Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Spoilage and heating of stored agricultural products



Chapter 2 - Self-heating

When a stored material increases in temperature by generating heat without drawing heat from its surroundings the action is called self-heating. The increase in temperature occurs in two phases. Phase one is known as biological heating, which normally occurs up to 55°C and exceptionally up to 75°C. Phase two is known as chemical heating, which occurs from above 75°C to at least 150°C. Biological heating is caused by the activity of plant cells, molds, bacteria, insects, and mites. Chemical heating is caused by oxidation. This chemical reaction may increase the temperature to the ignition point, depending on the commodity and storage conditions (Fig. 2). For information on the theory of thermal ignition see Beever and Thorne (1982). For information on evaluating and controlling the hazards of self-heated material see Bowes (1984).

Figure 2 - Schema showing progression of self-heating in stored products.

Figure 2 - Schema showing progression of self-heating in stored products.

Stored materials vary widely in their tendency to self-heat (Table 2). Cornmeal feeds and fish meal have a high tendency to self-heat, whereas shelled peanuts and various grains have a relatively low tendency to do so (National Fire Protection Association 1949). Generally, processed products have a higher tendency to self-heat than do whole grains. Spoilage and heating problems are discussed in Part II of the manual.

Table 2 - Stored materials and their tendency to self-heat*
Tendency to self-heat
High Moderate Low Very slight Possible
* National Fire Protection Association, 1949. See table 14 for comprehensive list of commodities.
Alfalfa meal Brewers' grains Cottonseed Grain (various) Burlap bags
Cornmeal feeds Cocoa bean shells   Hides Sawdust
Fish meal Feeds (various)   Jute  
Fish scrap Hay   Linseed  
Tung nut meals Manure   Peanuts (shelled)  
  Wool wastes   Powdered eggs  
      Powdered milk  
      Sisal  

Chemical heating

When the biological heating exceeds 75°C, a purely chemical process may occur and raise the temperature of the material to ignition. This chemical process, known as oxidation, releases heat. The oxygen required for oxidation can be available either as free oxygen in the air or as liberated oxygen in chemical reactions. Chemical oxidation proceeds at a more rapid rate if preceded by biological heating.

Self-ignition

The self-heating of a stored commodity to its ignition temperature is called self-ignition. The terms spontaneous ignition and spontaneous combustion are also used but the term self-ignition is preferred. Self-ignition may be affected by a variety of chemical and physical factors (American Insurance Association 1983; Bowen 1982).

The following general conditions affect self-ignition:

  • The rate at which heat is generated by the fuel material.
  • The oxygen supply available.
  • The rate of heat loss to surroundings.

A number of vegetable and animal oils and fats undergo sufficient oxidation at normal temperatures in air to self-ignite. Examples are linseed, soybean, and fish oils. The reaction is promoted by exposure of a relatively large surface area of the material to the oxygen in the air as occurs when a fibrous material such as a cloth or bag is impregnated with the oil or fat. Enough air must be available to permit oxidation but not to dissipate the heat.

Some vegetable products are susceptible to self-ignition due to their inherent oxidizable oil content (examples are corn meal and rice bran), whereas others such as hemp, jute, and sisal appear to self-ignite only if impregnated with an oxidizable oil, even though they may heat when wet with water.

Moisture content is a factor in self-ignition. Although small amounts of moisture may increase the rates of oxidation and heat generation in many materials, moisture may also reduce the likelihood of ignition by promoting dissipation of the generated heat. However, high moisture content may contribute to the biological heating (American Insurance Association 1983).

Biological spoilage and heating

Enzymes

Enzymes are specialized proteins of living matter that catalyze, or speed up, chemical reactions. During the processes of growth and maturation, plant material in the field goes through a number of chemical reactions that are catalyzed by enzymes. Freshly harvested seeds entering the bin are often immature and may have increased enzymatic activity, resulting in high respiration rates and in heat production. High seed moistures and green weed seeds and debris also favor increased enzymatic activity. During this early storage period, carefully monitor the stored commodity.

Molds

Products in storage provide food and an environment for many organisms and microorganisms, including molds (fungi). Of these, the spoilage molds, certain storage or post-harvest molds (Christensen and Kaufmann 1969), are the most important cause of deterioration of grain and its products.

Spoilage molds exist as spores in soil, on decaying debris, in harvesting equipment, and within storage structures and are gathered by the combine harvester and distributed among the grains. The various types of spoilage fungi each require a different relative humidity level and temperature for their growth and development. Some species, like Aspergillus amstelodami (a yellow-green mold sometimes found growing on the top of homemade jams), grow at low humidities, affect seed germination, and produce water during their growth, which enable more damaging molds to grow. Such molds include Aspergillus candidus (colonies are white) and Penicillium species (green or blue green), both of which impair seed germination and are frequently associated with hot spots in bins of grain. Hot spots are areas within a bulk commodity that have a higher temperature than the surrounding material.

The development of an artificially induced hot spot was studied in wheat bulks by Sinha and Wallace (1965). Heating was initiated by Penicillium species growing in a grain pocket at -5°C to +8°C and with 18.5 to 21.8% moisture. The hot spot reached a maximum of 64°C and cooled in 2 weeks.

Preharvest molds, originating from the growing plant, also occur on grains in storage. Some preharvest molds may produce harmful toxins on developing grains in the field. For information on pre-harvest and post-harvest molds see Christensen and Sauer (1982).

Bacteria

Although bacteria outnumber molds on grain surfaces and in flour, they are not usually important during storage of these commodities in Canada. This is because during most years crops are harvested and binned dry, and species of bacteria require a high relative humidity (90-95%) for their growth. Numbers of bacteria decrease during storage when the moisture content is too low for growth. Their numbers are also decreased during artificial drying of grain. When the moisture content is adequate, their growth contributes to self-heating and to production of sour and putrid odors (Semeniuk 1954). A general account of the bacteria associated with stored grain is given by Wallace (1973).

Insects

More than 60 species of insects can occur in stored grain and grain products in Canada (Sinha and Watters 1985). Insect metabolic activity within dry grain bulks containing 15% M.C. or less can result in heating up to 42°C (Cotton and Wilbur 1982). Insect-induced hot spots occur most frequently in southern Alberta, where grain is often binned at an ambient temperature of 30°C. Ambient temperature is the temperature of the surrounding medium, in this case, the atmosphere. A further consequence of this localized insect metabolic activity is an increase in product moisture content above15% in the vicinity of the hot spot, permitting spoilage molds to grow and sometimes producing temperatures up to 62°C.

Several of the insects infesting farm-stored grain are destructive. These include rusty grain beetles, red flour beetles, squarenosed fungus beetles, sawtoothed grain beetles, granary weevils, hairy spider beetles, and meal moths (Loschiavo 1984).

Some of the insects that occur in stored products in the Prairie Provinces survive freezing temperatures (the rusty grain beetle survives -5 to -10°C for long periods), but they cannot reproduce below 17°C. Where grain temperatures remain above 17°C for long periods, as occurs in the centre of unaerated grain bulks, insects can do extensive damage. The effect of insect damage is worsened in high moisture grains.

Mites

Mites are fragile creatures and are difficult to see. Their presence gives a strong minty odor to grain, which, when heavily infested, becomes unpalatable as animal feed. About eight kinds of mites are common in stored grain in Canada, all of which can withstand low temperatures. Mites feed on broken grain, weed seeds, and molds present on the grain and thrive in moist grain. They spread mold spores on and in their bodies, and through their metabolic activity can, like insects, encourage development of spoilage molds (Sinha and Wallace 1973).

Advanced biological heating

Mold-induced heating of stored grains, pellets, feeds, and hay attains temperatures of 55°C and remains at this level for weeks. The heating then either gradually subsides or passes into the next stage where thermophilic molds take over. These sometimes carry the temperature to 60°C and may be succeeded by thermophilic bacteria and actinomycetes that carry it up to 75°C, the maximum temperature attained by microbiological activity (Christensen and Sauer 1982).

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La détérioration et l’échauffement des produits agricoles entreposés



Chapitre 2 – Échauffement spontané

Quand un matériau augmente sa température en générant de la chaleur sans en retirer de l’environnement, c’est ce qu’on appelle de l’échauffement spontané, ou auto-échauffement, ou plus simplement, échauffement. L’augmentation de température se produit en deux phases; la première, qui va jusqu’à environ 55°C, mais quelquefois jusqu’à 75°C, est de nature biologique, tandis que la deuxième commence à 75°C et peut monter jusqu’à au moins 150°C est de nature chimique. L’échauffement biologique est provoqué par l’activité des cellules hôtes, des moisissures, des bactéries, des insectes et des acariens. La chaleur chimique est causée par l’oxydation. Quant à la réaction chimique, elle peut porter la température jusqu’au point d’inflammation, selon la nature de la denrée et les conditions d’entreposage (fig. 2). Pour plus de renseignements sur l’évaluation des risques concernant les matériaux sujets à l’auto-échauffement voir les travaux de Beever et Thorne (1982). Sur la théorie de l’inflammation thermique, voir les travaux de Bowes (1984).

Schéma montrant la progression de l’auto-échauffement dans les produits entreposés

Figure 2. Schéma montrant la progression de l’auto-échauffement dans les produits entreposés.

Les matériaux entreposés varient extrêmement dans leur tendance à l’auto-échauffement (tableau 2). Cette tendance est forte pour les aliments à base de farine de maïs et pour la farine de poisson, tandis qu’elle est relativement faible pour un certain nombre de grains et les arachides écalées (National Fire Protection Association, 1949). D’une façon générale, les produits traités ont une plus forte tendance à s’échauffer que les grains entiers. Le risque de détérioration et l’auto-échauffement est décrit à la Partie 2 du manuel.

Tableau 2 - Matières entreposées et leurs tendances à l’auto-échauffement*
Tendance à l’échauffement
Élevée Modérée Faible Très faible Possible
* National Fire Protection Association, 1949. Voir la liste détaillée des denrées au tableau 14.
Farine de luzerne Grains de brasserie Graines de coton Grain (various) Sacs de toile
Farine de maïs pour bétail Coques de graines de cacao   Cuirs Sciures de bois
Farine de poisson Nourriture pour bétail (variée)   Jutes  
Déchets de poisson Foin   Graines de lin  
Farine d’abrasin Engrais   Arachides décortiquées  
  Déchets de laine   eufs en poudre  
      Lait en poudre  
      Sisal  

Échauffement chimique

Quand la chaleur biologique excède 75°C, un processus purement chimique peut se développer; la température des matériaux peut alors s’élever jusqu’au point d’inflammation. Ce processus est une oxydation chimique qui libère de la chaleur. L’oxygène qui est nécessaire à cette oxydation peut se trouver sous forme libre dans l’air ou peut être libéré dans des réactions chimiques. Après l’échauffement microbien, l’oxydation chimique continue à un rythme encore plus rapide en raison du pré-échauffement biologique.

Auto-inflammation

L’auto-échauffement d’une denrée entreposée, qui porte cette dernière à température d’inflammation, s’appelle inflammation spontanée ou auto-inflammation. On emploie quelquefois l’expression combustion spontanée, mais cette expression n’est pas recommandée. L’auto-inflammation dépend de divers facteurs chimiques et physiques (American Insurance Association, 1983; Bowen, 1982).

Trois conditions générales jouent un rôle dans l’auto-inflammation :

  • la quantité de chaleur générée par la matière combustible.
  • la quantité d’oxygène disponible.
  • la quantité de chaleur qui s’échappe vers l’extérieur.

Un certain nombre d’huiles et de graisses végétales subissent au contact de l’air à température normale une oxydation suffisante pour s’enflammer spontanément : par exemple, l’huile de lin, l’huile de soja et l’huile de poisson. Cette réaction est favorisée lorsqu’une surface relativement étendue du produit se trouve exposée à l’oxygène de l’air, lorsqu’un produit de nature fibreuse, comme un vêtement ou un sac, se trouve imprégné d’huile ou de graisse. Il faut que l’air soit en quantité suffisante pour permettre l’oxydation, mais pas pour dissiper la chaleur.

Certains produits végétaux sont susceptibles de s’enflammer spontanément, en raison de leur contenu en huile oxydable (par exemple la farine de maïs et le son de riz); par contre, d’autres produits comme le chanvre, le jute et le sisal ne semblent s’enflammer spontanément que lorsqu’ils sont imprégnés d’une huile oxydable, bien qu’ils risque également de s’enflammer lorsqu’ils sont imprégnés d’eau.

La teneur en eau est un facteur qui intervient dans l’auto-inflammation. Une faible teneur en eau peut augmenter les risques d’oxydation et de génération de chaleur dans de nombreux matériaux, tandis que cette teneur en eau peut également réduire le risque d’inflammation en contribuant à dissiper la chaleur générée. Toutefois, une forte teneur en eau peut également contribuer à l’échauffement biologique (American Insurance Association, 1983).

Détérioration et échauffement biologiques

Enzymes

Les enzymes sont des protéines spécialisées de la matière vivante qui catalysent ou accélèrent les réactions chimiques. Au cours des processus de la croissance et de la maturation dans les champs, les produits végétaux sont soumis à de nombreuses réactions chimiques qui sont catalysées par les enzymes. Si on ensile des graines fraîchement récoltées mais pas encore mûres, ces graines peuvent présenter une forte activité enzymatique entraînant une respiration importante et produisant de la chaleur. Des graines mêlées à des mauvaises herbes et des débris et ayant une forte teneur en eau peuvent également avoir une forte activité enzymatique. Au cours de cette première période d’entreposage, il est essentiel de surveiller attentivement les denrées.

Moisissures

Les produits entreposés fournissent à la fois une alimentation et un environnement favorables à de nombreux organismes et micro-organismes y compris les moisissures (champignons). Parmi celles-ci, certaines moisissures d’entreposage ou d’après-récolte (Christensen et Kaufmann, 1969) représentent la cause la plus importante de détérioration des grains et de leurs sous-produits.

Les moisissures d’entreposage existent sous forme de spores dans le sol et les débris en cours de décomposition, sur le matériel qui sert à la récolte et à l`intérieur des structures d’entreposage. Elles sont ramassées par les moissonneuses-batteuses et dispersées parmi les grains. Les diverses variétés de champignons nuisibles ont besoin, pour leur croissance et leur développement, d’un degré différent d’humidité relative et de température. Certaines espèces comme l’Aspergillus amstelodami (moisissure de couleur jaune vert que l’on trouve souvent sur les pots de confiture faites à la maison) poussent dans des conditions de faible humidité; elles peuvent influencer la germination des graines et produire de l’eau pendant leur croissance, ce qui favorise également la croissance d’autres moisissures nuisibles. Parmi celles-ci: l’Aspergillus candidus (dont les colonies sont blanches) et les espèces de Penicillium (vertes ou bleu-vert) qui gênent la germination des graines et sont fréquemment associées à des points chauds dans les silos de grains. Les points chauds sont des zones à l’intérieur d’une masse de grains en vrac, qui sont à une température plus élevée que celle des grains environnants.

Le développement de points chauds provoqués artificiellement a été étudié dans du blé en vrac par Sinha et Wallace (1965).

L’échauffement avait été provoqué par une espèce de Penicillium se développant dans une poche de grain entre -5 et +8°C, avec un taux d’humidité compris entre 18,5 et 21,8 %. Le point chaud avait atteint un maximum de 64°C et s’était refroidi en 2 semaines.

Les moisissures d’avant-récolte qui poussent sur des plantes en croissance peuvent se développer sur les grains entreposés. Certaines peuvent produire des toxines dangereuses sur des grains en croissance dans les champs. Pour plus de détails sur les moisissures nuisibles d’avant-récolte et d’après-récolte, voir les travaux de Christensen et Sauer (1982).

Bactéries

Bien que les bactéries soient plus nombreuses que les moisissures à la surface du grain et dans la farine, en général, elles ne jouent pas un rôle important pendant l’entreposage de ces denrées au Canada, parce que, le plus souvent, les récoltes sont sèches au moment où on les moissonne et/ou on les ensile, et que ces espèces bactériennes ont besoin pour leur croissance d’une humidité élevée (de 90 à 95 %). Lorsque la teneur en eau est trop faible pour leur développement, les bactéries diminuent en nombre pendant l’entreposage. Leur nombre diminue également en cours de séchage artificiel du grain. Mais quand la teneur en eau est suffisante, leur croissance contribue à l’échauffement et à leur production d’odeurs aigres et putrides (Semeniuk, 1954). On peut trouver une revue complète des bactéries associées à l’entreposage des grains dans Wallace (1973).

Insectes

Plus de 60 espèces d’insectes peuvent se trouver dans les grains et les produits dérivés entreposés au Canada (Sinha et Watters, 1985). Dans des chargements de grains secs à 15 % ou moins de teneur en eau, l’activité métabolique des insectes peut amener les points à une température de 42°C (Cotton et Wilbur, 1982). Les points chauds provoqués par les insectes se retrouvent le plus fréquemment dans le sud de l’Alberta (Canada), là où le grain est souvent ensilé à une température ambiante de 30°C. La température ambiante est la température de l’atmosphère environnante. Une autre conséquence de cette activité métabolique localisée des insectes est une augmentation de la teneur en eau du produit, qui dépasse 15 % à proximité du point chaud, ce qui permet aux moisissures nuisibles de se développer et d’entraîner des températures allant jusqu’à 62°C.

Plusieurs des insectes qui infestent le grain entreposé dans les fermes sont destructifs : cucujides roux, tribolium de la farine, microgramme silum, cucujide dentelé des grains, calandre des grains, ptine velue et pyrale de la farine (Loschiavo, 1984).

Dans les provinces des Pairies, un grand nombre des insectes qui infestent les produits entreposés sont capables de survive à des températures inférieures à 0°C (de -5 à -10°C pour le cucujide roux) mais ne peuvent se reproduire en dessous de 17°C. Cependant lorsque la température du grain demeure au-dessus de 17°C pendant des périodes prolongées, ainsi qu’il se produit au centre de chargement de grains non aérés, les insectes peuvent provoquer des dommages étendus qui peuvent encore s’aggraver dans des grains à haute teneur en eau.

Acariens

Les acariens sont des animalcules fragiles, difficiles à voir. Leur présence donne au grain une odeur fortement menthée qui peut même, en cas d’infestation prononcée, rendre le produit inacceptable pour les animaux. Environ huit sortes d’acariens se retrouvent couramment dans le grain entreposé au Canada et ils sont tous capables de résister à des températures hivernales rigoureuses. Les acariens se nourrissent de grains brisés, de graines de mauvaises herbes et des moisissures présentes dans le grain, et ils prospèrent dans le grain humide. Les acariens disséminent des spores de moisissures à la surface et à l’intérieur de leurs corps, et par l’intermédiaire de leur activité métabolique. Comme les insectes, ils favorisent le développement des moisissures nuisibles (Sinha et Wallace, 1973).

Échauffement biologique extrême

L’échauffement provoqué par les moisissures dans le grain, les granulés, les aliments pour le bétail et le foin entreposés peut atteindre une température de 55°C et rester à ce niveau pendant des semaines. Puis, cet échauffement peut disparaître progressivement ou passer au stade suivant où entrent en action les moisissures thermophiles. Celles-ci peuvent porter la température à 60°C et être remplacées par des bactéries et des actinomycètes thermophiles qui l’amènent à 75°C, la température maximale atteinte par l’activité microbiologique (Christensen et Sauer, 1982).