Canadian Grain Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Prediction of germination energy of malting barley during long-time storage



Sample collection and analysis

Barley samples used in this study were collected over two consecutive years, 2002 and 2003. All samples were selected for malting and exhibited germination energy ≥ 95%. In 2002, 306 samples were collected. Among the 2-row varieties, the greatest number of samples was collected for Metcalfe (107), followed by Harrington (32), Stratus (29), and Stein (23). Among the 6-row varieties, the greatest number of samples was collected for B1602 (56), followed by Robust (21). In 2003, 519 samples were collected. Among the 2- row varieties, the greatest number of samples was collected for Metcalfe (148), followed by Harrington (88), Stratus (65), Kendall (55), and Merit (18). Among the 6-row varieties, the greatest number of samples was collected for Robust (52), Excel (41), and Legacy (27).

Over the two-year period, barley samples were collected from the following crop districts of Western Canada:

  • Alberta: 2, 3, 4, 5, 7
  • Saskatchewan: 1B, 2A, 2B, 3AS, 4B, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9A
  • Manitoba: 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8

Significantly more samples were pre-germinated in 2002 than in 2003, which can be directly related to differences in the average precipitation during those two years. In general, the average precipitation in 2002 was above normal, whereas in 2003 it was below normal.

In 2002, the year with a very high average precipitation, Harrington exhibited a smaller percentage of pre-germinated samples (75%) than three other 2-row varieties tested in the study (91%). In 2003, the year with a very low average precipitation, Harrington again exhibited lower tendency for pre-germination (9%) than four other varieties tested in the study (16%). In both years, the 6-row varieties showed slightly lower percentage of pre-germinated samples (79% in 2002 and 12.5% in 2003) than the 2-row varieties (87% in 2002 and 15.5% in 2003). It has to be noted, however, that in both years a smaller number of 6-row samples (77 in 2002 and 120 in 2003) than 2-row samples (164 in 2002 and 374 in 2003) were tested.

These studies have shown that barley samples grown in the northern regions of Alberta (crop district 7), Saskatchewan (crop districts 5B, 8A, 9A), and Manitoba (crop district 3) exhibited a greater tendency for pre-germination than samples grown in other districts. The amount of precipitation could not fully explain these results, as in some cases the amount of actual precipitation was lower than the normal average for the respective districts or lower than in other districts. The later harvest dates (and/or higher harvest moisture) could be partially responsible for the observed results.

Commission canadienne des grains
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prévision de l'énergie de germination de l'orge brassicole durant un entreposage à long terme



Prélèvement et analyse des échantillons

Les échantillons d'orge utilisés dans la présente étude ont été prélevés sur deux années consécutives, soit 2002 et 2003. Tous les échantillons ont été sélectionnés pour le maltage et présentaient une énergie de germination ≥ 95 %. En 2002, 306 échantillons ont été prélevés. Chez les variétés à deux rangs, 107 échantillons ont été prélevés de la variété Metcalfe, 32 de la variété Harrington, 29 de la variétés Stratus et 23 de la variété Stein. Chez les variétés à 6 rangs, 56 échantillons ont été prélevés de la variété B1602 et 21 de la variété Robust. En 2003, 519 échantillons ont été prélevés. Parmi les variétés à 2 rangs, 148 échantillons ont été prélevés de la variété Metcalfe, 88 de la variété Harrington, 65 de la variété Stratus, 55 de la variété Kendall et 18 de la variété Merit. Chez les variétés à 6 rangs, 52 échantillons ont été prélevés de la variété Robust, 41 de la variété Excel et 27 de la variété Legacy.

Au cours de la période de deux ans, les échantillons d'orge ont été prélevés dans les districts agricoles suivants de l'Ouest du Canada :

  • Alberta: 2, 3, 4, 5, 7
  • Saskatchewan: 1B, 2A, 2B, 3AS, 4B, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B,7A, 7B, 8A, 8B, 9A
  • Manitoba: 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8

Un nombre significativement plus élevé d'échantillons étaient prégermés en 2002 qu'en 2003, ce qui peut être lié directement aux différences dans les précipitations moyennes au cours de ces deux années. En général, les précipitations moyennes étaient plus élevée que la normale en 2002, alors qu'en 2003 elles étaient inférieures à la normale.

En 2002, l'année où les précipitations moyennes ont été très élevées, la variété Harrington a présenté un pourcentage plus faible d'échantillons prégermés (75 %) que les trois autre variétés à 2 rangs évaluées au cours de l'étude (91 %). En 2003, l'année où les précipitations moyennes ont été très faibles, la variété Harrington a encore présenté une tendance plus faible à la prégermination (9 %) que les quatre autres variétés analysées au cours de l'étude (16 %). Au cours des deux années, les variétés à 6 rangs ont présenté un pourcentage légèrement plus faible d'échantillons prégermés (79 % en 2002 et 12,5 % en 2003) que les variétés à 2 rangs (87 % en 2002 et 15,5 % en 2003). Il faut faire remarquer, toutefois, qu'on a analysé un plus petit nombre d'échantillons d'orge à 6 rangs (77 en 2002 et 120 en 2003) que d'orge à 2 rangs (164 en 2002 et 374 en 2003) au cours de ces deux années.

Ces études ont montré que les échantillons d'orge cultivé dans les régions nordique de l'Alberta (district agricole 7),de la Saskatchewan (districts agricoles 5B, 8A. 9A), et du Manitoba (district agricole 3) présentent une tendance plus élevée à la prégermination que les échantillons cultivés dans les autres districts. Le volume de précipitations n'expliquait pas entièrement ces résultats car, dans certains cas, le volume réel de précipitations était plus faible que la moyenne normale dans ces districts ou plus faibles que dans d'autres districts. Les dates de récolte plus tardives (et/ou les teneurs en eau plus élevées des récoltes) peuvent en partie expliquer les résultats obtenus.