Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Prediction of germination energy of malting barley during long-time storage



Evaluation of various instrumental techniques for detection and measuring the degree of pre-germination in barley

In the absence of dormancy, Canadian malting barley varieties have a propensity to pre-germinate in the field under extended moist conditions during harvest. Although a visual inspection of barley, conducted during the selection processes, can identify severely sprouted grain, it cannot detect the incipient germination. The germination energy test does not indicate pre-germination in barley. Barley selectors and evaluators do not have a practical tool to predict how much of the initially selected barley will lose germination energy during storage. This makes it difficult to know how much grain to select initially. It is also disappointing and costly to farmers who are initially advised that their barley was selected for malting purposes and informed later that the grain is no longer acceptable for malting. There is, therefore, a clear need for a rapid and practical method for detection of pre-germination and prediction of safe storage time for malting barley.

This study investigated the following techniques to determine their suitability to detect and measure the degree of pre-germination in Canadian malting barley: rapid visco analysis (RVA), image analysis, near infrared reflectance (NIR) and Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR).

Based on the results of this study, it appears that at the present time, neither NIR nor FTIR spectroscopy techniques are able to reliably detect and measure the degree of pre-germination in barley grain.

The results of this study suggest that grain appearance, as assessed by visual examination and/or image analysis, is not related to its composition and/or to the biochemical processes occurring in the grain. Therefore, the assessment of appearance via either method cannot, at the present time and/or the present state of technology, reliably detect and measure the degree of pre-germination in barley grain.

This study provided evidence that RVA is the suitable technique to detect pre-germination in barley. Since it is known that one of the signs of pre-germination is an elevated level of alpha-amylase in the kernel, and since the RVA parameters are very sensitive to the increasing level of alpha-amylase in the samples, it was concluded that:

  • The RVA test is able to detect the signs of pre-germination in barley samples.
  • The RVA test is able to measure the degree of pre-germination in barley as related to the amount of alpha-amylase in the samples.

The measurements of germination energy (GE) after accelerated aging of barley samples confirmed that:

  • Barley samples with the initially high RVA final viscosity (FV) values are capable of retaining their high germination energy (GE ≥ 95%) even when exposed to poor storage conditions.
  • Barley samples with the initially low RVA FV values show propensity to lose viability and exhibit low GE (<95%) after exposure and/or storage at poor conditions.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prévision de l'énergie de germination de l'orge brassicole durant un entreposage à long terme



Évaluation de diverses techniques instrumentales pour la détection et la mesure du degré de prégermination de l'orge

En l'absence de dormance, les variétés d'orge brassicole canadiennes ont tendance à prégermer au champ dans des conditions d'humidité prolongées lors de la récolte. Bien qu'une inspection visuelle de l'orge effectuée durant les processus de sélection puisse permettre de déceler les grains dont la germination est avancée, elle ne permet pas de déceler un début de germination. Le test de détermination de l'énergie de germination n'indique pas la prégermination chez l'orge. Les sélectionneurs et les évaluateurs de l'orge ne disposent pas d'un outil pratique leur permettant de prédire la quantité de grains d'orge sélectionnés au départ qui perdront de l'énergie de germination durant l'entreposage. Il est ainsi difficile de déterminer quelle quantité de grains il faut sélectionner au départ. Il est également décevant et coûteux pour les producteurs qui ont été avisés que leur orge a été sélectionné pour le maltage d'apprendre plus tard que leurs grains ne sont plus acceptables à cette fin. Il est donc clair qu'il faut trouver une méthode rapide et pratique de détection de la prégermination et de prévision de la durée d'entreposage sécuritaire pour l'orge brassicole.

La présente étude portait sur l'aptitude des techniques suivantes à déceler et à mesurer le degré de prégermination chez les variétés d'orge brassicole canadiennes : l'analyse rapide de la viscosité (RVA), l'analyse d'images, la réflexion dans le proche infrarouge (NIR) et la spectroscopie infrarouge à transformée de Fourier (FTIR).

Les résultats de l'étude indiquent qu'à l'heure actuelle, ni la NIR ni la FTIR ne sont des techniques fiables pour déceler et mesurer le degré de prégermination dans le grain d'orge.

Les résultats de l'étude indiquent que l'aspect du grain, déterminé par l'examen visuel ou l'analyse d'images, n'est pas lié à sa composition ou aux processus biochimiques qui se déroulent dans le grain. Par conséquent, l'évaluation de l'aspect du grain par l'une ou l'autre méthode ne peut pas, à l'heure actuelle et en l'état actuel de la technique, détecter et mesurer de façon fiable le degré de prégermination dans le grain d'orge.

L'étude a montré que l'analyse RVA est la technique à utiliser pour déceler la prégermination de l'orge. Comme on sait que l'un des signes de la prégermination est une teneur élevée en alpha amylase dans le grain et comme les paramètres de la RVA sont très sensibles à l'augmentation de la teneur des échantillons en alpha amylase, on a conclu que :

  • l'analyse RVA permet de déceler les signes de prégermination dans les échantillons d'orge;
  • l'analyse RVA permet de mesurer le degré de prégermination de l'orge en fonction de la teneur des échantillons en alpha amylase.

La mesure de l'énergie de germination (EG) après un vieillissement accéléré des échantillons d'orge a confirmé que :

  • les échantillons d'orge dont la viscosité finale (VF) mesurée par RVA est élevée au départ peuvent conserver une énergie de germination élevée (EG ≥ 95 %), même dans de piètres conditions d'entreposage.
  • les échantillons d'orge dont la VF mesurée par RVA est faible au départ ont tendance à perdre de la viabilité et présentent une faible EG (< 95 %) après une exposition ou un entreposage dans de piètres conditions.