Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Spoilage and heating of stored agricultural products



Chapter 3 – Effects of molds

Growth and development of spoilage molds affect products in storage by causing adverse quality changes, aggregation of product, heat-damage, and production of toxins and allergens. Table 3 summarizes the effects and consequences of mold activities on stored products.

Table 3 - Effects and consequences of mold activities on stored products
Effects Consequences
1. Adverse quality changes
  • dull appearance
  • musty odors
  • visible molds
  • reduced germination
  • germ damage, discoloration
  • increased free fatty acids
  • possible degrading
  • rejection for seed purposes
  • degrading
  • rejection for processing
2. Aggregation of product
  • clogging of pipes, augers
  • sticking to bin walls
  • bridging of bin contents
  • aggregation and/or fusion of bin contents
  • interruption of operations
  • uneven pressure effects, partial bin collapse
  • dangerous air space
  • cleaning out costs, unusable facilities
3. Heating of product
  • bin-burning
  • damage to product and premises
  • possible degrading, rejection, extra costs
  • could lead to fire-burning, explosions
4. Contamination of product by harmful substances
  • mycotoxins





  • respiratory/allergenic effects
  • livestock poisoning, feed refusal
  • rejection of shipments
  • loss of markets
  • chronic human health problems
  • breathing problems in animals and humans
  • employment of other grain handlers may be required

Adverse quality changes

Growth of spoilage molds on the surface of seeds often results in a dull rather than a bright appearance as in normal seeds. Dull appearance is sometimes considered a degrading factor. The presence of spoilage fungi on seeds is also often associated with musty odors, which are a degrading factor (Canadian Grain Commission 2002; United States Department of Agriculture 1972).

Other important effects of spoilage fungi on seeds include reduction in germinability and discoloration of whole seeds or portions of them, including the germ. Under the right moisture conditions, spoilage fungi invade the germs with no visible signs of molding, weaken the seeds, and eventually cause seed death. Some strains of the spoilage molds Aspergillus restrictus, A. candidus, and A. flavus can cause severe damage and kill the germs quickly. As fungal invasion of the germs of seeds continues, the tissues of the germ become brown and then black (Christensen and Sauer 1982). Discoloration caused by fungi results in lower grades both in the USA (United States Department of Agriculture 1972) and in Canada (Canadian Grain Commission 2002).

Aggregation of grains

Mold activity in binned seed products can result in clumping and aggregation of grains in localized areas, formation of bridges of material across the top or within the bin contents, or adherence of material to bin walls (hang-ups), as illustrated in Fig. 3.

Types of hang-up and bridging problems caused by aggregation of materials in silos.

Figure 3 - Types of hang-up and bridging problems caused by aggregation of materials in silos (after Northern Vibrator Manufacturing Co., Georgetown, ON).

Clumping

Clumps of white grain within a bulk result from the mycelia, or hairlike filaments of spoilage molds, on, in, and among the seeds, thus binding them together. Burrell et al. (1980), studying moist rapeseed, observed that each clump was formed by mycelia radiating from a nucleus consisting of a foreign body or a badly damaged seed. Clumps generally develop when some localized areas of the bin contents are of higher moisture content, permitting mold development. Large clumps may block the free passage of seeds through augers and pipes and can result in interruption of plant operations. Clumps are the basic cause of a nonfree-flowing condition that can lead to off-centre flow in the bin-emptying process. Off-centre flow places the bin structure at risk. Sometimes mold growth results in large columns of aggregated material that may be found, for instance, below pipe line openings (Meronuck 1984), or even in fusion of entire bin contents. Such problems result in temporarily unusable facilities or extra chipping-out costs.

Upper bridging

A crust, usually several centimetres thick, consisting of rotted kernels, mold tissue occupying the space between kernels, and sprouted grain, sometimes develops at the top of grain bulks when they are undisturbed for several months. This development is known as upper bridging and is caused by uneven bin temperatures and uneven moisture levels resulting from convection currents within the bin (University of Kentucky 1984).

Upper bridging at the top of grain bulks causes a severe hazard to persons handling stored grains, since air spaces are created beneath the crust in partially unloaded bins. Workers may accidentally break through the surface and become trapped during unloading operations. Even if the bin is not being unloaded, workers may fall into a large void left from previous unloading operations and either suffocate or be forced to breathe toxic gases and microbial spores until they are rescued (see Chapter 7 Safety).

Upper bridging may also occur in sealed silos when conditions are favorable for microbial growth (Nichols and Leaver 1966). The surface grain mats together and adheres to the silo sides, resulting in an empty cone over the extraction auger. Lumps of matted grain may break off, fall into the empty cone, and be extracted with the clean material. As matting increases, extraction may become jerky and eventually, if the grain bridges across the silo, the flow ceases and the silo has to be opened.

Middle bridging

Numerous examples of middle bridging within grain bulks, consisting of matted, germinated, and molded seeds and mold mycelia, were observed in 1979 when the flood waters of the Red River entered grain bins near Winnipeg, Man. After the waters had subsided the contents were examined. It was found that bridges had developed just above the uppermost water level. Most grains above the bridges were salvageable if the farmer could move them before the putrefactive odors from the wet grain beneath the bridges permeated into the grain above (Mills and Abramson 1981).

Hang-ups

Moist bin contents sometimes adhere to the walls and gradually a collar of material with a central hole (rat hole, or donut hang-up) is built up across the bin. When viewed from above, the hang-up appears to be ring-shaped with the stored material flowing downward through the central hole. Frequently, managers of grains and grain products are unaware of the existence of hang-ups within bins, which only become evident when self-heating or insect infestations occur, or when the bin is emptied.

Bridge formation, adherence of material to bin walls, and clogging of some entry points in augers can result in uneven pressure effects and sometimes severe damage to bins. Walls may buckle under the uneven pressures caused by the flow of stored material in bins. Most bins are designed for centre emptying. Off-centre emptying causes uneven and, it is believed, increased loads (at least close to the wall channel). Hang-ups can cause wall buckling or denting (Jenike 1967). The subject of bin collapse due to pressure effects is described by Ravenet (1978). Bridged or adherent material in place for many months can also provide a harborage and breeding ground for insects, which move out from the bridge to infest good grain or processed materials.

Heat damage

Spoilage fungi including Aspergillus species such as A. candidus (white or cream) and A. flavus (yellow green) can, through their respiration, raise the temperature of stored products up to 55°C. Development of these molds frequently occurs in pockets of increased moisture within bulks. The pockets result from moisture migration, high-moisture weed seeds, plant debris, heavy rains, or melted snow.

The elevated temperatures result in internal browning or blackening of seeds, reduced seed quality, and lower or no germination. The effects of heat damage become progressively worse if the initial mold heating is succeeded by chemical heating. The presence of heated brown or black seeds and/or a burnt odor in a sample of grain lowers the grade in the USA and in Canada. The presence of only 2% heated, internally brown seeds in a sample of canola/rapeseed in Canada lowers the grade from No.1 Canada to No.3 Canada, with accompanying monetary loss. If more than 2% heated seeds are present in the sample, the seed is further degraded to Canola or Rapeseed Sample Account Heated (Canadian Grain Commission 2002). Similar fixed levels of permissible heated seeds exist for other crops. Seed lots with elevated levels of heated seeds cause problems for the processor, as oil from heat-damaged oilseeds requires extra decolorizing procedures during processing and this leads to extra costs.

Heat-damaged externally blackened kernels are classified as either bin-burnt or fire-burnt, depending on the severity of the heating. Fire-burnt beans are often shiny black on the outside, with large internal cavities, whereas bin-burnt beans, although often black on the outside, are brown to dark brown in cross sections, with no large, internal cavities. Furthermore, the fire-burnt beans are often fused together (Christensen and Kaufmann 1977). The same phenomena have been observed in our Winnipeg laboratory with bin-burnt and fire-burnt canola/rapeseed, wheat, and malting barley. Ultrastructure and mineral distribution in sound and heat-damaged canola/rapeseed have been studied by Mills and Chong (1977).

Heat-damage may also result from improper artificial drying. Seeds damaged by excessive heat in drying have reduced viability, are darker, and may have blistered pericarps, or seed coats. If heat-damage is extreme the seeds may explode or partially pop (Freeman 1980).

Toxins

Under suitable conditions of moisture and temperature, spoilage molds produce poisonous substances, called mycotoxins, on stored grains and processed feeds. When mycotoxin-contaminated grains are eaten by susceptible animals, disease conditions called mycotoxicoses can result. The effects of mycotoxins on animals vary, depending on the species and age of the animal, and the type and amount of toxin present in the feed. Disease effects include lack of weight gain, formation of tumors, loss in productivity, fetal abnormalities, and sudden death. In western Canada, ochratoxin A, produced by the spoilage mold Penicillium verrucosum var. cyclopium, and sterigmatocystin, produced by Aspergillus versicolor, have been found in damp or accidentally wetted stored grains associated with livestock health problems (Abramson et al. 1983). In the USA, aflatoxins, produced by Aspergillus flavus, sometimes occur in poultry feeds (Hamilton 1985). Aflatoxins have also been reported in grain dust, posing health problems for workers handling aflatoxin-contaminated corn in Georgia, USA (Burg et al. 1982). Recently, aflatoxin was shown to occur in fragments of fungal mycelium and other mycotoxins in the fungal spores, in grain dust (Palmgren and Lee 1986). For an overview of the worldwide risks from mycotoxins see Mannon and Johnson (1985). For a summary of available information on mycotoxins as they affect human and farm animal populations in Canada see Scott et al. (1985).

It is possible that other toxic substances including carcinogens are produced when grain and grain products become heated and/or burnt. If they are produced, such toxic substances and their effects on animals when heat-damaged products are incorporated into animal feeds require investigation.

Allergens

Spoilage fungi present in and on stored grains cause allergic health problems in both humans and animals. Two types of fungus-related health problems have been described in humans: bronchial asthma and farmer’s lung. Such health problems are caused by allergic reactions in the respiratory tract stimulated by allergens, primarily from fungal spores. In 1968, over 70% of the grain in the province of Saskatchewan in western Canada was harvested or initially stored in a tough or damp condition because of unusual harvest conditions. Subsequently, 20 out of 3200 farmers and elevator managers who had worked with the damp, heated, or spoiled grain developed acute farmer’s lung syndrome (Dennis 1973). For a review on the nature of grain dust, work exposure to the dust, and related health disorders see Manfreda and Warren (1984).

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La détérioration et l’échauffement des produits agricoles entreposés



Chapitre 3 – Les effets des moisissures

La croissance et le développement des moisissures nuisibles entraînent une détérioration des produits entreposés en provoquant une altération de leur qualité, des agglomérats de produits, des dommages causés par la chaleur ainsi que la production de toxines et d’allergènes. Le tableau 3 donne un résumé des effets principaux et des conséquences de l’activité des moisissures sur les produits entreposés.

Tableau 3 – Effets et conséquences des moisissures sur les produits entreposés
Effets Conséquences
1. Baisse de qualité
  • aspect terne
  • odeur de moisi
  • moisissures visibles
  • réduction de la faculté de germination
  • grain abîmé, décoloration
  • augmentation des acides gras libres
  • déclassement possible
  • rejet de la catégorie semence
  • déclassement
  • rejet de l’industrie alimentaire
2. Agglomération du produit
  • encrassement des tuyaux, des augets
  • adhérence des produits aux parois du silos
  • formation de ponts dans le silo
  • agglomération, fusion du contenu du silo
  • interruption des opérations
  • inégalités de pression; effondrement partiel de la cellule
  • espace d’air dangereux
  • frais de nettoyage, installations inutilisables
3. Échauffement du produit
  • produit brûlé en cours d’entreposage
  • produit et installation endommagés
  • déclassement possible, rejet coûts supplémentaire
  • possibilité d’incendie, d’explosions
4. Contamination du produit par des substances dangereuses
  • mycotoxines





  • problèmes respiration, allergiques
  • empoisonnement du bétail, rejet des expéditions
  • pertes de marché
  • problèmes de santé chroniques chez l’homme
  • problèmes de respiration chez l’homme et l’animal
  • breathing problems in animals and humans
  • possibilité de devoir recruter du nouveau personnel pour manutentionner les grains

Altération de la qualité

À la surface des grains, la croissance des moisissures nuisibles crée une apparence terne au lieu de l’apparence brillante observée chez les grains normaux. Cette apparence terne est quelquefois considérée comme un facteur de moindre qualité. La présence de champignons nuisibles sur les grains est également souvent associée à des odeurs de moisi qui affectent la qualité du produit (Commission des grains du Canada, 1987); United States Department of Agriculture, 1972).

Les champignons nuisibles réduisent également le pourvoir de germination des grains et changent leur coloration en totalité ou en partie seulement, y compris le germe. Dans des conditions d’humidité convenable, les champignons nuisibles envahissent les germes, sans laisser de traces visibles de moisissures, et ils affaiblissent les grains au point de les faire mourir. Certaines espèces comme l’Aspergillus restrictus, l’A. flavus peuvent provoquer de graves dommages et faire mourir rapidement les germes. À mesure que se poursuit l’invasion fongique des germes des grains, leurs tissus deviennent bruns, puis noirs (Christensen et Sauer, 1982). Les changements de couleur provoqués par les champignons entraînent la classification des grains dans des catégories inférieures aux États-Unit (United States Department of Agriculture, 1972) et au Canada (Commission canadienne des grains, 1987).

Agglomération des grains

L’activité des moisissures en cours d’entreposage des grains et des produits dérivés peut entraîner la formation de blocs et l’agglomération des grains dans des endroits particuliers, la formation de ponts à la partie supérieure ou intermédiaire des silos ou la formation d’adhérences aux parois du silo, comme le montre la figure 3.

Types de problèmes: formation d’adhérences et de ponts provoqués par l’agglomération des matières dans les silos

Figure 3 – Types de problèmes: formation d’adhérences et de ponts provoqués par l’agglomération des matières dans les silos (d’après Northern Vibrator Manufacturing Co., Georgetown, Ont).

Formation de blocs

La formation de blocs de grains à l’intérieur d’un changement résulte de la prolifération de filaments (ou mycélium) de moisissures sur, dans et parmi les grains, qui les relient ensemble. Burrell et coll. (1980), qui ont étudié les moisissures du colza, ont observé que chaque bloc était formé d’un mycélium rayonnant à partir d’un nucleus, soit un corps étranger soit un grain très endommagé. Les blocs se forment généralement quand certains endroits particuliers du changement sont très humides, ce qui favorise le développement des moisissures. Des blocs de grande dimension peuvent empêcher les grains de passer librement à travers les augets et les tuyauteries, ce qui peut provoquer une interruption des opérations. De tels blocs peuvent perturber l’écoulement du produit lorsqu’on vide le silo. Un écoulement excentré du chargement peut présenter un risque pour la structure du silo. Parfois, la croissance des moisissures entraîne la formation d’importantes colonnes de matières agglomérées, par exemple à la partie inférieure des conduites (Meronuck, 1984), ou même la fusion du contenu entier d’un silo. De tels problèmes peuvent rendre inutilisables les installations pour un certain temps et entraîner des frais supplémentaires de dégagement.

Formation de ponts à la partie supérieure

Si on laisse reposer des chargement de grains pendant des mois, il peut se développer à la partie supérieure une croûte de plusieurs centimètres d’épaisseur formée de grains pourris, de textures de moisissures qui se logent entre les grains et de grains germés. La formation de ces croûtes est provoquée par des variations de température et d’humidité qui se produisent à l’intérieur du silo lorsqu’il se produit des courants de convection (Université du Kentucky 1984).

Les ponts de grains qui se forment au sommet des chargements représentent un grave danger pour les personnes qui travaillent à la manutention, car il y a des espaces vides sous la croûte dans les silos partiellement déchargés. En cours de déchargement, un travailleur risque de passer à travers la surface du pont, et de tomber dans un véritable piège. Et même lorsqu’on ne décharge pas le silo, quelqu’un peut tomber dans un large espace vide qui se serait formé lors d’une précédente opération de déchargement. Ce travailleur risque alors, soit de suffoquer dans le grain, soit d’être forcé de respirer des gaz toxiques et des spores microbiennes, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit rescapé (voir chapitre 7: Sécurité).

La formation de ponts peut également se produire dans des silos fermés lorsque les conditions sont favorables à la croissance microbienne (Nichols et Lever, 1966). À la surface, les grains se collent ensemble et adhèrent aux parois du silo, entraînant la formation d’un cône au-dessus de l’auget d’extraction. Des blocs de grains agglomérés peuvent se détacher, tomber dans le cône vide, et se mélanger avec le produit propre en cours d’extraction. Des blocs peuvent également se multiplier et rendre l’extraction saccadée. Si le grain forme un pont à travers le silo, l’écoulement risque même de cesser et le silo doit être ouvert.

Formation de ponts à la partie intermédiaire

En 1979, lorsque la Red River a inondé des silos à proximité de Winnipeg, on a observé la formation de plusieurs ponts à l’intérieur des changements de grains, formés de grains germés, moisis et agglomérés et de mycélium de moisissures. Après le retrait des eaux, le contenu des silos a été examiné. On a constaté alors que les ponts s’étaient formés juste au-dessus du niveau le plus élevé que les eaux avaient atteint. Au-dessus des ponts, la plupart des grains pouvaient être sauvés si le fermier réussissait à les retirer avant que les odeurs de putréfaction, provenant du grain mouillé sous le pont, ne parviennent à la hauteur du grain situé au-dessus (Mills et Abramson, 1981).

Adhérences

Dans les silos, le grain mouillé peut adhérer aux parois et former avec le temps, de part en part de la cellule, une couronne circulaire avec un trou au centre (trou de rat ou adhérence en forme de beigne). Vu d’en haut, ces adhérences ont souvent la forme d’un beigne et on peut voir les grains qui descendent par le trou central. Il arrive fréquemment que les responsables des silos ignorent l’existence d’adhérences à l’intérieur du silo jusqu’à ce qu’un échauffement spontané ou une infestation par des insectes se produise, ou bien encore ils s’en aperçoivent lorsque le silo est totalement vidé.

La formation de ponts d’adhérences de matières aux parois et le colmatage de certains points d’entrée dans les augets peuvent entraîner des inégalités de pression et souvent même des dommages sérieux au silo. Les parois peuvent se déformer et s’effondrer à cause de ces inégalités qui se développent au cours de l’écoulement des grains à l’intérieur du silo. La plupart des silos sont bâtis de façon à être vidés par le centre. Un vidage excentré entraîne des charges inégales et (croit-on) augmentées, au moins, près du canal de la paroi. Des adhérences de grains peuvent entraîner des gauchissements ou des bosselures (Jenike, 1967). Ravent (1978) décrit le phénomène de l’effondrement des silos causé par des pressions internes. Ces ponts au adhérences peuvent rester en place pendant des mois et fournir un abri favorable aux insectes nuisibles, qui peuvent se disséminer à partir du pont pour infester le reste du grain ou des produits traités.

Dommages provoqués par la chaleur

La respiration des champignons nuisibles, comme les espèces Aspergillus (A. candidus de couleur blanche ou crème et A. flavus de couleur jaune verdâtre) peut augmenter la température des produits entreposés et la porter à 55°C. Le développement de ces moisissures se produit fréquemment dans des poches d’humidité excessive qui se forment à l’intérieur des chargements. Des déplacements d’humidité, des mauvaises herbes à forte teneur en eau, des débris de plantes ou des rafales de pluie ou de la neige fondue peuvent être à l’origine de la formation de ces poches d’humidité.

L’élévation de température entraîne un brunissement ou un noircissement interne des grains, dont la qualité se trouve ainsi réduite et dont la germination est diminuée ou inexistante. Les effets de l’échauffement empirent progressivement, si un échauffement chimique succède à l’échauffement initial causé par les moisissures. Si un échantillon contient des grains bruns ou noirs ayant souffert de la chaleur et/ou d’une odeur de brûlé, il sera classé dans une catégorie inférieure, aux États-Unis comme au Canada. Il suffit seulement de 2% de grains bruns ayant souffert de la chaleur dans un échantillon de canola ou de colza pour le faire passer de la catégorie no 1 Canada à la catégorie no 3 Canada, avec les pertes financières que cela comporte. Si l’on trouve plus de 2% de grains ayant souffert de la colza, Échantillon Canada, grains chauffés (Commission canadienne des grains, 1987). Pour d’autres types de grains, les critères sont semblables. Si les grains ayant souffert de la chaleur se retrouvent en grande quantité, cela peut entraîner, tout comme l’huile des oléagineux surchauffés, des problèmes de traitement; on est alors obligé de recourir à des processus de décoloration, ce qui augmente des coûts.

Les grains dont l’extérieur est noirci et qui ont souffert de la chaleur sont classés comme brûlés en entreposage ou brûlé par le feu, selon la gravité de leur échauffement. L’extérieur des graines brûlées est souvent d’un noir luisant, avec d’importantes cavités internes, tandis que les graines brûlées en entreposage, bien que souvent noires à l’extérieur, sont de brun à brun foncé en coupe et sans cavités importantes. De plus, les graines brûlées sont souvent soudées ensemble (Christensen et Kaufmann, 1977). On a observé le même phénomène dans notre laboratoire de Winnipeg avec des graines de canola ou de colza, des grains de blé ou d’orge de brasserie incendiés ou brûlés en entreposage. Mills et Chong (1977) ont étudié la structure fine et la distribution des minéraux dans les graines de canola ou de colza saines ou endommagées par la chaleur.

Les dommages causés par l’échauffement peuvent également provenir d’un séchage artificiel inapproprié. Des grains qui sont endommagés par une chaleur excessive en cours de séchage ont une viabilité réduite, sont d’une couleur plus foncée et peuvent même avoir des péricarpes boursouflés. Dans des cas d’échauffement extrême, les grains peuvent même exploser ou éclater partiellement (Freeman, 1980).

Toxines

Lorsqu’il existe des conditions propices d`humidité et de température, les moisissures nuisibles produisent sur les grains entreposés des substances toxiques appelées mycotoxines. Et quand des animaux prédisposés mangent les grains contaminés par les mycotoxines, ils peuvent contracter des maladies appelées mycotoxicoses. Les effets des mycotoxines sur les animaux varient selon l’espèce, l’âge ainsi que le type et la quantité de toxine qui se trouve dans la nourriture. Parmi les effets de ces maladies, on note l’impossibilité de prendre du poids, la formation de tumeurs, une perte de productivité, des anomalies foetales et la mort subite. Dans l’Ouest canadien, on a établi un lien entre des problèmes de santé du bétail et l’ochratoxine A, produite par la moisissure d’entreposage Penicillium verricosum, une variété du cyclopium, et la stérigmatocystine, produite par l’Aspergillus versicolor, on a trouvé ces mycotoxines dans des grains entreposés, accidentellement mouillés ou humides (Abramson et coll., 1983). Aux États-Unis, on a trouvé dans la nourriture pour volaille des aflotoxines produites par l’Aspergillus flavus (Hamilton, 1985). On a également trouvé dans de la poussière de grain des mycotoxines causant des problèmes de santé à des travailleurs qui manipulaient du maïs contaminé par des aflatoxines en Georgie, U.S.A., (Burg et coll., 1982). Récemment, on a découvert, dans de la poussière de grain, de l’aflatoxine qui se trouvait dans des fragments de mycélium fongique ainsi que d’autres mycotoxines dans les spores fongiques (Palmgren et Lee, 1986). Les travaux de Mannon et Johnson (1985) donnent un panorama complet des risques dérivant des mycotoxines, dans le monde entier. Pour un résumé de l’information disponible sur les mycotoxines et leurs effets sur l’homme et le bétail au Canada, consulter les travaux de Scott et coll. (1985).

Lorsque du grain et des produits dérivés du grain s’échauffent et/ou brûlent, d’autres substances toxiques peuvent être produites, y compris des substances cancérigènes. À cause de ce risque et en raison de l’effet de ces substances toxiques sur les animaux lorsque des produits endommagés par la chaleur sont intégrés à leur nourriture, il est nécessaire de procéder à une inspection rigoureuse.

Substances allergènes

Les champignons nuisibles, que l’on trouve sur et dans les grains entreposés, causent des allergies à la fois chez l’homme et l’animal. Deux types d’allergies d’origine fongique ont été décrites chez l’homme : l’asthme bronchique et le «poumon du fermier». Ces problèmes sont causés par des réactions allergiques dans le système respiratoire, qui est stimulé par des allergènes provenant surtout des spores fongiques. En 1968, après des moissons effectuées dans des conditions inhabituelles, on a récolté et entreposé plus de 70% du grain de la province de Saskatchewan qui étaient, dès le début, à l’état ferme ou humide. Plus tard, 20 des 3200 fermiers ou responsables d’élévateurs, qui avaient travaillé avec des grains humides, échauffés ou endommagés, ont présenté un syndrome aigu du poumon du fermier (Dennis, 1973). Pour avoir un bilan sur la nature de la poussière de grain, l’exposition du travailleur à la poussière et les maladies qui y sont associées, consulter les travaux de Manfreda et Warrent (1984).