Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Prediction of germination energy of malting barley during long-time storage



Recommended practices for testing barley samples for pre-germination using RVA-StarchMaster unit

The following practices are recommended for testing barley samples for pre-germination using RVA-StarchMaster unit:

A – Sample preparation

  1. Clean barley grain using Carter dockage tester. The setting of the kicker is barley No. 6 riddle, No. 6 buckwheat dockage screen at top sieve, solid plain sieve at middle sieve, air control maximum, and speed control # 7. Samples should be stabilized to the room temperature before any measurements and grinding.
  2. Determine the moisture content (%) in samples using NIR.
  3. Mix the cleaned sample thoroughly and take a small representative sample (recommended amount ~300g). This is an important step to ensure that the sample being analyzed represents the whole material. A precision divider or similar device should be used to take an appropriate sub-sample.
  4. Grind the sample using the Falling Number Laboratory Mill 311 (0.8 mm screen). Whole grain samples should be brought to room temperature before grinding. Clean grinder thoroughly after each sample is ground. If not using immediately, store ground sample in cold room.
  5. Thoroughly stir the ground samples before sub-sampling and weighing. Weigh appropriate amount of the ground sample into a canister. Use the moisture content as determined by NIR and the "moisture conversion table" to determine the amount of sample (g) to be weighed into a canister.
  6. Add exactly 25.0 mL of deionized water using an "eppendorf pipette" or a "dispensette pipette".
  7. Mix the content of the canister with a spatula to disperse the sample. Use the paddle to scrape off the sample from a spatula. Insert the paddle into the canister.
Moisture conversion table
M.C. (%) Weight (g) M.C. (%) Weight (g) M.C. (%) Weight (g)
8.0 3.74 9.5 3.80 11.0 3.87
8.1 3.74 9.6 3.81 11.1 3.87
8.2 3.75 9.7 3.81 11.2 3.87
8.3 3.75 9.8 3.81 11.3 3.88
8.4 3.76 9.9 3.82 11.4 3.88
8.5 3.76 10.0 3.82 11.5 3.89
8.6 3.76 10.1 3.83 11.6 3.89
8.7 3.77 10.2 3.83 11.7 3.90
8.8 3.77 10.3 3.84 11.8 3.90
8.9 3.78 10.4 3.84 11.9 3.90
9.0 3.78 10.5 3.84 12.0 3.91
9.1 3.78 10.6 3.85 12.1 3.91
9.2 3.79 10.7 3.85 12.2 3.92
9.3 3.79 10.8 3.86 12.3 3.92
9.4 3.80 10.9 3.86 12.4 3.93
12.5 3.93 14.0 4.00 15.5 4.07
12.6 3.94 14.1 4.00 15.6 4.08
12.7 3.94 14.2 4.01 15.7 4.08
12.8 3.94 14.3 4.01 15.8 4.09
12.9 3.95 14.4 4.02 15.9 4.09
13.0 3.95 14.5 4.02 16.0 4.10
13.1 3.96 14.6 4.03 16.1 4.10
13.2 3.96 14.7 4.03 16.2 4.11
13.3 3.97 14.8 4.04 16.3 4.11
13.4 3.97 14.9 4.04 16.4 4.11
13.5 3.98 15.0 4.05 16.5 4.12
13.6 3.98 15.1 4.05 16.6 4.12
13.7 3.99 15.2 4.06 16.7 4.13
13.8 3.99 15.3 4.06 16.8 4.13
13.9 4.00 15.4 4.07 16.9 4.14

B) Analysis

8. Analyze the samples using the RVA-StarchMaster unit and the program for RVA Stirring Number (SN). This is a standard 3 min program - it heats the sample to 95°C and mixes it for 10 sec at 960 rpm and then at 160 rpm. Record the final viscosity. The results will be displayed in cP (centipoise) units. To convert the numbers to RVA units, divide the cP units by 12.

RVA units = cP ÷ 12

Run the sample in duplicate.

C) Instrument maintenance

9. In order to ensure the accuracy of measurements, you should check the calibration offset daily. Please follow the instructions in your Installation and Operation Manual.

10. In addition, your StarchMaster unit should be calibrated with a standard oil. This should be done once per month. Newport Scientific recommends Cannon Certified Viscosity Standard R47000 (95C). A calibration Checking Kit is available from your Newport Scientific representative. Measure the viscosity of the calibration oil using the CAL95 program (program designed for calibration). The viscosity of the calibration oil should be within ±5% of the recommended value.

For example, if the recommended value is 1223 cP and the reading is between 1162 cP and 1284 cP your unit is ready for analysis. If the reading is outside of this range, your RVA-StarchMaster requires recalibration, please contact your representative. Only the representative can do it for you!

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prévision de l'énergie de germination de l'orge brassicole durant un entreposage à long terme



Pratiques recommandées pour la détection de la prégermination dans des échantillons d'orge à l'aide de l'appareil RVA-StarchMaster

Les pratiques suivantes sont recommandées pour la détection de la prégermination dans des échantillons d'orge à l'aide de l'appareil RVA-StarchMaster.

A – Préparation de l'échantillon

  1. Nettoyer les grains d'orge à l'aide du tarage Carter avec les réglages suivants : crible no 6 pour l'orge, tamis à sarrasin no 6 en premier, tamis ordinaire solide au milieu, contrôle de l'air au maximum et vitesse no 7. Les échantillons doivent être stabilisés à la température ambiante avant les mesures et le broyage.
  2. Déterminer la teneur en eau (%) dans les échantillons par NIR
  3. Bien mélanger l'échantillon nettoyé et prélever un petit échantillon représentatif (quantité recommandée : environ 300 g). Il s'agit d'une étape importante pour veiller à ce que l'échantillon à analyser représente bien l'échantillon total. Un diviseur de précision ou un appareil similaire doit être utilisé pour le prélèvement d'un sous-échantillon approprié.
  4. Broyer l'échantillon à l'aide du moulin de laboratoire Falling Number 311 (tamis de 0,8 mm). Les grains entiers doivent être portés à la température ambiante avant d'être broyés. Bien nettoyer le moulin entre chaque échantillon. Si l'échantillon moulu n'est pas utilisé immédiatement, le conserver dans une chambre froide.
  5. Bien mélanger l'échantillon moulu avant de prélever les sous-échantillons et de les peser. Peser la quantité appropriée de l'échantillon moulu dans une cartouche RVA. Utiliser la teneur en eau déterminée par le spectromètre NIR et la « table de conversion de la teneur en eau » pour déterminer la quantité d'échantillon (en g) à peser dans la cartouche.
  6. Ajouter exactement 25,0 mL d'eau désionisée à l'aide d'une pipette Eppendorf ou d'un distributeur Dispensette.
  7. Mélanger le contenu de la cartouche avec une spatule pour disperser l'échantillon. Utiliser la palette pour récupérer l'échantillon sur la spatule. Introduire la palette dans la cartouche.
Table de conversion de la teneur en eau
T.E. (%) Poids (g) T.E. (%) Poids (g) T.E. (%) Poids (g)
8,0 3,74 9,5 3,80 11,0 3,87
8,1 3,74 9,6 3,81 11,1 3,87
8,2 3,75 9,7 3,81 11,2 3,87
8,3 3,75 9,8 3,81 11,3 3,88
8,4 3,76 9,9 3,82 11.4 3,88
8,5 3,76 10,0 3,82 11,5 3,89
8,6 3,76 10,1 3,83 11,6 3,89
8,7 3,77 10,2 3,83 11,7 3,90
8,8 3,77 10,3 3,84 11,8 3,90
8,9 3,78 10,4 3,84 11,9 3,90
9,0 3,78 10,5 3,84 12,0 3,91
9,1 3,78 10,6 3,85 12,1 3,91
9,2 3,79 10,7 3,85 12,2 3,92
9,3 3.79 10,8 3,86 12,3 3,92
9,4 3,80 10,9 3,86 12,4 3,93
12,5 3,93 14,0 4,00 15,5 4,07
12,6 3,94 14,1 4,00 15,6 4,08
12,7 3,94 14,2 4,01 15,7 4,08
12,8 3,94 14,3 4,01 15,8 4,09
12,9 3,95 14,4 4,02 15,9 4,09
13,0 3,95 14,5 4,02 16,0 4,10
13,1 3,96 14,6 4,03 16,1 4,10
13,2 3,96 14,7 4,03 16,2 4,11
13,3 3,97 14,8 4,04 16,3 4,11
13,4 3,97 14,9 4,04 16,4 4,11
13,5 3,98 15,0 4,05 16,5 4,12
13,6 3,98 15,1 4,05 16,6 4,12
13,7 3,99 15,2 4,06 16,7 4,13
13,8 3,99 15,3 4,06 16,8 4,13
13,9 4,00 15,4 4,07 16,9 4,14

B – Analyse

8. Analyser les échantillons à l'aide du RVA-StarchMaster et du programme RVA Stirring Number (SN). Il s'agit d'un programme standard de 3 min qui chauffe l'échantillon à 95 °C et qui le mélange pendant 10 sec à 960 tr/min, puis à 160 tr/min. Enregistrer alors la viscosité finale. Les résultats sont affichés en cP (centipoise). Pour transformer ces valeurs en unités RVA, diviser les cP par 12.

Unités RVA = cP ÷ 12

Analyser les échantillons en double.

C – Entretien de l'appareil

9. Pour s'assurer de l'exactitude des mesures, il faut vérifier l'étalonnage chaque jour. Suivre le mode d'emploi qui figure dans le manuel d'installation et d'utilisation.

10. En outre, l'appareil StarchMaster doit être étalonné une fois par mois à l'aide d'une huile normalisée. Newport Scientific recommande le Cannon Certified Viscosity Standard R47000 (95C). Votre représentant de Newport Scientific peut vous fournir une trousse de vérification de l'étalonnage. Mesurer la viscosité de l'huile d'étalonnage à l'aide du programme CAL95 (programme conçu pour l'étalonnage). La viscosité de l'huile d'étalonnage ne doit pas s'écarter de ± 5 % de la valeur recommandée.

Par exemple, si la valeur recommandée est de 1 223 cP et que la lecture se situe entre 1 162 cP et 1 284 cP , l'appareil est prêt à être utilisé. Si la lecture se situe à l'extérieur de cette fourchette, l'appareil RVA-StarchMaster doit être étalonné de nouveau. Communiquer avec le représentant. Seul le représentant peut étalonner l'appareil de nouveau!