Quality of Canadian oilseed-type soybeans 2015

Weather and production review

Weather review

It was a challenging growing season for producers. In the west, warmer weather allowed an early seeding however there were two cold spells in May (mid and end of May) due to freezing temperatures and snow that delayed seeding. Some acreages seeded with canola ended up seeded with soybeans after the second re-seeding. Temperatures were higher than normal for most of the growing season allowing soybean to mature. There were some pockets of heavy rain in Manitoba that might have affected the crop but overall the crop was in good conditions. Harvest was able to proceed in spite of the heavy rains in September.

March and April were cooler than normal in the east part of Canada but May was about 3°C warmer than normal. June and July saw the return of lower than normal temperatures with warmer than normal temperatures returning in August and September. Precipitation was variable, dry with some heavy precipitations in some areas, particularly in some areas of Québec in May and June in Ontario.

Sources:

Ontario crop report

Manitoba crop report

Saskatchewan crop report

Canada weather maps

Production and grade information

Since 2007, soybean production in Canada keeps increasing (Figure 1). In 2015 the soybean production increased from 6.0 million tonnes in 2014 to 6.235 million tonnes (Table 1). The production increased in all provinces (Table 1) + 25% in Manitoba, + 11% in Québec and + 10% in Saskatchewan, except in Ontario where a 5% decrease was observed. This was partially due to an increase in seeded area in Manitoba (+ 9%) and an overall yield increase compared to 2014 (2,900 kilograms per hectare in 2015 versus 2,700 kilograms per hectare in 2014). The yield increase was very significant in Québec + 23% (3,200 kilograms per hectare in 2015 versus 2,600 kilograms per hectare in 2014) and Manitoba + 14% (2,500 kilograms per hectare in 2015 versus 2,200 kilograms per hectare in 2014), and in Saskatchewan + 6% (1,700 kilograms per hectare in 2015 versus 1,600 kilograms per hectare in 2014).

Figure 1. Soybean production in Canada from 2000 to 2015

Graph: Soybean production in Canada from 2000 to 2015

For the 2015 soybean survey, we received 225 samples, 113 from the East and 112 from the West (Table 2). All harvest survey samples submitted to the Canadian Grain Commission from all locations (Ontario, Québec, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Manitoba and Saskatchewan) were graded by Canadian Grain Commission inspectors according to the Official Grain Grading Guide. In the 2015 survey, 99.1% of the submitted samples were in the top 2 grades. The very few samples (0.9%) that were graded Soybean, No. 3 Canada and lower were from the east.

Table 1. Seeded area and production for eastern and western Canadian soybeans
Province Seeded area ProductionFootnote1 5-year average production
2015 2014 2015 2014 2010-14
hectares tonnes tonnes
Manitoba 560,500 514,000 1,390,700 1,107,700 601,720
Saskatchewan 109,300 109,300 179,600 163,300 23,680Footnote2
Western Canada 669,800 623,300 1,570,300 1,271,000 625,400
Ontario 1,173,600 1,242,400 3,592,500 3,791,100 3,130,860
Québec 315,000 348,000 1,000,000 898,000 768,600
Prince Edward Island 21,900 26,300 47,200 60,100 47,040
New Brunswick 5,300 6,100 12,200 13,600 8,000
Nova Scotia 4,500 4,900 12,800 14,800 7,700
Eastern Canada 1,520,300 1,627,700 4,664,700 4,777,600 3,962,200
Total Canada 2,190,100 2,251,000 6,235,000 6,048,600 4,587,600

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Statistics Canada. Table 001-0010. Estimated areas, yield, production and average farm price of principal field crops, in metric units.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Statistics Canada started to report Saskatchewan soybean production in 2013, 2013 and 2014 production date were 118,400 and 163,300 tonnes, respectively. To calculate the 5 year average, in 2010, 2011 and 2012 Saskatchewan production was assumed to be 0.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Qualité du soja oléagineux canadien en 2015

Bilan des conditions météorologiques et de la production

Examen des conditions météorologiques

La saison de croissance du soja a été difficile pour les producteurs. Dans l’Ouest, un temps plus chaud a permis de semer plus tôt; toutefois, il y a eu deux périodes froides en mai (mi-mai et fin mai) durant lesquelles des températures inférieures à zéro et la neige ont retardé les semis. Certaines superficies ensemencées avec du canola ont fini avec du soja après le deuxième réensemencement. Les températures ont été supérieures à la normale durant la majorité de la saison de croissance, ce qui a permis au soja de mûrir. Au Manitoba, en dépit d'un certain nombre de poches de fortes précipitations qui ont pu se répercuter sur la culture, cette dernière était globalement en bonne condition et la récolte a pu être menée à bien en dépit des fortes pluies de septembre.

Mars et avril ont été plus froids que la normale dans l’Est du Canada; toutefois, le mois de mai a été, lui, environ 3 °C plus chaud que la normale. Durant les mois de juin et de juillet, les températures sont de nouveau descendues sous les normales saisonnières pour remonter au-dessus en août et en septembre. Les précipitations ont été variables : il y a eu du temps sec, mais également de fortes précipitations à certains endroits, en particulier dans certaines régions du Québec en mai et de l’Ontario en juin.

Sources :

Rapport sur les cultures de l’Ontario

Rapport sur les cultures du Manitoba (en anglais)

Rapport sur les cultures de la Saskatchewan (en anglais)

Cartes météo du Canada

Renseignements sur la production et les grades

Depuis 2007, la production de soja au Canada n’a cessé d’augmenter (figure 1). Elle est passée de 6 millions de tonnes en 2014 à 6,235 millions de tonnes en 2015 (tableau 1). En 2015, en dehors de l’Ontario où la production était en baisse de 5 %, toutes les provinces ont connu une augmentation : 25 % au Manitoba, 11 % au Québec et 10 % en Saskatchewan (tableau 1). Ces chiffres sont partiellement dus à une augmentation de 9 % de la superficie ensemencée au Manitoba et à une augmentation globale des rendements, passés de 2 700 kg par hectare en 2014 à 2 900 kg par hectare en 2015. Cette amélioration des rendements a été particulièrement marquée au Québec, avec une augmentation de 23 %, de 2 600 kg par hectare en 2014 à 3 200 kg par hectare en 2015 et, dans une moindre mesure, au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan, avec des améliorations respectives de 14 %, de 2 200 kg par hectare en 2014 à 2 500 kg par hectare en 2015, et de 6 %, de 1 600 kg par hectare en 2014 à 1 700 kg par hectare en 2015.

Figure 1. Production de soja au Canada de 2000 à 2015

Diagramme: Production de soja au Canada de 2000 à 2015

Pour l’enquête 2015 sur le soja, nous avons reçu 225 échantillons au total, 113 de l’Est et 112 de l’Ouest (tableau 2). Tous les échantillons de l’enquête sur la récolte transmis à la Commission canadienne des grains provenant de toutes les provinces (Ontario, Québec, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouveau-Brunswick, Manitoba et Saskatchewan) ont été classés par les inspecteurs de la Commission canadienne des grains en fonction du Guide officiel du classement des grains. Dans le cadre de l’enquête de 2015, 99,1 % des échantillons transmis ont été classés dans les deux grades supérieurs. Les quelques échantillons (0,9 %) ayant été classés Soja, Canada no 3 et en dessous provenaient de l’Est du pays.

Tableau 1. Superficie ensemencée et production de soja dans les régions de l’Est et de l’Ouest canadien
Province Superficie ensemencée ProductionNote de bas de page1 Production moyenne sur cinq ans
2015 2014 2015 2014 2010 à 2014
hectares tonnes tonnes
Manitoba 560 500 514 000 1 390 700 1 107 700 601 720
Saskatchewan 109 300 109 300 179 600 163 300 23 680Note de bas de page2
Ouest canadien 669 800 623 300 1 570 300 1 271 000 625 400
Ontario 1 173 600 1 242 400 3 592 500 3 791 100 3 130 860
Québec 315 000 348 000 1 000 000 898 000 768 600
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 21 900 26 300 47 200 60 100 47 040
Nouveau-Brunswick 5 300 6 100 12 200 13 600 8 000
Nouvelle Écosse 4 500 4 900 12 800 14 800 7 700
Est canadien 1 520 300 1 627 700 4 664 700 4 777 600 3 962 200
Total du Canada 2 190 100 2 251 000 6 235 000 6 048 600 4 587 600

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Statistique Canada. Tableau 001 0010 – Estimation de la superficie, du rendement, de la production et du prix moyen à la ferme des principales grandes cultures, en unités métriques.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Statistique Canada n’a commencé à fournir les chiffres de la production de soja pour la Saskatchewan qu’en 2013, année pour laquelle elle s’est établie à 118 400 t pour passer à 163 300 t en 2014. Pour calculer la moyenne sur cinq ans, on a supposé que les chiffres étaient nuls pour les années 2010, 2011 et 2012.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2