Quality of Canadian oilseed-type soybeans 2015

Summary

In 2015, the average oil content for Soybean, No. 1 and No. 2 grades was 21.5% on a dry matter basis (Table 2). The average was higher than last year’s average of 20.9% and similar to the 5-year average (2010-14) of 21.4%. The average protein content for Soybean, No. 1 and No. 2 grades combined was 39.6%, which is identical to last year’s average (39.6%) and similar to the 5-year average (39.4%).

The oil and protein content averages for No. 1 and No. 2 grades combined varied between eastern and western provinces. Manitoba had an oil content of 21.2% and a protein content of 38.0%, whereas Saskatchewan had an oil content of 20.6% and a protein content of 38.4%. Ontario had an oil content of 21.7% and a protein content of 39.8%. Québec had an oil content of 21.2% and a protein content of 41.1%. Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick had an oil content and protein content of 22.2%, 20.9% and 35.7% and 39.5% respectively.

Acknowledgments

The Grain Research Laboratory acknowledges the cooperation of the soybean producers, grain handling offices, and oilseed crushing plants in eastern and western Canada for supplying the samples of newly harvested soybean. The assistance of the Industry Services Division of the Canadian Grain Commission in grading producer samples is also acknowledged. The technical assistance of the Oilseeds staff, Grain Research Laboratory is recognized.

Introduction

This harvest survey report is based on 225 samples of oilseeds type soybean (previously described as non-food grade), less than what we received in 2014 (346) and less than what we got in 2013 (318). Samples were from Manitoba (85), Ontario (69), Québec (39), Saskatchewan (25), New-Brunswick (3), Prince Edwards Island (2) and Alberta (2). Of the submitted samples, 11.6% were graded as Soybean, No. 1 Canada; 87.5% were graded as Soybean No. 2 Canada and 0.9% were graded as Soybean, No. 3 Canada and Soybean, No. 4 Canada.

Quality data (oil, protein, free fatty acid, chlorophyll as well as fatty acid composition) are based on the means of Soybean, No. 1 and No. 2 Canada grades combined for all oilseed-type samples received from eastern (Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island) and western (Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta), (Tables 3 and 4). In addition, results for all combined grades for each province are also provided for comparison (Tables 3 and 4). Table 5 presented 2014 quality data to compare with the 2015 harvest.

Qualité du soja oléagineux canadien en 2015

Résumé

En 2015, la teneur moyenne en huile des grades de Soja, Canada nos 1 et 2 (base sèche) était de 21,5 % (tableau 2), un pourcentage en hausse par rapport à l’année précédente (20,9 %) et similaire à la moyenne sur 5 ans, de 2010 à 2014, qui s’établissait à 21,4 %. La teneur moyenne en protéines des deux grades combinés était de 39,6 %, un pourcentage égal à celui de l’année précédente et proche de la moyenne sur 5 ans (39,4 %).

Les teneurs moyennes en huile et en protéines des deux grades combinés variaient entre les provinces de l’Ouest et de l’Est. Le soja du Manitoba présentait une teneur en huile et en protéines de respectivement 21,2 % et 38,0 %, tandis que celui de la Saskatchewan affichait des pourcentages respectifs de 20,6 % et 38,4 %. En Ontario, au Québec, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et au Nouveau-Brunswick, le soja avait des teneurs en huile et en protéines de respectivement 21,7 % et 39,8 %, 21,2 % et 41,1 %, 22,2 % et 20,9 %, et 35,7 % et 39,5 %.

Remerciements

Le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains remercie de leur collaboration les producteurs de soja, les installations de manutention du grain et les usines de trituration d’oléagineux de l’Ouest et de l’Est canadien pour avoir fourni des échantillons de la nouvelle récolte de soja. Nous sommes également reconnaissants à la division des Services à l’industrie de la Commission canadienne des grains pour avoir classé les échantillons fournis par les producteurs. L’aide technique du personnel du programme de recherche sur les oléagineux du Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains s’est également avérée précieuse.

Introduction

Le présent rapport, issu d’une enquête sur la récolte, s’appuie sur 225 échantillons de soja oléagineux (décrit précédemment comme non comestible), soit un nombre inférieur à celui des échantillons reçus en 2014 (346) et en 2013 (318). Les échantillons provenaient du Manitoba (85), de l’Ontario (69), du Québec (39), de la Saskatchewan (25), du Nouveau-Brunswick (3), de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (2) et de l’Alberta (2). Parmi les échantillons envoyés, 11,6 % ont été classés Soja, Canada no 1, 87,5 % Soja, Canada no 2, tandis que 0,9 % ont été classés Soja, Canada no 3 et Soja, Canada no 4.

Des données qualitatives (teneurs en huile, en protéines et en chlorophylle et composition en acides gras et en acides gras libres) ont été établies à partir des moyennes des grades Soja, Canada nos 1 et 2 combinés pour tous les échantillons de type oléagineux reçu de l’Est (Ontario, Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick et Île-du-Prince-Édouard ) et de l’Ouest (Manitoba, Saskatchewan et Alberta). Elles sont présentées dans les tableaux 3 et 4, qui fournissent également des résultats par province, pour tous les grades combinés, à des fins de comparaison. Le tableau 5 présente des données qualitatives de 2014 à des fins de comparaison avec la récolte 2015.