 0,0001
AC Avonlea 8,19 ± 0,12 8,78 ± 0,06 6,8
Brigade 9,62 ± 0,07 10,34 ± 0,03 8,1
Commander 9,47 ± 0,06 10,04 ± 0,06 7,1
Eurostar 8,65 ± 0,09 9,17 ± 0,05 6,5
AC Navigator 8,79 ± 0,09 9,25 ± 0,06 6,4
Strongfield 7,74 ± 0,05 8,39 ± 0,16 8,7
Moyenne ± é.-t. 8,74 ± 0,08 9,33 ± 0,07 6,5
Coefficient de variation, % 0,90 0,73  
Test t   *  

Figure 1

Le diagramme indique l’effet de la durée de l’extraction sur le taux de récupération des pigments jaunes. Une période de repos d’une heure est suffisante pour extraire tous les pigments de la semoule après une homogénéisation de 5 minutes. Prolonger la durée de l’extraction ne permet pas d’augmenter le taux de récupération des pigments.
Diagramme indiquant la quantité de pigments jaunes extraits selon la durée de l'extraction.

Tableau 3

Effet de la durée de l’extraction sur le taux de récupération des pigments jaunes
Échantillon Durée de l'extraction (heures)
0,5 1 2 3 4 24
Strongfield 8,1 8,3 8,2 8,4 8,4 8,2
AC Avonlea 8,5 8,6 8,5 8,7 8,6 8,5
AC Navigator 9,3 9,3 9,5 9,3 9,3 9,3

Figure 2

Figure 2a. Quantités d'échantillon et de solvant requises

Vase d'Erlenmeyer, butanol saturé d'eau dans un bécher et semoule.
Méthode classique. Dans le sens horaire, à partir de la gauche : vase d'Erlenmeyer de 125 ml, 40 ml de butanol saturé d’eau, 8 g de semoule
Pipette, microtube à centrifuger, semoule, bille d'acier inoxydable.
Procédure à petite échelle. Dans le sens horaire, à partir de la gauche : pipette de 1 ml, microtube à centrifuger de 2 ml, 200 mg de semoule; centre : bille d’acier de 2 mm.

Figure 2b. Conditions d'extraction des pigments

Vase d'Erlenmeyer contenant un mélange de semoule et de solvant.
La méthode classique nécessite une durée d’extraction de 16 à 18 heures.
Microtube à centrifuger contenant un mélange de semoule et de solvant.
Procédure à petite échelle. La semoule et le butanol saturé d’eau sont soumis à une homogénéisation de 5 minutes et à une extraction d’une heure.

Figure 2c. Récupération de l'extrait

Entonnoir contenant un mélange de semoule et de solvant filtré dans un vase.
Méthode classique. L’extrait est récupéré par filtration.
Microtube à centrifuger contenant de l'extrait.
Procédure à petite échelle. L’extrait est récupéré par centrifugation.

Conclusions

La procédure d’extraction des pigments à petite échelle décrite dans cette étude est rapide, reproductible et efficace pour la détermination de la TTPJ. Elle peut servir à la sélection précoce dans un programme d’amélioration, au dépistage rapide dans un programme normal d’assurance de la qualité et à la préparation d’extraits de pigments pour l’analyse biochimique.

Références

  • AACC International. 2010. Approved Methods of Analysis, 11th edition. Method 14-50.01.
  • Dexter, J.E., Matsuo, R.R., et Kruger, J.E. 1990. Cereal Chemistry. 67:405-412.

Remerciements

Les auteurs remercient S. Nam, D. Taylor et D. Turnock pour leur assistance technique.