Requesting reinspection by the Canadian Grain Commission

Effective August 1, 2013

Request a reinspection

If you are not satisfied with the grade, protein, moisture or dockage assigned to your grain during inward inspection of a railcar or truck at a licensed terminal elevator, you have the right to request binding determination of grade and dockage by the Canadian Grain Commission.

You must request a reinspection within 5 calendar days after the date of the original inspection. You (or your administrator) must:

  • Complete the Inward Reinspection Application form I-136.
  • Submit the application by email or fax to both the Canadian Grain Commission (email: cgcreinspection@grainscanada.gc.ca or fax: 204-983-7550) and the receiving terminal elevator within the 5-day period.

Upon receipt of the Inward Reinspection Application and the representative sample provided by the receiving terminal elevator, the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada:

  • Inspects the sample
  • Issues an Inward Reinspection Certificate to both parties involved in the disagreement.

If the grade assigned to the grain is different from the grade previously assigned to it, the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada requires all inspection certificates and other documents relating to the grain be revised accordingly. Final determination rests with the office of the Chief Grain Inspector for Canada.

Fees and service standards

Related links

Demander une réinspection par la Commission canadienne des grains

À compter du 1er août 2013

Demande de réinspection

Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait du grade, de la teneur en protéines, de la teneur en eau ou du taux d’impuretés attribué à votre grain dans le cadre de l’inspection à l’arrivage d’un wagon ou d’un camion à un silo terminal agréé, vous êtres en droit de demander à la Commission canadienne des grains de rendre une décision exécutoire visant le grade et le taux d’impuretés.

Vous disposez de cinq jours civils suivant la date de l’inspection initiale pour faire la demande. Vous, ou votre administrateur, devez :

  • remplir le formulaire de Demande de réinspection à l’arrivage (I-136);
  • soumettre la demande, par courriel ou par télécopieur, à la Commission canadienne des grains (courriel : cgcreinspection@grainscanada.gc.ca, télécopieur : 204-983-7550) et au silo terminal réceptionnaire, dans le délai de cinq jours.

À la réception de la demande de réinspection à l’arrivage et de l’échantillon représentatif fourni par l’exploitant du silo terminal réceptionnaire, l’inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada :

  • inspecte l’échantillon,
  • délivre un certificat de réinspection à l’arrivage aux deux parties touchées par le différend.

Si le grade du grain diffère de celui attribué précédemment, l’inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada exige que tous les certificats d’inspection et autres documents relatifs au grain soient corrigés en conséquence. La décision définitive appartient au bureau de l’inspecteur en chef des grains du Canada.

Droits et normes de service

Liens pertinents