Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Protection of farm-stored grains, oilseeds and pulses from insects, mites and moulds



8. Pulse crops

Insects

Insects are rarely a problem in stored pulse crops. The exceptions are weevils of the family Bruchidae which can infest seed in the field and continue to multiply during storage (Bruchus brachialis Fahr., the vetch weevil; Bruchus pisorum (L.), the pea weevil; Bruchus rufimanus Boh., the broadbean weevil; Acanthoscelides obtectus (Say), the bean weevil).

Fababeans (Vicia faba L.)

Relative storage risk: Low

Moisture content standards:

  • Dry: up to 16.0%
  • Tough: 16.1 to 18.0%
  • Damp: over 18.0%

Safe storage guidelines

The maximum recommended moisture content for storing sound fababeans is 16% in Canada and 15% in Britain. Fababeans of 14.2% moisture content that had not undergone frost damage were safely stored for 2 years in Manitoba. Low-quality, frost-damaged beans that had been overwintered and had a moisture content above 15% often heated during the following summer.

Drying guidelines

Drying at a maximum of 32°C is recommended. Drying should be done in two stages if more than 5% moisture content is to be removed to attain a 16% storage moisture content. Allow a few days between each stage to permit internal moisture to move to the surface. Do not dry beans rapidly at high temperatures because this cracks the seed and reduces viability. The beans may also become overdried on the outside and underdried within. Underdried beans result in a pasty meal, which on prolonged storage becomes rancid and heated. At drying temperatures above 40°C, the skin wrinkles or splits, particularly with high moisture beans. Avoid cracking the seed coat as microorganisms can then gain entrance and cause spoilage.

Degrading factors

Fababeans are degraded when they contain heated and/or rotted beans, or have a distinctly heated or musty odour. Entire beans and pieces of beans are considered in the grading. Fababeans are graded Sample if they contain over 1% heated and/or spoiled beans, or have a distinctly heated or musty odour.

Appearance of heated and spoiled beans

Heated beans and/or spoiled fababeans are those which are materially discoloured as a result of heating or rotting. Seed coats are dark brown to black, and the cotyledon tissue on dissected beans is either tan or brown.

Storage problems

Beans are normally harvested when the pods are black and stems have shriveled. Because water loss is slow from the thick fleshy pods and large seeds, a prolonged period of ripening and drying may be required before combining, particularly in cool climates. If the crop is harvested too soon, the beans in the topmost pods will be immature. They will also be higher in moisture content than those in lower pods. Because of problems associated with prolonged ripening, late harvesting, frost damage, and prolonged drying, fababeans are frequently binned in a nonuniform state and consequently need to be carefully monitored during storage.

Field beans (Phaseolus vulgaris L.)

This heading includes white pea beans, also known as white beans or navy beans (most important), light and dark red kidney beans, black beans, pinto beans, pink beans, small red beans, Great Northern white beans, yellow eye beans and cranberry beans.

Relative storage risk: Low

Moisture content standards:

  • Dry: none
  • Tough: none
  • Damp: over 18.0%

Safe storage guidelines

A moisture content of 18% or less is recommended for safe storage of field beans. For long-term storage, a moisture content of 18% is too high, even at 5°C for beans required for seeding purposes (Table 6). The maximum moisture content for safe storage of pea beans for up to 1 year is 17.0%. Beans should be harvested when most of the pods are dry and the beans have hardened but before the seeds begin to shatter. The optimum moisture content for combining beans is 16 to 18%. At moisture content levels lower than this, damage can be severe and costly, as broken or cracked beans can only be used for livestock feed.

Table 6 – Estimated number of weeks for decreased germination to occur in brown beans
Moisture content (wet basis, %)
Storage temperature (°C) 11 12 13 14 16 18 20.5 23
Maximum safe storage (weeks)
25 31 22 16 11 7 4 2 0.5
20 55 40 28 19 13 7 3.5 1.5
15 100 75 50 30 20 12 6 3
10 200 140 95 60 38 20 11 4.5
5 370 270 170 110 70 39 20 9

Drying guidelines

Drying is necessary when beans are harvested damp because of poor weather or because of excessive harvesting losses due to shattering. Maximum drying temperatures for beans are 27 to 32°C. Dry beans slowly and, if necessary, remove excess moisture in two stages (see fababeans). Great care must be taken during drying otherwise splits develop, even at relatively low temperatures. Hairline cracks, a degrading factor, increase at elevated temperatures. During drying keep the relative humidity of the heated air above 40%.

Degrading factors

Beans are degraded when they contain heated or mouldy beans, or have a heated or distinctly musty odour. Beans are graded Sample if they contain over 1% heated beans or have a heated or distinctly musty odour, or if they contain over 1% mouldy beans. Mouldy beans are characterized by the presence of dark blue exterior moulds that have developed in crevices on machine-damaged beans, and yellow to black interior moulds that have developed in the concave centre area common to light and dark red kidney beans.

Appearance of heated kernels

Heated pea beans have a dull-coloured seed coat varying from cream to mahogany. The colour is more intense in the hilum area. Cotyledons vary in colour from tan to dark brown when viewed in cross section. Very light cotyledons are classed as damaged rather than as heated. Heated light and dark red kidney beans have a dull, dark red to black seed coat. Beans must be split to determine the degree and intensity of heat damage.

Storage problems

Mechanical handling damage is a problem which becomes more severe at low temperture and moisture levels. To reduce damage, use belt conveyors or front-end loaders rather than augers to handle beans wherever possible. Avoid dropping beans from excessive heights, particularly onto concrete floors.

Peas (Pisum sativum var. arvense (L.) Poir.)

Relative storage risk: Low

Moisture content standards:

  • Dry: up to 16.0%
  • Tough: 16.1 to 18.0%
  • Damp: over 18.0%

Safe storage guidelines

Peas are harvested when they are mature and hard in the pod. Yellow-seeded cultivars are harvested beginning at 16% moisture content. Green-seeded cultivars are harvested at 18% moisture content, or higher, to maintain good colour, then dried down to 16%, or lower, for safe storage.

Drying guidelines

The maximum drying temperatures are 45°C for seed required for seeding purposes, 70°C for commercial use, and 80 to 100°C for feed. Temperatures higher than 45°C will harm germination of seed peas, especially green peas.

Degrading factors

Peas are graded Sample if they contain over 0.2% heated seeds, or have a heated, fire-burnt or distinctly musty odour.

Appearance of heated seeds Heated peas have dull seed coats and discoloured cotyledons, ranging in colour from light tan to dark brown.

Storage problems

Peas of about 15% moisture content may develop a surface crust during the winter as a result of moisture migration and snow seepage, particularly when they are stored warm without aeration. The seeds tend to clump and if left undisturbed become blackened as a result of mould activity. To prevent clumping, periodically walk across the top of the bin or move the top 30 cm of stocks with a shovel.

Before moving the first load in the spring, examine the top surface of the stocks. If there is any black crust remove it with a shovel, otherwise the first load will be ruined by admixture. Crusting is a particular problem in overfilled steel bins, and it also occurs in stocks stored in Quonset huts. It can be prevented by using a front-end loader to divide the stocks and disturb the surface layers. Because of their size and shape, peas exert a greater lateral pressure than wheat; therefore, if grain bins are also used for storing peas they may require reinforcement.

Soybeans (Glycine max (L.) Merrill)

Relative storage risk: Moderate

Moisture content standards:

  • Dry: up to 14.0%
  • Tough: 14.1 to 16.0%
  • Damp: 16.1 to 18.0%
  • Moist: 18.1 to 20.0%
  • Wet: over 20%

The maximum permissible moisture content limits for soybean grades (U.S.) 1, 2, 3 and 4 are 13, 14, 16 and 18% respectively.

Safe storage guidelines

In dry fall weather, mature soybeans dry in the field from about 15% moisture content in the early morning to 10% at noon. They absorb moisture again during the following night to repeat the cycle the next day. Soybeans can be harvested at a low moisture but only at the expense of added field losses and excessive mechanical damage. These effects can be minimized if beans are harvested at a higher moisture content before pods are completely mature, then dried to a safe moisture content for storage.

The safe moisture content for commercial seed is 13% for up to 1 year and 10% for up to 5 years. These guidelines do not take into consideration such things as accumulation of fines under the spout lines. Soybeans are more difficult to store than shelled corn at the same moisture content and temperature. This is because the equilibrium moisture content of soybeans at a relative humidity of 65% and 25°C is 2% less than for shelled corn.

Table 7 – Moisture content scale for market and seed stocks.
Moisture content (%) Market stock Seed stock
10-11 4 years 1 year
10-12.5 1 to 3 years 6 months
13-14 6 to 9 months Questionable, check germination
14-15 6 months Questionable, check germination

Storage fungi can slowly invade soybeans stored at 12 to 12.5%, with the rate of invasion increasing above this moisture content level. Invasion of soybeans with 12.5 to 13.0% moisture content is unlikely to result in any loss of processing quality within a year even if the temperature is favourable for the growth of fungi; although it may cause some loss of germination. The invasion of soybeans at moisture content levels of up to 13.0% by storage fungi can, however, be dangerous because it may result in a sudden unexpected, and perhaps uncontrollable, increase in fungus growth and heating.

For continued silo storage, soybeans that are already lightly or moderately invaded by storage fungi are at higher risk than sound beans, and progress toward advanced spoilage more rapidly. Once the seeds have been moderately invaded by storage fungi, the fungi may continue to grow and cause damage at slightly lower moisture contents and temperatures than they would in sound beans.

Drying guidelines

The maximum safe drying temperatures are 43°C for soybeans intended for seeding purposes, and 49°C for commercial use.

Degrading factors

Soybeans are degraded when they contain heat-damaged, mouldy or rancid beans, or have a heated, distinctly musty or unpleasant odour. Heated beans are degraded numerically according to established grade specifications. Mouldy and rancid beans are considered in combination with heated beans for grading purposes. Soybeans are graded Sample if they contain over 5% heated beans or have a distinctly heated or musty odour.

Appearance of heated, mouldy and rancid soybeans

Heated soybeans have an olive to dark brown seed coat and, when bisected, have tan to dark brown cotyledons. Mouldy soybeans are wrinkled, misshapen, medium to dark brown and often have a superficial covering of grey mould. They may also have a spongy texture and an unpleasant odour. Rancid soybeans have a deep pink discolouration.

Storage problems

Most cases of serious loss of quality in stored soybeans occur because managers in charge of the beans do not know precisely the conditions prevailing in different portions of the bulk. The seed moisture contents and temperatures within the bulk must be known at all times and maintained at low levels to prevent mould development for safe storage. The condition of the stocks at the beginning of storage has an important bearing on their future keeping quality. Storage problems are aggravated by binning beans already lightly or moderately invaded by storage moulds, the presence of significant amounts of cracked and split beans, and the presence of fines in the bin spout lines. The cracked and split beans and fines (mainly weed seeds) form focuses for heating and subsequent deterioration. Spoilage commonly begins in soybeans in the spout line because the high-moisture weed seeds pack densely, preventing air penetration during aeration. Even if the beans at binning contain only 2 to 5% fines, the spout line may consist of 50 to 80% fines.

Sweating, which occurs when cold grain is removed from storage and exposed to air that has a high relative humidity and is more than 8 to 10°C warmer than the grain, is also of concern. Under these conditions, moisture from the air actually condenses on the beans, and when rebinned the cumulative effect of this sweat, or moisture, can cause heating problems in storage.

There is a genuine danger of self-ignition in soybeans because, unlike temperatures during heating of cereals which do not usually exceed 55°C, temperatures during heating of soybeans can exceed 200°C. The heat-damaged seeds lose at least 30% of their dry weight when temperatures reach 200°C.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protection des céréales, des oléagineux et des légumineuses à grain entreposés à la ferme contre les insectes, les acariens et les moisissures



8. Légumineuses à grain

Insectes

Les insectes causent rarement des dégâts aux légumineuses à grain entreposées. Seules les bruches, de la famille des Bruchidés, peuvent infester les graines au champ et continuer de se multiplier pendant l’entreposage [Bruchus brachialis F., la bruche des vesces (F.); Bruchus pisorum (L.), la bruche du pois (F.); Bruchus rufimanus Boh., la bruche de la gourgane (F.) et Acanthoscelides obtectus (Say), la bruche du haricot (F.)].

Féverole (Vicia faba L.)

Risque relatif de dégâts associés à l’entreposage : faible

Normes de teneur en eau :

  • Grain sec : jusqu’à 16,0 %
  • Grain gourd : de 16,1 % à 18,0 %
  • Grain humide : plus de 18,0 %

Directives d’entreposage

La teneur en eau maximale recommandée pour l’entreposage des féveroles est de 16 % au Canada et de 15 % en Grande‑Bretagne. Au Manitoba, des féveroles ayant une teneur en eau de 14,2 % et n’ayant pas subi de dégâts par le gel ont été stockées pendant deux ans sans subir de dommages. Des grains de piètre qualité endommagés par le gel qui avaient été entreposés l’hiver à plus de 15 % d’humidité ont souvent subi des dommages par échauffement l’été qui a suivi.

Directives de séchage

Il est recommandé de sécher les grains à une température ne dépassant pas 32 °C. Le séchage devrait se faire en deux étapes si l’on doit réduire la teneur en eau d’au moins 5 % pour atteindre 16 % de teneur en eau en entrepôt. Laisser passer quelques jours entre chaque étape afin de permettre à l’humidité interne du grain de migrer à la périphérie. Il ne faut pas sécher les grains rapidement à des températures élevées, car les grains peuvent fendre et perdre leur pouvoir germinatif. Les grains peuvent aussi devenir surséchés à la périphérie et sous‑séchés à l’intérieur. Des grains sous‑séchés deviennent pâteux et, lors d’un entreposage prolongé, rancissent et s’échauffent. Lorsque la température de séchage dépasse 40 °C, la peau du grain se ratatine ou se fissure, surtout celle des grains très humides. Il faut empêcher que le grain ne se fissure, car cela crée une porte d’entrée pour les microorganismes qui entraînent une détérioration du grain.

Facteurs de déclassement

Les féveroles sont déclassées lorsqu’elles contiennent des grains échauffés et/ou pourris ou qu’elles dégagent une nette odeur d’échauffement ou de moisi. L’intégrité du grain est également un facteur de classement. Les féveroles sont classées Échantillon lorsqu’elles contiennent plus de 1 % de grains chauffés et/ou pourris ou qu’elles dégagent une nette odeur d’échauffement ou de moisi.

Aspect des grains échauffés et moisis

Les grains échauffés et/ou pourris ont une coloration anormale. Le tégument du grain varie de brun foncé à noir tandis que les cotylédons, sur des grains disséqués, sont havane ou bruns.

Problèmes d’entreposage

La récolte se fait normalement lorsque la gousse est noire et le pédoncule ratatiné. La perte d’eau étant lente dans le cas des légumineuses à gousses épaisses et charnues et à grosses graines, une période plus longue de mûrissement et de séchage peut être exigée avant le moissonnage-battage, en particulier dans les climats froids. Les graines contenues dans les gousses situées dans la partie supérieure du plant sont immatures lorsque la récolte se fait trop tôt. Ces mêmes graines ont aussi une teneur en eau plus élevée que celles des gousses situées plus bas. En raison des problèmes liés à une période de mûrissement prolongée, à une récolte tardive, aux dégâts par le gel et à une période de séchage prolongée, il est fréquent que les féveroles qui sont mises en cellules ne soient pas uniformes et qu’il faille par conséquent les surveiller attentivement pendant la période d’entreposage.

Haricots (Phaseolus vulgaris L.)

Cette espèce de légumineuse comprend, entre autres, le petit haricot blanc, aussi connu sous le nom de « fève blanche » (production la plus importante), le haricot rouge clair et le haricot rouge foncé, le haricot noir, le haricot pinto, le haricot rose, le petit haricot rouge, le haricot blanc Great Northern, le haricot à oeil jaune et le haricot canneberge.

Risque relatif de dégâts associés à l’entreposage : faible

Normes de teneur en eau :

  • Grain sec : aucune
  • Grain gourd : aucune
  • Grain humide : plus de 18,0 %

Directives d’entreposage

Une teneur en eau de 18 % ou moins est recommandée pour l’entreposage des haricots. Si l’on veut les stocker à long terme et s’en servir comme semences, une teneur en eau de 18 % est trop élevée, même à une température de 5 °C (tableau 6). Pour les stocker jusqu’à un an, il est recommandé d’amener la teneur en eau à au plus 17 %. Les haricots doivent être récoltés une fois les gousses sèches et le grain durci, mais avant le début de l’égrenage. Idéalement, la teneur en eau des haricots doit être entre 16 % et 18 % au moment du moissonnage‑battage. Si elle est plus basse, les dégâts peuvent être importants et entraîner des pertes financières, puisque les grains cassés ou fissurés peuvent servir seulement d’aliments pour le bétail.

Tableau 6 – Nombre estimé de semaines jusqu’à la diminution du pouvoir germinatif des haricots bruns
Température
d’entreposage (°C)
Teneur en eau (à l’état humide, en %)
11 12 13 14 16 18 20,5 23
Période maximale pour un entreposage sûr
(en semaines)
25 31 22 16 11 7 4 2 0,5
20 55 40 28 19 13 7 3,5 1,5
15 100 75 50 30 20 12 6 3
10 200 140 95 60 38 20 11 4,5
5 370 270 170 110 70 39 20 9

Directives de séchage

Le séchage est essentiel lorsque les haricots sont récoltés au stade humide en raison de la mauvaise température ou pour éviter des pertes excessives dues à l’égrenage. La température maximale pour le séchage des grains se situe entre 27 °C et 32 °C. Le séchage doit se faire lentement et, au besoin, en deux étapes pour éliminer l’excès d’humidité (voir féverole). Une attention particulière doit être apportée au séchage, car les grains peuvent fendre, même à des températures relativement basses. Les fissures constituent un facteur de déclassement et elles augmentent à des températures élevées. Durant le séchage, il faut garder l’humidité relative de l’air chauffé au-dessus de 40 %.

Facteurs de déclassement

Les haricots sont déclassés lorsqu’ils contiennent des grains échauffés ou moisis ou qu’ils ont une odeur d’échauffement ou une nette odeur de moisi. Les haricots sont classés Échantillon lorsqu’ils contiennent plus de 1 % de grains échauffés ou qu’ils dégagent une odeur d’échauffement ou une nette odeur de moisi, ou lorsqu’ils contiennent plus de 1 % de grains moisis. Les grains moisis sont caractérisés par la présence de moisissures bleu foncé à l’extérieur du grain, qui se développent dans les fissures des grains endommagés par les machines, ou de moisissures variant du jaune au noir à l’intérieur du grain, qui se développent dans la région centrale concave, commune au haricot rouge clair et au haricot rouge foncé.

Aspect des grains échauffés

Les petits haricots blancs échauffés ont un tégument de couleur terne allant de crème à acajou. La couleur devient plus intense dans la région du hile. En coupe transversale, la couleur des cotylédons varie de havane à brun foncé. Les cotylédons de couleur très pâle sont classés comme des grains endommagés plutôt que comme des grains échauffés. Dans le cas des haricots rouge clair et des haricots rouge foncé qui sont échauffés, le tégument est d’une couleur terne, variant de rouge foncé à noir. Il faut fendre les haricots pour déterminer le degré et l’intensité des dégâts causés par la chaleur.

Problèmes d’entreposage

Les dommages dus à la manutention mécanique des grains est un problème qui s’accentue lorsque la température et le taux d’humidité sont bas. Pour réduire les dommages, il faut utiliser, dans toute la mesure du possible, des transporteurs à courroie ou des chargeurs à benne frontale plutôt que des vis à grain. Il faut également éviter de laisser tomber les grains d’une hauteur excessive, en particulier sur un plancher de béton.

Pois (Pisum sativum var. arvense (L.) Poir.)

Risque relatif de dégâts associés à l’entreposage : faible

Normes de teneur en eau :

  • Grain sec : jusqu’à 16,0 %
  • Grain gourd : de 16,1 % à 18,0 %
  • Grain humide : plus de 18,0 %

Directives d’entreposage

Les pois doivent être récoltés lorsque les grains sont parvenus à maturité et qu’ils sont fermes à l’intérieur de la gousse. La récolte des cultivars à grain jaune commence lorsque les grains ont une teneur en eau de 16 %. Les cultivars à grain vert, eux, sont récoltés lorsqu’ils ont une teneur en eau de 18 % ou plus afin de préserver leur couleur, puis, s’ils sont destinés à l’entreposage, ils sont séchés jusqu’à ce qu’ils atteignent une teneur en eau de 16 % ou moins.

Directives de séchage

La température maximale de séchage est de 45 °C pour les grains destinés à servir de semences, de 70 °C pour ceux destinés à des utilisations commerciales et de 80 °C à 100 °C pour ceux destinés à l’alimentation des animaux. Une température au‑dessus de 45 °C nuit au pouvoir germinatif des pois, surtout les pois verts.

Facteurs de déclassement

Les pois sont classés Échantillon lorsqu’ils contiennent plus de 0,2 % de grains échauffés ou qu’ils ont une odeur d’échauffement ou de brûlé ou une nette odeur de moisi.

Aspect des grains échauffés

Les pois échauffés ont un tégument de couleur terne et des cotylédons d’une couleur anormale allant de havane pâle à brun foncé.

Problèmes d’entreposage

Pendant l’hiver, une croûte superficielle peut se former sur la couche supérieure des pois entreposés à une teneur en eau de 15 % à cause de la migration de l’humidité et de l’infiltration de la neige, surtout s’ils sont stockés à chaud et sans ventilation. Les grains ont tendance à s’agglutiner et, si on ne les remue pas, ils noircissent sous l’action des moisissures. Afin d’empêcher qu’ils ne s’agglutinent, il faut marcher périodiquement sur la couche supérieure de grains dans la cellule ou déplacer les premiers 30 cm de grains à l’aide d’une pelle.

Au printemps, avant de déplacer le premier chargement, il faut examiner la couche supérieure de grains. S’il y a une croûte noire, il faut l’enlever avec une pelle, sinon le premier chargement sera contaminé au moment du mélange. Ce genre de problème est particulièrement fréquent dans les cellules en acier qui sont trop remplies et aussi dans les bâtiments Quonset. Pour l’éviter, on utilise un chargeur à benne frontale pour diviser les grains et remuer les couches supérieures. Si des cellules à grains sont utilisées pour entreposer des pois, elles devront être renforcées, car, à cause de leur calibre et de leur forme, les pois exercent une plus grande pression latérale que le blé.

Soja (Glycine max (L.) Merrill)

Risque relatif de dégâts associés à l’entreposage : modéré

Normes de teneur en eau :

  • Grain sec : jusqu’à 14,0 %
  • Grain gourd : de 14,1 % à 16,0 %
  • Grain humide : de 16,1 % à 18,0 %
  • Grain mouillé : de 18,1 % à 20,0 %
  • Grain trempé : plus de 20,0 %

Dans le cas du soja, les teneurs en eau maximales permises pour les catégories (U.S.) 1, 2, 3 et 4 sont respectivement de 13, 14, 16 et 18 %.

Directives d’entreposage

Par temps sec, à l’automne, la teneur en eau du soja parvenu à maturité passe de 15 % au lever du jour à 10 % le midi. Le soja se réhydrate de nouveau la nuit suivante, et le cycle recommence le lendemain. On peut récolter le soja lorsque sa teneur en eau est faible, mais cela entraîne un accroissement des pertes au champ et des dommages importants causés par la machinerie. On peut réduire ces pertes en récoltant le soja quand il contient plus d’eau, avant que les gousses soient complètement mûres, puis en le séchant jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne une teneur en eau propice à l’entreposage.

Pour le soja destiné à des utilisations commerciales, une teneur en eau de 13 % et de 10 % convient pour des périodes de stockage allant respectivement jusqu’à un an et jusqu’à cinq ans. Ces pourcentages ne tiennent pas compte de facteurs comme l’accumulation de semences fines sous les goulottes. Pour une même température et une même teneur en eau, le soja s’entrepose moins bien que le maïs égrené; en effet, pour une humidité relative de 65 % et une température de 25 °C, la teneur en eau du soja au point d’équilibre est de 2 % de moins que pour le maïs égrené.

Tableau 7 – Teneur en eau mis à l'échelle pour stock à l'utilisations commerciales market et à servir de semence.
Teneur en eau (%) Stock destiné à des utilisations commerciales Stock destiné à servir de semence
10-11 4 ans 1 an
10-12,5 De 1 à 3 ans 6 mois
13-14 De 6 à 9 mois Douteux, germination à vérifier
14-15 6 mois Douteux, germination à vérifier

Des moisissures de conservation peuvent se développer lentement dans le soja entreposé à des teneurs en eau variant entre 12 et 12,5 %; la vitesse de développement augmente quand la teneur en eau dépasse ce niveau. Lorsque la teneur en eau varie entre 12,5  et 13 %, les moisissures n’entraîneront probablement pas une perte de l’aptitude technologique du soja dans l’année, même si la température favorise leur croissance; par contre, la germination pourrait en être gênée. Le développement de moisissures de conservation dans du soja dont les teneurs en eau vont jusqu’à 13 % peut toutefois présenter un danger : il peut s’intensifier de façon soudaine, inexpliquée et parfois incontrôlable et provoquer l’échauffement des fèves.

Dans le cas d’un ensilage prolongé, les fèves de soja qui sont légèrement ou moyennement envahies par des moisissures de conservation sont davantage menacées que les fèves saines et peuvent se détériorer plus rapidement. Une fois que les moisissures de conservation ont partiellement envahi les graines, elles peuvent continuer de croître et de causer des dégâts à des teneurs en eau et à des températures légèrement plus basses qu’elles ne le feraient dans du soja sain.

Directives de séchage

Les températures maximales pour sécher le soja sans l’endommager sont de 43 °C lorsqu’on le destine à servir de semence et de 49 °C lorsqu’on le destine à des utilisations commerciales.

Facteurs de déclassement

Le soja est déclassé lorsqu’il contient des fèves échauffées, moisies ou rances, ou qu’il dégage une odeur d’échauffement ou une nette odeur de moisi ou une odeur désagréable. Les fèves échauffées sont déclassées suivant des exigences de classement reconnues. Aux fins du classement, on tient compte des fèves moisies et rances en même temps que des fèves échauffées. Le soja qui renferme plus de 5 % de fèves échauffées ou qui dégage une nette odeur d’échauffement ou de moisi est classé Échantillon.

Aspect des fèves échauffées, moisies et rances Dans le soja échauffé, la couleur du tégument varie de l’olive au brun foncé et celle des cotylédons, sur des fèves coupées en deux, de l’ocre au brun foncé. Les fèves moisies sont ridées et déformées, ont une couleur qui varie de brun moyen à brun foncé et sont souvent couvertes d’une moisissure grise. Elles peuvent aussi avoir une texture spongieuse et une odeur désagréable. Les fèves rances présentent une coloration rose foncé.

Problèmes d’entreposage

La plupart des cas graves de perte de qualité du soja entreposé sont attribuables à un manque de connaissance des conditions exactes qui prévalent dans les différentes parties de la masse. Les responsables doivent connaître, à tout moment, les teneurs en eau et les températures des fèves au sein de la masse et les maintenir à de faibles niveaux afin d’éviter le développement de moisissures. L’état des stocks au début de l’entreposage influence grandement leur conservabilité future. Les problèmes d’entreposage sont aggravés par la mise en cellules de fèves déjà légèrement ou moyennement envahies par des moisissures de conservation, par la présence d’une quantité importante de fèves cassées ou fendues et par la présence de semences fines dans les goulottes. Les fèves cassées ou fendues ainsi que les semences fines (surtout des graines de mauvaises herbes) constituent des cibles de prédilection pour l’échauffement et la détérioration qui s’ensuit. Celle-ci commence généralement dans les goulottes parce que les graines de mauvaises herbes à teneur élevée en eau s’y accumulent, empêchant l’air de pénétrer durant la ventilation. Même si, au moment de la mise en cellules, le soja contient seulement de 2 à 5 % de semences fines, les goulottes peuvent en compter entre 50 et 80 %.

Le ressuage constitue aussi un sujet d’inquiétude. Il se produit quand on retire les fèves refroidies de la cellule et qu’on les expose à un air qui est chargé d’une humidité relative élevée et dont la température est de 8 à 10 °C supérieure à celle des fèves. Dans ces conditions, l’humidité de l’air se condense sur les fèves et, lorsqu’on les remet dans la cellule, l’effet cumulatif du ressuage peut causer de l’échauffement.

Le danger de combustion spontanée du soja est réel, puisque, contrairement aux températures d’échauffement des céréales qui ne dépassent pas habituellement 55 °C, les températures atteintes par le soja lors de l’échauffement peuvent dépasser 200 °C. À une telle température, le poids sec des graines endommagées par l’échauffement diminue de 30 % au moins.