Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Protection of farm-stored grains, oilseeds and pulses from insects, mites and moulds



5. Detecting problems

Inspect grain and oilseed stocks regularly to detect the first signs of infestation or spoilage. Sample bulks every 2 weeks to check for insects and heating. To detect insects, warm the sampled grain or oilseed in a screened funnel for several hours (Fig. 4). Insects and mites move away from the gradually drying grain and heat and fall into a collecting bottle.

Apparatus for extracting insects and mites from grains and oilseeds

Fig. 4 Apparatus for extracting insects and mites from grains and oilseeds: A, light bulb; B, metal funnel; C, metal screen soldered to funnel wall; D, glass jar; E, 200 g of grain; and F, 50 ml of 70% alcohol, or water.

Another way to check for insects in cereals is to screen surface samples using a No. 10 sieve (2.0-mm aperture). For the smaller canola seeds use a No. 20 sieve (0.85-mm aperture). Use a sampling probe to obtain deep samples. Warm the siftings for a few minutes and then examine them for insect movement. Check grains and oilseeds for heating by feeling the bulk's surface or a metal rod after it has been inserted for 1 h within the bulk.

To check for mites, sift grain or oilseed samples through a No. 20 or 30 mesh sieve (0.595-mm aperture). Warm the dust and screening to room temperature and examine them through a magnifying glass. Large numbers of mites in siftings look like clumps of moving dust. Smaller numbers that look like specks of dust are hard to see.

Insect-detection devices used to trap insects consist of probes - plastic tubes perforated with small holes that exclude grain kernels but allow insects to drop into, but not to escape from the trap (Fig. 5). Traps are generally not used in oilseeds where insects are usually not a problem. When cleaning samples in a dockage tester, free-living insects may be detected in the aspirator pan.

As a monitoring device, traps can detect infestations early so that producers or elevator managers can act before the grain has deteriorated to the point at which serious losses occur. Traps can be used in granaries, elevators, rail cars and ships to monitor grain at all stages of storage and transport. Push traps into the centre of a grain mass where insects generally accumulate because of warmth and higher moisture. Leave them for about 1 week (adult insects of some cold-hardy species continue to be captured down to 10°C) and remove by pulling on an attached rope. Take care to identify captured insects because grain-feeding pests require chemical control measures, whereas fungus-feeding insects indicate the grain is going out of condition and, therefore, should be moved into another bin or dried.

Table 1 – Percentage moisture content of tough or damp cereal grains, oilseeds, and pulses
Crop Moisture content (wet weight)
Tough (%) Damp (%)
Source: Canadian Grain Commission, 2001.
Wheat 14.6-17.0 >17.0
Amber durum 14.6-17.0 >17.0
Buckwheat 16.1-18.0 >18.0
Oats 13.6-17.0 >17.0
Barley 14.9-17.0 >17.0
Flaxseed 10.1-13.5 >13.5
Canola (Rapeseed) 10.1-12.5 >12.5
Mustard seed 9.6-12.5 >12.5
Rye 14.1-17.0 >17.0
Peas 16.1-18.0 >18.0
Corn 15.6-17.5 17.6-21.0
Soybeans 14.1-16.0 16.1-18.0
Sunflower 9.6-13.5 13.6-17.0
Plastic trap for detecting stored-product insects.

Fig. 5 Plastic trap for detecting stored-product insects.

Spoilage and infestations

Development of storage fungi and insects is favoured by moisture and moderate-to-high temperatures. Continuing growth of these organisms in grains and oilseeds results in spoilage, heating and insect infestations.

Even when grains and oilseeds have been stored dry, moist spots may develop by moisture migration within the bulk or by rain or snow getting in through roof vents and other openings.

Grain along the inner perimeter and roof of the bin cools as the outside-air temperature decreases during fall and winter. Grain in the centre of large, unaerated bins (6-m diameter and larger) remains near the harvest temperature into mid-to-late winter. This temperature difference within the bulk causes air to move up through the warm bulk at the centre. As warm, moist air moves upward, cooler grain at the top of the bulk absorbs moisture from the air. Moisture in this rising air may also condense or freeze on the underside of cold roofs (Fig. 1).

Each crop has its own particular storage characteristics and safe storage depends largely on its moisture content, its temperature and the length and time of storage. By knowing the moisture content and temperature of a crop at binning it is possible to predict its future storability. In Fig. 6, moisture-temperature combinations are shown for storage of canola, which result in either spoilage or no spoilage over 5 months. To move a crop from spoilage in the upper part of the chart to no spoilage below, either dry the canola or cool it by aeration.

To store wheat safely for up to 6 months, temperature and moisture content combinations may be used for prediction (Fig. 7).

Canola storage time chart based on seed moisture and temperature at binning.

Fig. 6 Canola storage time chart based on seed moisture and temperature at binning. At moisture contents above 13% even cool grain deteriorates rapidly.

Wheat storage time chart showing zones in which spoilage occurs in less than 10 days, within 10-30 days, within 1-3 months, and no spoilage for at least 6 months.

Fig. 7 Wheat storage time chart showing zones in which spoilage occurs in less than 10 days, within 10-30 days, within 1-3 months, and no spoilage for at least 6 months.

Bin monitoring

Need for monitoring

Stored grains are living organisms. The economic value of grains in storage can drop rapidly when they are allowed to deteriorate. Successful in-bin drying requires daily monitoring of bulks and an understanding of the drying and spoilage processes. Thus, to maintain the value of grains during storage, measure their moisture and temperature conditions regularly, so that remedial action can be taken if it appears that they will spoil before drying takes place.

Monitoring of bulks can be done by entering the bins, observing the condition and odour of the surface grain, and, with a probe, removing samples from deep in the bulk. This activity can be time-consuming, difficult and dangerous and is therefore frequently neglected. Active spoilage is indicated by changes in temperatures, concentrations of carbon dioxide or both. Off-odour (musty), visible mould (green, blue, yellow, white) or clumped grain may be present.

Bulk temperature

The most common and readily available method of monitoring for spoilage is to measure temperatures throughout the bulk with permanently or temporarily installed electrical sensors (Fig. 8). One such system consists of a cable and a hand-held, battery-operated monitor. The cable hangs down the centre of the bin with temperature points every 1.2 m and hangs down the outside of the bin with the connector at eye level. The top temperature point should be about 0.3 to 0.6 m below the top grain surface (after the grain settles). The monitor is plugged into the connector and the bulk temperatures are read off and recorded.

Bin temperature monitoring system of four sensing cables A-D suspended from the roof

Fig. 8 Bin temperature monitoring system of four sensing cables A-D suspended from the roof. Cables A, B and D are located halfway between the wall and bin centre and C is located close to the centre. Note: Cables longer than 8-12 m require support brackets to prevent the roof being pulled down by the cables (McKenzie et al. 1980). The cables should be attached to the floor, otherwise grain will push them sideways providing false readings.

Measuring temperatures regularly throughout the bulk during aeration can locate the cooling front. Turn the fan off when the bulk temperature is cooled to the outside temperature and turn it on again when the outside temperature drops about 5°C below the bulk temperature.

When grain spoils from the growth of moulds or insects, oxygen is consumed while heat, carbon dioxide and water are produced. The heat can cause the temperature of spoiling grain to rise. Thus, in an unventilated bulk, temperature measurements may be useful in detecting deterioration. But difficulties may arise in using and interpreting temperature results.

  • Temperatures of large grain or oilseed bulks change slowly. For example, at the centre of a 6-m diameter bin the temperature can be highest in winter and lowest in summer.
  • When a small pocket of grain spoils, the temperature at the centre of the pocket may reach 65°C whereas only 50 cm away the grain may be 10°C. To detect small pockets, temperatures must be measured at many points or at least where spoilage is most probable.
  • Low bulk temperatures do not necessarily indicate safe storage conditions. At -5°C, some moulds can begin to grow slowly; above 10°C both moulds and mites can flourish. Most insects, however, require bulk temperatures above 20°C to reproduce rapidly.
  • Bulk temperatures above outside air temperatures do not necessarily indicate the occurrence of spoilage. Straight-grade crops can be harvested and placed into storage in excellent condition at warm temperatures. But, when the crop is harvested and stored on a hot day, insects flying in from outside and those from the walls and floor debris in an unclean bin may start an infestation by multiplying rapidly. Such grain should be cooled by turning or by aeration to prevent insects from breeding. If the crops are stored dry in large, unventilated storage the temperatures near the centre can remain relatively high throughout the cold winter.

Carbon dioxide concentration

A second method of detecting active spoilage caused by either moulds or insects is to measure the concentration of carbon dioxide (CO2) in the intergranular air. The usual biological deterioration process occurring in stored grain and oilseeds consumes oxygen and produces carbon dioxide. The concentration of CO2 in outside air is about 0.03-0.04% (300-400 ppm). Concentrations above this level in a bin indicate that biological activity (moulds, insects, mites, or grain respiration) is causing the stored crop to deteriorate.

As CO2 usually spreads into the surrounding bulk, gas sampling points need not be right in the spoilage pockets. But it is preferable to sample at locations where spoilage usually occurs, such as at the centre of the bulk about 1-2 m below the top surface. Occasionally, spoilage will occur around doors because of leaking gaskets or ill-fitting covers, and on the floor by the bin wall due to bin sweating and condensation, or water leaks through roof vents. These localized areas can produce elevated CO2 levels that may be detected throughout the bin. It is advisable to have several additional sampling locations to determine if elevated levels are localized or throughout the bulk.

Carbon dioxide sampling equipment

Air samples can be withdrawn through small-diameter plastic tubes temporarily or permanently located within the bulk, using a hand pump, syringe, or electric pump. The concentration of the CO2 can be measured with an electronic detector.

A less expensive alternative is to use gas-analyzer tubes, which change colour according to the amount of CO2 passed through them (Fig. 9). The tubes can only be used once. Tubes cost approximately $5.00 each (in 2000) and can be obtained from most safety equipment outlets.

Device for detecting grain and oilseed spoilage by carbon dioxide measurements

Fig. 9 Device for detecting grain and oilseed spoilage by carbon dioxide measurements.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protection des céréales, des oléagineux et des légumineuses à grain entreposés à la ferme contre les insectes, les acariens et les moisissures



5. Détection des problèmes

Il faut inspecter régulièrement les stocks de céréales et d’oléagineux afin d’être en mesure de déceler les premiers signes éventuels d’infestation ou d’altération. Il est recommandé de prélever des échantillons dans la masse toutes les 2 semaines pour déceler la présence éventuelle d’insectes ou de signes d’échauffement. Pour déterminer si la récolte est infestée par des insectes, il faut placer l’échantillon de céréales ou d’oléagineux dans un entonnoir muni d’un treillis pendant plusieurs heures (figure 4). En s’éloignant du grain qui s’assèche graduellement, les insectes et les acariens finissent par tomber dans un flacon collecteur.

Dispositif utilisé pour l’extraction des insectes et des acariens infestant les céréales et  les oléagineux

Figure 4. Dispositif utilisé pour l’extraction des insectes et des acariens infestant les céréales et les oléagineux : A. Ampoule; B. Entonnoir en métal; C. Treillis métallique soudé à l’entonnoir; D. Bocal collecteur en verre; E. 200 g de grain; F. 50 mL d’alcool à 70 % ou d’eau.

Pour vérifier si les céréales sont infestées par des insectes, on peut également tamiser des échantillons prélevés en surface à l’aide d’un tamis no 10 (mailles de 2,0 mm). Pour les graines de canola, plus petites, il faut utiliser un tamis no 20 (mailles de 0,85 mm). Le prélèvement des échantillons dans la masse s’effectue à l’aide d’une sonde. Avant d’entreprendre l’inspection des échantillons en vue d’y détecter le mouvement d’insectes, il faut réchauffer les échantillons pendant quelques minutes. Il faut vérifier si les céréales et les oléagineux sont échauffés en évaluant la température de la surface de la masse ou celle d’une tige métallique enfoncée dans la masse pendant une heure.

Pour déceler la présence éventuelle d’acariens, il faut utiliser un tamis no 20 ou 30 (mailles de 0,595 mm). Les échantillons de poussière et de criblures peuvent être examinés à la loupe dès qu’ils atteignent la température ambiante. Les pullulations d’acariens dans les criblures ressemblent à des amas de poussière en mouvement. Moins nombreux, les acariens ressemblent à de petits fragments de poussière et sont plus difficiles à détecter.

Aux fins de la détection, la capture des insectes s’effectue à l’aide de sondes tubulaires en plastique criblées de petits trous. Ces trous sont trop petits pour laisser passer les grains, mais ils laissent passer les insectes qui, en y pénétrant, tombent dans le piège sans pouvoir s’en échapper (figure 5). On n’utilise habituellement pas de pièges dans les cellules d’entreposage des oléagineux, car les insectes n’y causent généralement pas de problèmes. Lors du nettoyage d’échantillons dans un détecteur d’impuretés, on peut observer les insectes libres dans le plateau de l’aspirateur.

Utilisés à des fins de surveillance, les pièges peuvent détecter les infestations dès qu’elles se forment, et les producteurs ou les préposés de silos à grains peuvent intervenir avant que les dommages ne soient trop importants. On peut installer des pièges dans les entrepôts, les élévateurs, les wagons et les bateaux pour vérifier les grains à toutes les étapes de l’entreposage et du transport. Les pièges doivent être enfoncés dans le centre de la masse, car c’est dans cette zone que les insectes se concentrent généralement, les températures et l’humidité y étant plus élevées. On peut laisser les pièges dans la masse pendant environ une semaine (les insectes adultes de certaines espèces résistantes au froid continuent d’être capturés jusqu’à 10 °C) avant de les récupérer en tirant sur une corde prévue à cette fin. Il est important d’identifier les insectes capturés, car les ravageurs granivores doivent faire l’objet de traitements chimiques, tandis que les espèces mycophages indiquent que le grain est en train de se dégrader et devrait être transbordé dans une autre cellule ou asséché.

Tableau 1. Teneur en eau (%) des grains de céréales, d’oléagineux ou de légumineuses à grain gourds ou humides.
Produit Teneur en eau (poids humide)
Gourd (%) Humide (%)
Source: Commission canadienne des grains, 2001.
Blé 14.6-17.0 >17.0
Blé dur ambré 14.6-17.0 >17.0
Sarrasin 16.1-18.0 >18.0
Avoine 13.6-17.0 >17.0
Orge 14.9-17.0 >17.0
Graine de lin 10.1-13.5 >13.5
Canola 10.1-12.5 >12.5
Moutarde 9.6-12.5 >12.5
Seigle 14.1-17.0 >17.0
Pois 16.1-18.0 >18.0
Maïs 15.6-17.5 17.6-21.0
Soja 14.1-16.0 16.1-18.0
Tournesol 9.6-13.5 13.6-17.0
Piège en plastique utilisé pour la détection des insectes dans les denrées entreposées

Figure 5. Piège en plastique utilisé pour la détection des insectes dans les denrées entreposées.

Détérioration et infestations

L’humidité et les températures moyennes à élevées favorisent la prolifération des moisissures de conservation et des insectes. Si leur croissance est ininterrompue, ces organismes peuvent provoquer la détérioration et l’échauffement des céréales et des oléagineux et des infestations.

Même lorsque les céréales et les oléagineux ont été entreposés à l’état sec, la migration de l’humidité à l’intérieur de la masse ou la pluie ou la neige qui pénètre dans la cellule par les orifices de ventilation du toit ou par d’autres ouvertures peuvent provoquer la formation de zones humides.

Le grain situé à proximité des parois et sous le toit se refroidit à mesure que la température de l’air extérieur s’abaisse en automne et durant l’hiver. Dans les cellules non ventilées de fortes dimensions (diamètre d’au moins 6 m), le grain situé au centre de la masse conserve sensiblement le même température que celle qu’il avait au moment de sa récolte jusque vers le milieu à la fin de l’hiver. Cet écart de température à l’intérieur de la masse détermine un mouvement ascendant de l’air au travers du noyau chaud central. Pendant que l’air chaud et humide monte, les grains froids se trouvant au sommet de la masse absorbent l’humidité de l’air. L’humidité de la masse d’air ascendante peut aussi se condenser ou geler sur la paroi interne du toit froid (figure 1).

Chaque type de récolte présente des caractéristiques d’entreposage particulières. Le succès de l’entreposage dépend principalement de la teneur en eau et de la température du grain, de la durée de l’entreposage et du moment où l’entreposage débute. Si l’on connaît le taux d’humidité et la température d’une récolte au moment de sa mise en cellule, on peut prévoir comment cette culture va se comporter durant l’entreposage. La figure 6 montre l’effet combiné de la teneur en eau et de la température du grain sur le succès de l’entreposage du canola, qui peut ou non se gâter en l’espace de 5 mois. Pour passer de la partie « détérioration » du graphique à la partie du bas, il suffit d’assécher le canola ou de le ventiler pour le refroidir.

Dans le cas du blé, on peut également prédire si une récolte se conservera sans détérioration pendant au moins six mois en se fondant sur l’effet combiné de l’humidité et de la température du grain au moment de la mise en cellule (figure 7).

Figure 6. Diagramme de la durée d’entreposage du canola en fonction de la teneur en eau et de la température des graines au moment de la mise en cellule. Lorsque la teneur en eau dépasse 13 %, même les graines froides se détériorent rapidement.

Figure 7. Diagramme de la durée d’entreposage du blé montrant les zones où la détérioration survient en moins de 10 jours ou en l’espace de 10 à 30 jours ou de 1 à 3 mois ou ne débute pas avant au moins six mois.

Surveillance durant l’entreposage

Nécessité de la surveillance

Les grains entreposés sont des organismes vivants, et leur valeur marchande peut chuter rapidement s’ils se détériorent. Pour que le séchage en cellule soit efficace, il faut surveiller quotidiennement la masse entreposée et bien comprendre les processus de séchage et de détérioration. Ainsi, pour maintenir la valeur des grains durant l’entreposage, il faut mesurer régulièrement leur teneur en eau et leur température afin d’appliquer les mesures correctrices qui s’imposent s’il y a lieu de craindre que les grains se détériorent avant le séchage.

Pour effectuer cette surveillance, il est recommandé d’entrer dans les cellules, d’observer l’état et l’odeur du grain se trouvant à la surface de la masse et, au moyen d’une sonde, de prélever des échantillons dans les profondeurs de la masse. Parce qu’elle est fastidieuse, difficile et dangereuse à réaliser, cette procédure est souvent omise. La présence d’une détérioration en cours se détecte par un changement de la température ou de la concentration de dioxyde de carbone, ou des deux. Une odeur de moisi, des moisissures (vertes, bleues, jaunes, blanches) et des masses de grains agglutinés peuvent être présentes.

Température de la masse

La méthode de surveillance la plus simple et la couramment utilisée consiste à mesurer la température du grain dans la masse à l’aide de capteurs électriques installés à demeure ou de façon temporaire (figure 8). Ce dispositif consiste en un câble et en un appareil de mesure portatif à piles. Le câble est enfoncé dans le centre de la masse et ressort de la cellule de manière que le connecteur se trouve à hauteur d’oeil. Le câble fournit des lectures à tous les 1,2 m. Le premier point de lecture devrait se trouver à 0,3 à 0,6 m sous la surface de la masse (une fois le grain tassé). L’appareil de mesure est raccordé au connecteur, et les mesures de température dans la masse sont enregistrées.

Bin temperature monitoring system of four sensing cables A-D suspended from the roof

Figure 8. Dispositif de surveillance des températures à l’intérieur des cellules constitué de quatre câbles capteurs (A à D) suspendus à partir du toit. Les câbles A, B et D sont situés à mi‑chemin entre la paroi et le centre de la cellule, tandis que le câble C est suspendu près du centre. Note : les câbles mesurant plus de 8 à 12 m de longueur doivent être supportés pour empêcher que le toit ne s’affaisse sous l’effet du poids des câbles (McKenzie et al., 1980). Il faut fixer les câbles au plancher afin d’éviter que le grain ne les pousse latéralement et produise des erreurs de lecture.

En mesurant régulièrement la température dans la masse pendant la ventilation, il est possible de suivre la progression du front de refroidissement. La ventilation est interrompue lorsque la température à l’intérieur de la masse atteint celle de l’air extérieur, et elle est reprise lorsque la température de l’air extérieur chute à environ 5 °C sous celle de l’intérieur de la masse.

La détérioration du grain due à la prolifération de moisissures ou d’insectes s’accompagne d’une consommation d’oxygène et d’une libération de chaleur, de dioxyde de carbone et d’eau. La chaleur peut faire grimper la température du grain en train de se détériorer. En conséquence, dans une masse non ventilée, la mesure de la température peut aider à déceler l’altération des grains. Toutefois, l’utilisation et l’interprétation des données de température peuvent soulever des difficultés.

  • La température des masses importantes de céréales ou d’oléagineux change lentement, à tel point qu’au centre d’une cellule de 6 m de diamètre, la température peut être maximale en hiver et minimale en été.
  • Lorsqu’une petite poche de grains se détériore, la température au centre de cette dernière peut atteindre 65 °C, tandis qu’à seulement 50 cm plus loin, elle peut s’établir à seulement 10 °C. Pour déceler ces petites poches, il faut mesurer la température en de nombreux points ou, à tout le moins, aux endroits où le risque de détérioration est le plus élevé.
  • La présence de basses températures à l’intérieur de la masse ne signifie pas nécessairement que la récolte est à l’abri de tout risque de détérioration. À -5 °C, certaines moisissures peuvent commencer à croître lentement; au-dessus de 10 °C, les moisissures et les acariens peuvent se multiplier rapidement. Toutefois, la plupart des insectes ne prolifèrent que si la température à l’intérieur de la masse est supérieure à 20 °C.
  • Inversement, la présence à l’intérieur de la masse de températures supérieures à la température de l’air ambiant n’est pas nécessairement un signe de détérioration. Les récoltes sèches de qualité uniforme peuvent être entreposées en excellent état par temps chaud. Toutefois, en pareil cas, les insectes qui arrivent de l’extérieur et ceux qui se cachent dans les murs et les débris jonchant le sol d’une cellule malpropre peuvent déclencher une infestation en se multipliant rapidement. Pour empêcher les insectes de se reproduire, il faut refroidir la récolte en la retournant ou en la ventilant. Si la récolte est entreposée dans de grosses installations non ventilées, la température près du centre de la masse peut demeurer relativement élevée durant tout l’hiver.

Concentration de dioxyde de carbone

Une deuxième façon de détecter une détérioration en progression causée par des moisissures ou des insectes consiste à mesurer la concentration de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) dans l’air intergranulaire. La dégradation biologique qui se produit normalement parmi les céréales et oléagineux entreposés consomme de l’oxygène et libère du dioxyde de carbone. La teneur en CO2 de l’air extérieur oscille entre 0,03 et 0,04 % (300 à 400 ppm). La présence de concentrations supérieures à ces valeurs dans une cellule indique qu’une activité biologique (moisissures, insectes, acariens ou respiration du grain) est en train de causer la détérioration de la récolte.

Comme le CO2 se disperse dans la masse de grain entreposée, il n’est pas nécessaire de prélever les échantillons directement dans les poches de détérioration, même s’il est préférable de concentrer l’échantillonnage là où la détérioration se produit habituellement, notamment dans le centre de la masse, à environ 1 ou 2 m sous la surface. Occasionnellement, la détérioration peut se produire autour des portes si celles-ci sont mal étanchéifiées, ou encore directement au‑dessus du plancher, près de la paroi de la cellule, si l’eau qui suinte et se condense sur les parois ou qui pénètre par les bouches de ventilation humidifie le plancher. Ces foyers de détérioration peuvent libérer de fortes concentrations de CO2 qui peuvent être détectées partout dans la cellule. Il est recommandé d’effectuer l’échantillonnage en plusieurs points de la cellule afin de déterminer si ces concentrations élevées sont localisées ou au contraire réparties à l’échelle de la cellule.

Dispositifs de dosage du dioxyde de carbone

Des échantillons d’air peuvent être prélevés dans des tubes en plastique de faible calibre installés temporairement ou en permanence dans la masse de grains, au moyen d’une pompe actionnée à la main, d’une seringue ou d’une pompe électrique. La concentration de CO2 peut être mesurée à l’aide d’un détecteur électronique.

Une option moins dispendieuse consiste à utiliser des tubes doseurs à usage unique, peu coûteux (5,00 $ chacun en 2000), qui changent de couleur selon la concentration de CO2 qui les traverse (figure 9). Ces tubes sont disponibles chez la plupart des détaillants de matériel de sécurité.

Dispositif de dosage du CO2 permettant de détecter la détérioration des céréales et des oléagineux

Figure 9. Dispositif de dosage du CO2 permettant de détecter la détérioration des céréales et des oléagineux.