Ergot

Definition

Ergot is defined in the glossary section of the Official Grain Grading Guide as a fungal disease which occurs on cereals and grasses. It is most prevalent on rye, triticale, wheat, and barley, in decreasing order of occurrence. It is rarely found on oats. The disease produces hard, dense fungus bodies, called sclerotia, having a purplish black exterior, a purplish white to off-white interior, and a relatively smooth surface texture.

Photographs

Ergot bodies, sizes and shapes. This includes a cross-sectioned kernel to show white interior
Different sizes and shapes of ergot bodies, including one that has been cross-sectioned to show its white interior.
Ergot-infected wheat head, as the kernel grows the ergot affects the body.

A comparison of wheat kernels to ergot bodies.

As seen on the wheat head, an ergot body replaces the affected kernel as it grows, resulting in an ergot body that is similar in sizeand shape to the kernel it replaced.

Procedure for assessment

Ergot is considered an objective grading factor with assigned percentages in each grade. To assess the percentage of ergot that remains in the sample after cleaning*, the inspector performs a physical separation. The number of grams utilized to perform the assessment is predetermined and defined in the Official Grain Grading Guide. The inspector will then apply the tolerances as set out in the Grade Determinant Tables found in the Official Grain Grading Guide.

*Ergot is not easily cleaned from a sample of grain, since normal cleaning equipment separates foreign material by size and shape.

Cause

Ergot is a fungal parasite (Claviceps purpurea) of cereals and grasses (Lorenz 1979). Infection takes place at the flowering stage. Ergot is most prevalent in years when continuous moist conditions prevail during both stages of the disease cycle.

End-use issues

Ergot contains alkaloids, which may be toxic when ingested by animals, poultry or humans (Mantle, 1977a, b). In recognition of its toxicity, and that the alkaloids can remain stable among final end-products, strict tolerances for ergot are universally required when marketing grain. Sclerotia can also cause specks in flour and pasta products.

Related links

Date modified:

Ergot (ERG)

Définition

Dans le glossaire du Guide officiel du classement des grains, l’ergot est défini comme une maladie fongique affectant les céréales et les graminées. Elle s’attaque, en ordre décroissant d’apparition, au seigle, au triticale, au blé et à l’orge. L’avoine en est rarement atteinte. La maladie produit des excroissances fongiques dures et épaisses, que l’on appelle sclérotes, dont la texture est relativement lisse et dont l’extérieur est noir violacé et l’intérieur, d’un blanc violacé

Photographies

Sclérotes d'ergot.
Sclérotes de différentes tailles et formes, dont un qui a fait l'objet d'une coupe transversale de façon à exposer son intérieur blanc.
Sclérotes d'ergot.

Comparaison de grains de blé à des sclérotes d'ergot.

Comme on le voit sur l'épi de blé, un sclérote d'ergot pousse dans l'épi, à la place du grain, jusqu'à ce qu'il soit de taille et de forme semblables à celles du grain qu'il remplace.

Procédure d'évaluation

L'ergot est considéré comme un facteur objectif de classement, et un pourcentage est attribué à chaque grade. Pour évaluer le pourcentage d'ergot qui reste dans l'échantillon après le nettoyage*, l'inspecteur sépare manuellement les grains. Pour cette analyse, il doit utiliser un poids prédéterminé de grains, indiqué (en grammes) dans le Guide officiel du classement des grains. L'inspecteur applique ensuite les tolérances prescrites dans les tableaux des facteurs déterminants des grades, qui se trouvent dans le Guide officiel du classement des grains.

*Il est difficile de débarrasser un échantillon de grain de l'ergot, puisque l'équipement de nettoyage habituel sépare les matières étrangères du grain en fonction de la taille et de la forme.

Cause

L'ergot est un champignon parasite (Claviceps purpurea) qui infecte les céréales et les graminées (Lorenz 1979) pendant la floraison. Les infections d'ergot sont plus fortes les années où les conditions d'humidité persistent pendant les deux phases du cycle de vie du champignon.

Problèmes relatifs à l'utilisation finale

L'ergot renferme des alcaloïdes qui sont toxiques pour les humains, les oiseaux de basse-cour et les autres animaux (Mantle, 1977a,b). Étant donné sa toxicité, et le fait que les alcaloïdes peuvent demeurer stables dans les produits finis, des seuils de tolérance stricts et universels s'appliquent à l'ergot présent dans le grain qui doit être commercialisé. En outre, les sclérotes peuvent causer des piqûres dans la farine et dans les pâtes.

Information pertinente

Date de modification :