Severe midge damage (SEVMDGE)

Description

Severe midge damage is defined in the Official Grain Grading Guide.

Midge damaged kernels that are blackened by moulds are classed as severe midge damage. This discolouration is the result of a secondary fungal infection. Midge damaged kernels that have a grey or tan discolouration but are not blackened, are not assessed as severe midge damage. Severe midge damage is determined for Canada Western Amber Durum only.

Procedure for assessment

Severe midge damage is an objective grading factor.

To assess severe midge damaged samples, the inspector performs a physical separation to assess the percentage of these damaged kernels in the sample. The number of grams utilized to perform the assessment is predetermined and defined in the Official Grain Grading Guide. The inspector will then apply the tolerances for severe midge as set out in the Grade Determinant Tables found in the Official Grain Grading Guide.

Photograph

Photograph of severe midge damage (CWAD) and sound kernel.
Severe midge damage (Canada Western Amber Durum)
  • Midge damaged kernels that are blackened by moulds
  • Discolouration a result of a secondary fungal infection
  • Assessed in Canada Western Amber Durum only

Cause

Midge damaged kernels with a ruptured bran can be easily attacked by a secondary fungus causing the black discolouration.

The Orange Blossom Wheat Midge (Sitodiplosis mosellana) (Government of Alberta, Alberta Agriculture, Food and Rural Development) causes midge-damaged kernels. This pest is found in wheat-growing areas of Europe, Asia and North America. The orange fly deposits its eggs on the floret and then the hatching larvae feed on the developing grain.

End-use issues

Severely midge damaged kernels, which are blackened, presumably from attack by fungi, are particularly detrimental to semolina refinement and spaghetti color.

For more information on the affects of midge and severe midge damage and processing, access the following link to our Grain Research Laboratory papers on factors affecting processing performance of Durum wheat.

Date modified:

Fortement cécidomyiés (SEVMDGE)

Déscription

La fortement cécidomyie est définie dans le Guide officiel du classement des grains.

Les grains cécidomyiés qui sont noircis par des moisissures sont considérés comme étant fortement cécidomyiés. Cette décoloration est provoquée par une deuxième infection fongique. Les grains cécidomyiés qui ont une décoloration grise ou brun pâle mais ne sont pas noircis ne sont pas considérés comme étant fortement cécidomyiés. Les grains fortement cécidomyiés sont déterminés dans le cas du blé dur ambré seulement.

Méthode d’évaluation

Les grains cécidomyiés constituent un facteur objectif de classement.

Pour évaluer un échantillon de blé quant aux grains fortement cécidomyiés, l’inspecteur commence par séparer manuellement ces grains, puis il évalue le pourcentage qu’ils constituent dans l’échantillon. Pour cette analyse, il doit utiliser un poids prédéterminé de grains, indiqué (en grammes) dans le Guide officiel du classement des grains. L’inspecteur applique ensuite la tolérance prescrite à l’égard des grains fortement cécidomyiés, selon les « tableaux des facteurs déterminant les grades » du Guide officiel du classement des grains.

Photographie

Photographie de grains fortements cécidomyiés (CWAD). Grain sain à la droite.
Grain fortement cécidomyié (blé dur ambré de l'Ouest canadien)
  • Le grain cécidomyié est également noirci par des moisissures
  • Ce noirissement est dû à une infection secondaire par un champignon
  • Ce facteur est évalué uniquement chez le blé dur ambré de l'Ouest canadien

Cause

Les grains cécidomyiés ayant un son rompu peuvent facilement être infectés par un champignon secondaire qui cause la décoloration noire.

Les grains cécidomyiés sont des grains endommagés par la cécidomyie orangée du blé (anglais seulement) (Sitodiplosis mosellana) (Gouvernement de l'Alberta, Alberta Agriculture, Food and Rural Development). Cette petite mouche orangée se rencontre dans les régions productrices de blé d’Europe, d’Asie et d’Amérique du Nord. La femelle pond ses œufs sur les fleurs du blé; dès l’éclosion de l’œuf, la larve se nourrit du grain en développement.

Questions sur l’utilisation finale

Les grains fortement cécidomyiés, qui sont noircis parce qu'ils sont infectés par un champignon, nuisent surtout au raffinage de la semoule et à la couleur du spaghetti.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les effets des grains cécidomyiés et grains fortement cécidomyiés sur la transformation du blé, sélectionnez le lien suivant pour consulter les documents publiés par notre Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains qui traitent des facteurs influant sur l'aptitude technologique du blé dur ambré.

Date de modification :