Fusarium head blight in western Canada - Graphs

Graphs

Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2002 to 2008

Map showing the crop districts in Alberta

Map showing the crop districts in Alberta
In Alberta, there are only 7 crop districts. Along the southern part, they are numbered from 1 in the east to 3 in the west. Along the central part of Alberta, they are numbered 4 and 5, and 6 is situated just above these. The crop district encompassing the northwestern part, including the Peace River area, is number 7. See graphs below for yearly percentages.

2008 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2008
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Although F. graminearum was dominant in crop districts 1, 2, 3 and 6, very few FDK were found outside of CD’s 1 and 2. Therefore the results for CD’s 3 and 6 must be considered in light of this fact. F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum dominated the few FDK found outside of southern Alberta.

2007 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2007
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. F. graminearum was dominant in crop districts 1 and 2, infecting 14 of the 24 samples (334 of 493 FDK) from CD1 with FDK and 30 of 72 (284 of 990 FDK) from CD2. F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum dominated the few FDK found outside of southern Alberta.

2006 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2006
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. F. graminearum was dominant over F. culmorum in crop district 2 whereas F. culmorum dominated crop district 1. Outside of southern Alberta, the very few FDK detected were primarily caused by F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum

2005 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2005
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. As in 2004, F. graminearum was dominant over F. culmorum in both crop districts 1 and 2. In the northern crop districts, the very few FDK detected were primarily caused by F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum.

2004 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2004
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. In contrast to 2003, F. graminearum was dominant over F. culmorum in both crop districts 1 and 2. In the northern crop districts, the few FDK detected are more often caused by Septoria nodorum than any of the Fusarium species.

2003 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2003
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. F. culmorum was dominant in both crop districts 1 and 2. In the northern crop districts, the few FDK detected are more often caused by Septoria nodorum than any of the Fusarium species.

2002 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Alberta crop districts, 2002
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. In 2002 unusually wet weather in southern Alberta resulted in a considerable increase in the number of wheat samples with FDK and the number of FDK within the affected samples. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. F. graminearum and F. culmorum were dominant in crop districts 1 and 2 respectively. In the northern crop districts, the few FDK detected are more often caused by Septoria nodorum than any of the Fusarium speecis.

Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 1998 to 2008

Map showing the crop districts in Saskatchewan

Map showing the crop districts in Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan crop districts along the southern part are numbered from 1 in the east to 4 in the west. Along the central part of Saskatchewan from east to west they are numbered 5 to 7, and along the northern part of the agricultural area from east to west they are numbered 8 and 9.

2008 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2008
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2008. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen in the crop districts 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8. Weather in eastern Saskatchewan was generally favourable to FHB development.

2007 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2007
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2007. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen in the eastern crop districts 1, 2, 3 /4 and 5. Weather in Saskatchewan was generally unfavourable to FHB development. FDK levels in Saskatchewan were low, primarily being found in the south-eastern crop districts.

2006 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2006
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2006. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen in the eastern crop districts 1, 2 and 5. Weather in Saskatchewan was generally unfavourable to FHB development. In the western crop districts F. avenaceum was the dominant Fusarium species from FDK. FDK levels in Saskatchewan were very low.

2005 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2005
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2005. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen in the eastern crop districts 1, 2 and 5. Weather in Saskatchewan was generally unfavourable to FHB development. In the western crop districts F. avenaceum was the dominant Fusarium species from FDK. FDK levels in Saskatchewan were low.

2004 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2004
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2004. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen only in crop district 1. Unusually cool temperatures throughout the growing season may have suppressed disease levels and altered pathogen ratios. In the western crop districts F. avenaceum was the dominant Fusarium species from FDK. As in 2003, FDK levels in Saskatchewan were very low.

2003 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2003
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2003. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen only in crop district 1. Dry weather in most areas of Saskatchewan resulted in very low levels of FHB, even in the eastern areas.

2002 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2002
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2002. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen in crop districts 1 and 5, whereas F. avenaceum was the dominant species in most other Saskatchewan crop districts. Unusually wet weather in normally dry areas of Saskatchewan resulted in a considerable rise in the number of samples with FDK (especially crop districts 3, 4 and 6), the majority of which were infected by F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum.

2001 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2001
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2001. The relative distribution of the causal species is very similar to that of recent years. F. graminearum was the primary FHB pathogen in crop districts 1, 2, and 5. The percentage of wheat samples with FDK in those crop districts was 58%, 14%, and 12% respectively, a considerable rise over past years. Although it was present in other crop districts, there were very few samples of wheat with FDK from outside the south-eastern corner of the province.

2000 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 2000
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 2000. The relative distribution of the causal species is very similar to that of 1999. However, in 2000 F. graminearum was not dominant in crop district 2, but it was in crop district 8. Crop districts 1 and 5 continued to have the highest percentage of samples with FDK as well as the highest levels of FDK in Saskatchewan.

1999 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 1999
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 1999 when tabulated by crop district. As in 1998, F. graminearum was dominant in southeastern Saskatchewan (crop districts 1, 2, and 5). Crop districts 1 and 5 had the highest percentage of samples with FDK, as well as the greatest number of FDK. F. graminearum was not the dominant species in any other Saskatchewan crop district in 1999.

1998 – Percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts

Graph illustrating the percentage of species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan crop districts, 1998
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Saskatchewan in 1998 when tabulated by crop district. F. graminearum was dominant in south eastern Saskatchewan (crop districts 1, 2, and 5) in 1998. Those crop districts also had the highest percentage of wheat samples in Saskatchewan containing FDK (23.5%, 1.5% and 7% respectively). Although F. graminearum was also dominant in crop districts 3, 4 and 7, very few FDK were found in those areas.

Percentage of wheat samples containing FDK, 1998 to 2005

Graph illustrating the percentage of wheat samples containing FDK
This graph is based on the results of the CGC's harvest surveys and shows the percentage of wheat samples containing FDK in the three prairie provinces from 1998 to 2005. In 2003, dry weather over much of the Canadian prairies during and after flowering resulted in the lowest level of FDK since 1992. There is no graph available for 2004, but FDK levels were low, although above those of 2003. In 2005, levels in the three prairie provinces were similar to those of 1999. FHB remains a minor disease in Alberta and most of Saskatchewan. Beginning in 2006, only those samples that were downgraded due to the presence of FDK were counted, whereas previously all samples with FDK were recorded. Therefore, the results for 2006 onward will not be comparable to those collected earlier. It is worth noting that in 2006 a warm dry growing season resulted in the lowest level of FDK seen in western Canada for over a decade, with less than 4% of Manitoba wheat samples being downgraded due to FDK. In 2007 wet weather in June resulted in above normal FDK levels in Manitoba winter wheat, but spring wheats had very low levels of infection due to dry weather in July. 2008 saw a return to above average FDK counts in both winter and spring wheats grown in Manitoba, especially in the Interlake and north-western Manitoba.

Relative frequency of species recovered from FDK in Manitoba, 2001 to 2008

Relative frequency of species recovered from FDK in Manitoba from 2001 to 2008
These graphs illustrate the relative frequencies with which the main fungi isolated from FDK have been recovered from Manitoba in 2001 to 2008. As there is a considerable difference between crop districts within Saskatchewan and Alberta, the results from Saskatchewan in 1998 to 2008, and Alberta from 2002 to 2008, are now presented below. F. graminearum continues to be the species responsible for almost all the FDK in Manitoba. F. avenaceum was the primary species from Saskatchewan until 1997, when it was replaced by F. graminearum. Septoria nodorum has traditionally been the species most often isolated from the few FDK found in wheat from the central and northern areas of Alberta. This fungus is the causal agent of glume blotch, and although it is not a species of Fusarium, it can produce a kernel visually indistinguishable from those produced by the Fusariam causing FHB. In southern Alberta, the few FDK kernels found are typically infected by Fusarium spp. Other fungi were also found infecting FDK, and they varied in frequency from 3% to 31%. The most common of these fungi was Alternaria alternata. Other important members of this category were Apiospora montagnei, Asteromella spp., F. poae, F. sporotrichioides, and Nigrospora oryzae.
Date modified:

La fusariose dans l'Ouest du Canada - Graphiques

Graphiques

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta, de 2002 à 2008

Carte illustrant les districts agricoles en Alberta

Carte illustrant les districts agricoles en Alberta
Il n'y a que 7 districts agricoles en Alberta. Les districts agricoles situés dans le long de la partie Sud sont numérotés de 1 pour l'Est à 3 pour l'Ouest. Le long de la partie centrale de l'Alberta, ils sont numérotés 4 et 5, et 6 figure juste au-dessus de ces deux districts. Le district agricole qui englobe la partie Nord-Ouest de la province, y compris la région de la rivière de la Paix, est numéroté 7.

2008 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2008
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Although F. graminearum was dominant in crop districts 1, 2, 3 and 6, very few FDK were found outside of CD’s 1 and 2. Therefore the results for CD’s 3 and 6 must be considered in light of this fact. F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum dominated the few FDK found outside of southern Alberta.

2007 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2007
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. F. graminearum was dominant in crop districts 1 and 2, infecting 14 of the 24 samples (334 of 493 FDK) from CD1 with FDK and 30 of 72 (284 of 990 FDK) from CD2. F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum dominated the few FDK found outside of southern Alberta.

2006 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2006
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. F. graminearum was dominant over F. culmorum in crop district 2 whereas F. culmorum dominated crop district 1. Outside of southern Alberta, the very few FDK detected were primarily caused by F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum

2005 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2005
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. As in 2004, F. graminearum was dominant over F. culmorum in both crop districts 1 and 2. In the northern crop districts, the very few FDK detected were primarily caused by F. avenaceum and Septoria nodorum.

2004 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2004
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. In contrast to 2003, F. graminearum was dominant over F. culmorum in both crop districts 1 and 2. In the northern crop districts, the few FDK detected are more often caused by Septoria nodorum than any of the Fusarium species.

2003 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2003
This graph illustrates the difference in species infecting FDK in Alberta. Outside of crop districts 1 and 2 very few FDK are encountered. F. culmorum was dominant in both crop districts 1 and 2. In the northern crop districts, the few FDK detected are more often caused by Septoria nodorum than any of the Fusarium species.

2002 – Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de l'Alberta en 2002
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Alberta. En 2002, le climat humide exceptionnel dans le Sud de l’Alberta a provoqué la hausse considérable du nombre d’échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés et du nombre de grains fusariés à l’intérieur des échantillons atteints. À l'extérieur des districts agricoles 1 et 2, on n'a détecté très peu de grains fusariés. Le F. graminearum et le F. culmorum étaient les pathogènes de fusariose les plus courants dans les districts agricoles 1 et 2 respectivement. Dans le district agricole du Nord, les quelques grains infectés sont le plus souvent provoqués par le S. nodorum que par toute autre espèce de fusariose.

Pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan, de 1998 à 2008

Carte illustrant les districts agricoles en Saskatchewan

Carte illustrant les districts agricoles en Saskatchewan
Les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan situés le long de la partie Sud sont numérotés de 1 pour l'Est à 4 pour l'Ouest. Le long de la partie centrale de la Saskatchewan, de l'Est à l'Ouest, ils sont numérotés de 5 à 7. Et le long de la partie Nord de la zone agricole, de l'Est à l'Ouest, ils sont numérotés 8 et 9.

2008 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2008
Ce graphique montre les différences observées entre les districts agricoles de Saskatchewan Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2008. Dans les districts agricoles 1, 2, 5, 6 et 8, la fusariose a été principalement causée par le F. graminearum. Dans l’Est de la Saskatchewan, les conditions météorologiques ont été généralement propices au développement de la fusariose.

2007 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2007
Ce graphique montre les différences observées entre les districts agricoles de Saskatchewan quant aux espèces qui infectaient les grains fusariés en 2007. Dans l’Est de la province (districts 1, 2, 3/4 et 5), la fusariose a été principalement causée par le F. graminearum. Dans l’ensemble de la province, les conditions météorologiques ont été généralement peu propices au développement de la fusariose. Les teneurs en grains fusariés sont demeurées faibles, ces grains se rencontrant surtout dans les districts agricoles du sud-est de la province.

2006 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2006
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2006. Le F. graminearum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant dans le district agricole 1, 2 et 5. Le climat qui a régné en Saskatchewan durant la saison de croissance n’était généralement pas propice au développement de la fusariose. Dans les districts agricoles de l'Ouest, le F. avenaceum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant détecté dans les grains fusariés. La teneur en grains fusariés en Saskatchewan était faible.

2005 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2005
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2005. Le F. graminearum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant dans les districts agricoles 1, 2 et 5. Le climat qui a régné en Saskatchewan durant la saison de croissance n’était généralement pas propice au développement de la fusariose. Dans les districts agricoles de l'Ouest, le F. avenaceum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant détecté dans les grains fusariés. La teneur en grains fusariés en Saskatchewan était faible.

2004 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2004
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2004. Le F. graminearum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant dans le district agricole 1. Le climat frais exceptionnel qui a régné durant la saison de croissance peut avoir amoindri l'importance de la maladie et changé les rapports d'un pathogène à l'autre. Dans le district agricole de l'Ouest, le F. avenaceum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant détecté dans les grains fusariés. Comme en 2003, la teneur en grains fusariés en Saskatchewan était très basse.

2003 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2003
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2003. Le F. graminearum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant dans le district agricole 1. Le temps sec qui a régné dans la plupart des régions de la Saskatchewan a entraîné une teneur très basse en grains fusariés, même dans les régions de l'Est.

2002 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2002
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2002. Le F. graminearum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant dans les districts agricoles 1 et 5, tandis que le F. avenaceum a dominé dans la plupart des autres districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan. Le climat humide exceptionnel dans les régions habituellement arides de la Saskatchewan a provoqué la hausse considérable du nombre d'échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés (surtout dans les districts agricoles 3, 4 et 6). Les espèces F. avenaceum et S. nodorum ont provoqué le plus de dégâts.

2001 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2001
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2001. La répartition relative des espèces déterminantes est très similaire à celle des dernières années. Le F. graminearum était le pathogène de fusariose le plus courant dans les districts agricoles 1, 2, et 5. Dans ces districts, le pourcentage des échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés était de 58 %, 14 % et 12 %, respectivement, une hausse considérable par rapport aux années précédentes. Même si le champignon était présent dans d'autres districts agricoles, il y avait très peu d'échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés à l'extérieur du secteur Sud-Est de la province.

2000 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 2000
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces infectant les grains fusariés en Saskatchewan en 2000. La répartition relative des espèces déterminantes est très similaire à celle de 1999. Cependant, en 2000, le F. graminearum n'a pas dominé dans le district agricole 2, mais bien dans le district agricole 8. Les districts agricoles 1 et 5 continuent d'avoir le pourcentage le plus élevé d'échantillons contenant des grains fusariés ainsi que les plus hautes teneurs de grains fusariés en Saskatchewan.

1999 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 1999
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces de champignons qui ont infecté les grains en Saskatchewan en 1999 lorsqu'on fait le calcul par district agricole. Tout comme en 1998, le F. graminearum a provoqué le plus de dégâts dans le Sud-Est de la Saskatchewan (districts agricoles 1, 2 et 5). Les districts agricoles 1 et 5 avaient le pourcentage le plus élevé d'échantillons de blé fusarié, ainsi que le plus grand nombre de grains fusariés. En 1999, l'espèce F. graminearum n'a pas dominé dans aucun autre district agricole de la Saskatchewan.

1998 – Pourcentage des espèces infectant les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan

Graphique du pourcentage des espèces qui infectent les grains fusariés dans les districts agricoles de la Saskatchewan en 1998
Ce graphique illustre la différence dans les espèces de champignons qui ont infecté les grains en Saskatchewan en 1998 lorsqu'on fait le calcul par district agricole. Le F. graminearum a provoqué le plus de dégâts dans le Sud-Est de la Saskatchewan (districts agricoles 1, 2 et 5) en 1998. Ces districts agricoles avaient le pourcentage le plus élevé d'échantillons de blé fusarié en Saskatchewan (23,5 %, 1,5 % et 7 % respectivement). Bien que l'espèce F. graminearum a provoqué des dégâts dans les districts agricoles 3, 4 et 7, très peu de grains fusariés ont été détectés dans ces régions.

Pourcentage des échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés, de 1998 à 2005

Pourcentage d'échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés
Ce graphique répose sur les résultats obtenus lors des enquêtes sur la récolte menées par la CCG et illustre le pourcentage des échantillons de blé contenant des grains fusariés dans les trois provinces des Prairies, de 1998 à 2005. En 2003, le temps sec qui a régné dans presque l'ensemble des Prairies canadiennes durant le stade floraison et par après a entraîné la plus faible teneur en grains fusariés depuis 1992. Aucun graphique n'est disponible pour 2004, mais les teneurs en grains fusariés étaient faibles bien que supérieures à celles de 2003. En 2005, les teneurs en grains fusariés dans les trois Provinces des Prairies étaient semblables aux teneurs enregistrées en 1999. La fusariose demeure un problème mineur en Alberta et dans la plus grande partie de la Saskatchewan. À compter de 2006, seuls les échantillons déclassés à cause de la présence de grains fusariés ont été enregistrés, tandis que dans le passé, tous les échantillons contenant des grains fusariés l’étaient. Les résultats obtenus à compter de 2006 ne seront donc pas comparables à ceux obtenus au préalable. Il importe de noter que la saison chaude et sèche qui a régné durant la croissance de 2006 a produit la plus petite quantité de grains fusariés dans l’Ouest canadien au cours de plus d’une décennie; moins de 4 % des échantillons de blé du Manitoba ont été déclassés en raison de grains fusariés. En 2007, le temps humide en juin a provoqué des teneurs en grains fusariés au-dessus de la normale au Manitoba, mais les blés de printemps avaient des teneurs très faibles en grains fusariés à cause du temps sec en juillet. En 2008, les blés d’hiver et de printemps ont tous les deux révélé des teneurs en grains fusariés au-dessus de la normale au Manitoba, surtout dans la région des lacs et dans le Nord-Ouest du Manitoba.

Fréquence relative d'espèces récupérées des grains fusariés au Manitoba, de 2001 à 2008

Fréquence relative d'espèces récupérées des grains fusariés au Manitoba de 2001 à 2008
Ces graphiques illustrent les fréquences relatives auxquelles les principaux champignons isolés des grains fusariés ont été récupérés au Manitoba de 2001 à 2008. Puisqu’il y a une différence considérable entre les districts agricoles en Saskatchewan et en Alberta, les résultats de la Saskatchewan de 1998 à 2008, et de l’Alberta de 2002 à 2008, sont maintenant présentés ci-dessous. Le F. graminearum est toujours l’espèce infectant presque tous les grains fusariés détectés au Manitoba. Le F. avenaceum était l’espèce principale détectée en Saskatchewan jusqu’en 1997, alors qu’elle a été remplacée par le F. graminearum. Le Septoria nodorum a traditionnellement été l’espèce la plus couramment isolée des quelques grains fusariés détectés dans le blé en provenance des régions du centre et du Nord de l’Alberta. Ce champignon est l’agent causal de la tache des glumes, et bien qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une espèce de Fusarium, il peut produire un grain indistinguable à l’œil nu des grains produits par le Fusarium qui provoque la fusariose. Dans le Sud de l’Alberta, les quelques grains fusariés détectés sont typiquement infectés par le Fusarium spp. On a détecté d’autres champignons infectant les grains fusariés, et leur fréquence variait de 3 % à 31 %. Le champignon Alternaria alternata était celui que l’on a détecté le plus couramment. D’autres membres importants de cette catégorie étaient les champignons Apiospora montagnei, Asteromella spp., F. poae, F. sporotrichioides, et Nigrospora oryzae.
Date de modification :