Method for Evaluation of Rheological Behaviour of Flour by Extensograph: Using Pin Mixer for Dough Preparation

Method owner: Program Manager of Bread and Durum Wheat Research
Effective date: 2016-08-26, version 2

1.0 Scope and Field of Application

The standard extensigraph method (AACC Method 54-10.01, ICC 114/1, ISO 5530-2) has been traditionally used to evaluate rheological properties of wheat dough by providing information on dough strength (resistance to extension) and extensibility. The method described here, which uses a pin mixer rather than the farinograph for dough preparation, is on a constant flour weight basis. The extensigraph provides information about the dough strength, extensibility and processing quality of the dough in general.

2.0 Principle

The standard extensigraph method (AACC Method 54-10.01, ICC 114/1, ISO 5530-2) uses the farinograph for the preparation of dough in the presence of 2% salt at reduced water absorption (farinograph absorption minus 2-3%). However, the dough so prepared is usually under-developed and drier than typically seen in common baking processes. In addition, the standard extensigraph test is time consuming and requires large sample size.

In this modified method, dough is fully developed in a National pin mixer until peak dough consistency. Salt is reduced from 2% to 1% and water absorption is increased by 6-7% (farinograph absorption plus 4%). Two uniform dough pieces are subjected to dough rounding, molding, resting and stretching using the Brabender Extensograph®-E according to AACC International method 54-10.01.

Strong correlations for Rmax (r = 0.90) and area (r = 0.92) were found between the modified and standard dough preparation methods (Suchy et al, 2016). This protocol requires much less flour sample (reduced from 300g to 200g), is faster to prepare for subsequent extensigraph testing, and significantly increases overall sample throughput (>50%).

3.0 References

4.0 Materials

4.1 Equipment

  1. 200 g pin mixer (National Mfg. Co.) equipped with 200 g water-jacketed mixing bowl and cooling/heating water circulating bath. For instrument operation and testing refer to manufacturer’s manual.
  2. Brabender Extensograph®-E (C. W. Brabender Instrument Inc.) controlled with computer software.
  3. Balance with accuracy of 0.01 g.
  4. Mixer power box and P2M software (RAR Software Systems, Winnipeg, MB).

4.2 Chemicals

  1. Sodium Chloride, NaCl, should be the non-ionized, high purity salt, also used for baking.
  2. Prepare 1% (w/v) sodium chloride solution using 2g of NaCl dissolved in a required volume of distilled water. The volume of water is determined from water absorption and corrections to 14% moisture basis (e.g. flour of moisture content = 13.1% and a farinograph absorption = 65% requires 140.1 mL water and 197.9 g flour, based on a 200g flour sample). If the solution is mixed in advance, protect the solution from unnecessary evaporation.

1 A B
2 Sample Number Example
3
4 Flour Moisture (%) 13.1
5 FAB 65
6 FAB + 4 =B5+4
7 Flour Weight (g) =(100-14)/(100-B4)*200
8 Water (mL) to add =(200*B6/100)-B11
9
10 Water from Flour
11 Above or below 14% mb =(B7*B4/100)-(200*14/100)
12 (Moisture in actual flour) - (Moisture in 14% moisture flour)
13
14 Explanation of the above calculation:
15 Solids in flour = Flour Wt - (Flour Wt x Moisture Content) =B7-(B7*B4/100)
16 Moisture in flour = Flour Wt x Moisture Content =B7*B4/100
17 Total flour weight =B15+B16
18 Water to add for FAB + 4 (Where FAB is 14% mb) =B6*200/100
19 Moisture in the flour that is over or under 14%mb =B11
20 Adjusted Water to add =B18-B19

5.0 Procedure

5.1 Equipment Preparation

5.1.1 Water Bath

  1. Ensure an adequate water level in the water bath tank (between minimum and maximum lines).
  2. Set and operate the water bath at 30 ± 0.2 ºC.

5.1.2 National 200g Pin Mixer

  1. Turn on the water bath set at 30 ºC to circulate through the mixing bowl jacket.
  2. Turn on the RAR control box. Then turn on the mixer and allow it to run at 116 rpm for 30 min. Note: The instrument can be operated at different rpm, therefore check the rpm display before starting the mixer. Verify that the mixer is operating at the required rpm by using a hand held tachometer. Note that the mixer-displayed rpm may differ from the tachometer rpm and needs to be adjusted accordingly.
  3. Ensure that personnel and other objects are kept away from the moving pins.
  4. After 30 min, turn on the computer and start the P2M mixer software (RAR software). Ensure that plot properties and data acquisition is set properly. While the mixer is running, press the <G> green go icon in the P2M program. Monitor the signal. If the mixer is warmed-up and clean, the value on level (Watts) should be just above zero <5). If that level value is below zero (not moving) or well above the zero, you have to go to data acquisition and reset the calibration B value. The general rule is that you reduce the B calibration value when level value is above zero, and increase it when the level value is below zero. Once the baseline is stable, mixing of dough can begin.

5.1.3 Extensograph

  1. Ensure that dough incubation chambers contain distilled water and have reached the 30 ± 0.2 ºC operational temperature. Check the ball rolling and molding chambers, dough cradles, and the extension hook for traces of dry dough. If necessary, clean the area with warm water and wipe dry with towels.

5.1.4 Balance

  1. Ensure that a suitable balance is leveled and calibrated. Balance must be able to weigh 200 g of flour plus sample holder weight with accuracy ± 0.01 g. Shield the balance from excessive air drafts and static.

5.2 Mixing Protocol

  1. The mixer should be ready for use (5.1.2.4) and should be running between tests to keep it warm. Good practice is to put in the date, sample name, and other comments into the software before mixing. This information stays there and needs to be changed before the next test.
  2. Prepare the required amount of 1% (flour basis) sodium chloride solution required (section 4.2) and weigh 200g flour on a 14% moisture basis. Place the flour in the bowl and create a well so that the flour and the solution will mix reproducibly (cover the bowl if not mixing immediately).
  3. Add saline solution to the flour and immediately start the mixer <FWD>, followed by starting the software by clicking <G> in the P2M software.
  4. Monitor the dough development curve closely. When the dough starts to break down, the red marker line will indicate latest peak development and you need to stop the test by pressing <Stop> switch on the controller and clicking <S> in the P2M software. Sometimes the red marker line is prematurely placed on the curve and stopping the test at that moment would produce underdeveloped dough. In most cases nearly developed dough has a characteristic “slapping” sound and is then most likely ready for stopping.
  5. With hands lightly greased, gently remove the dough (avoid unnecessary stretching or pulling). Fold the dough in half two times and scale off two 150 g dough pieces. Note: process the first dough piece while preparing the second piece. Fold each dough piece twice. Place the dough in the dough rounder and start the rounder. Once the ball is completed, you may require a small amount of dusting flour to prevent stickiness. Gently dip the bottom of the ball in dusting flour, if necessary, and remove excess flour. Carefully center the dough ball on the dough molder and shape it into a cylindrical dough piece. Place the dough into a non-greased and “warm” dough holder (cradle) with the “rough” side up and store it in a humidified chamber. Immediately start the timer counting down to 45 min.

5.3 Dough Testing

  1. Open the Brabender Extensograph®-E software and create a sample list using <Test> and then <New>. Click on the add test <Add>. Fill in the blanks with required information: operator, number of duplicates, number and time of tests (45 and 90 min), sample name, water absorption (14% mb) and any other remarks (such as dough handling properties, etc.). The system will prompt you to save the test. If time is limited, the sample list can be generated before mixing dough and absorption can be added once the dough is mixed.
  2. After 45 min rest, firmly place the cradle with the dough piece on the holding tray of the stretcher. Click the <Start Measurement> icon to initialize the test and as soon as the yellow sign “initializing” disappears, press the <Start> switch. As the hook descends, put your right hand below the hook (in case you need to catch broken dough piece), and the left hand on the stop switch. When the dough piece ruptures, immediately press <Stop> switch to terminate the test. The results are automatically saved to the previously created test file (45 min test).
  3. 5.3.3 Remove the dough pieces from the cradle, combine into one piece, fold gently two times and reshape as before in 5.2.5. Incubate the dough in the humidified chamber for another 45 min. After 45 min the dough is taken out from storage and tested again (90 min test). The results are automatically saved to the previously created test file (90 min test).

5.4 Cleaning

  1. Pin Mixer: Clean the pin mixer immediately after the test dough is placed in the extensigraph dough chamber. Clean the mixing bowl and mixing pins with water using a small toothbrush, wet- and dry- towels. At the end of the test day, unscrew the cover in the mixing head and clean thoroughly with a wet towel. Ensure that the cover is firmly reattached with the two numbers (engraved on the cover and mixing head) on the same side.
  2. Extensigraph: Clean the rounder and molder after each use if the samples are very sticky. Otherwise cleaning at the end of a test day is acceptable. Clean the cradles immediately after the final dough stretch so they are ready for the next sample. If the instrument is not used the next day, turn off the water bath, remove the water from the dough chamber and leave the door open to prevent microbial growth.
  3. Water Bath: Drain and clean the water tank, and refill with distilled water, at least twice a year or more frequently if visible discoloration appears.

6.0 Evaluation and Interpretation of the results

The Brabender software will automatically plot force (resistance) against the length (extensibility) and derives quality parameters such as resistance to extension (Rmax), extensibility, area under the curve and the ratio between resistance and extensibility.

  1. Resistance to extension, Rmax or R5, is the height of the curve in BU, either at maximum or at 5 cm after the start of the test.
  2. Extensibility is the total length of the curve in cm. The noise in the “curve” after the dough breaks should be ignored.
  3. Area is the area under the curve (Rmax vs extensibility) in cm2.
Date modified:

Méthode d’évaluation du comportement rhéologique de la farine par extensographe : utiliser un pétrin à tiges pour préparer la pâte

Propriétaire de la méthode : Recherches sur le blé panifiable et le blé dur
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 2016-08-26, version 2

1.0 Portée et champ d’application

La méthode de l’extensographe standard (méthode 54-10.01 de l’AACC, ICC 114/1, ISO 5530-2) est utilisée pour évaluer les propriétés rhéologiques de la pâte de blé en donnant des informations sur l’extensibilité et la force (résistance à l’extension) de la pâte. La méthode décrite ici, qui utilise un pétrin à tiges au lieu du farinographe pour la préparation de la pâte, se base sur un poids de farine constant. L’extensographe donne des informations sur l’extensibilité, la force et la qualité de traitement de la pâte en général.

2.0 Principe

La méthode de l’extensographe standard (méthode 54-10.01 de l’AACC, ICC 114/1, ISO 5530-2) utilise le farinographe pour la préparation de la pâte en présence de 2 % de sel à absorption d’eau réduite (absorption (farinographe) moins 2 % à 3 %). Cependant, la pâte ainsi préparée est habituellement sous-développée et plus sèche que ce que l’on voit habituellement lors des processus de cuisson courants. De plus, l’essai par extensographe standard prend du temps et nécessite un gros échantillon. Dans cette méthode modifiée, la pâte est pleinement développée dans un pétrin à tiges National jusqu’à consistance maximale. Le sel est réduit de 2 % à 1 %, et l’absorption d’eau passe 6 % à 7 % (absorption (farinographe) plus 4 %). Deux pâtons uniformes sont soumis au boulage, au moulage, au repos et à l’étirement par le biais du Brabender Extensograph®-E conformément à la méthode 54-10.01 d’AACC International. De fortes corrélations pour Rmax (r = 0,90) et surface (r = 0,92) ont été trouvées entre la méthode standard et la méthode modifiée de préparation de la pâte (Suchy et al, 2016). Ce protocole nécessite beaucoup moins de farine (la quantité passe de 300 g à 200 g), est plus rapide lors des essais subséquents effectués par le biais de l’extensographe, et augmente beaucoup le volume global des échantillons (>50 %).

3.0 Références

4.0 Matériel

4.1 Équipement

  1. Pétrin à tiges de 200 g (National Mfg. Co.) muni d’un bain à circulation d’eau chauffant/refroidissant et d’un bol à mélanger à chemise à eau de 200 g. Pour connaître le fonctionnement de l’instrument et les essais s’y rapportant, veuillez vous référer au manuel du fabricant.
  2. Brabender Extensograph®-E (C. W. Brabender Instrument Inc.) contrôlé à l’aide d’un logiciel.
  3. Balance d’une précision de 0,01 g.
  4. Boîte d’alimentation du mélangeur et logiciel P2M (RAR Software Systems, Winnipeg, Manitoba).

4.2 Produits chimiques

  1. Le chlorure de sodium (NaCl) doit être le sel très pur non ionisé aussi utilisé pour la cuisson.
  2. Préparer une solution de chlorure de sodium de 1 % (p/v) à l’aide de 2 g de NaCl dissouts dans un volume requis d’eau distillée. Le volume d’eau est déterminé à partir de l’absorption d’eau et des corrections à une base d’humidité de 14 % (p. ex. une farine d’une teneur en humidité de 13,1 % et d’une absorption (farinographe) de 65 % nécessite 140,1 ml d’eau et 197,9 g de farine, basé sur un échantillon de farine de 200 g). Si la solution est mélangée à l’avance, il faut la protéger contre l’évaporation inutile.

1 A B
2 Numéro de l’échantillon Exemple
3
4 Teneur en eau de la farine (%) 13,1
5 Absorption au farinographe (FAB) 65
6 FAB + 4 =B5+4
7 Poids de la farine (g) =(100-14)/(100-B4)*200
8 Eau (ml) à ajouter =(200*B6/100)-B11
9
10 Eau dans la farine
11 Supérieure ou inférieure à 14 % mb =(B7*B4/100)-(200*14/100)
12 (Teneur en eau farine telle quelle) - (Teneur en eau farine 14 % mb)
13
14 Explication du calcul ci-dessus :
15 Solides dans la farine = Poids de la farine - (Poids de la farine x teneur en eau) =B7-(B7*B4/100)
16 Teneur en eau de la farine = Poids de la farine x teneur en eau =B7*B4/100
17 Poids total de la farine =B15+B16
18 Eau à ajouter pour FAB + 4 (où FAB est 14 % mb) =B6*200/100
19 Teneur en eau de la farine supérieure ou inférieure à 14 % mb =B11
20 Ajustement de l’eau à ajouter =B18-B19

5.0 Procédure

5.1 Préparation de l’équipement

5.1.1 Bain d’eau

  1. S’assurer qu’il y a un niveau d’eau adéquat dans le réservoir du bain d’eau (entre la ligne minimum et la ligne maximum).
  2. Régler et utiliser le bain d’eau à 30°C ± 0,2 ºC.

5.1.2 Pétrin à tiges National de 200 g

  1. Régler le bain d’eau à 30 ºC pour faire circuler l’eau dans la chemise du bol à mélanger.
  2. Mettre la boîte de commande RAR en marche. Ensuite, mettre le mélangeur en marche et le laisser fonctionner à 116 tr/min pendant 30 minutes. Note : Comme l’instrument peut être utilisé à différents régimes, il faut vérifier le régime auquel le mélangeur est réglé avant de démarrer le mélangeur. Vérifier que le mélangeur est au bon régime à l’aide d’un tachymètre portatif. Noter que le régime affiché sur le mélangeur peut être différent du régime indiqué par le tachymètre; si c’est le cas, le régime affiché doit être modifié en conséquence.
  3. S’assurer que le personnel et les objets demeurent loin des tiges en mouvement.
  4. Après 30 minutes, démarrer l’ordinateur et le logiciel du mélangeur P2M (logiciel RAR). S’assurer que les propriétés de comparaison et que l’acquisition de données sont réglées adéquatement. Pendant que le mélangeur fonctionne, appuyer sur l’icone vert <G> dans le logiciel P2M. Surveiller le signal. Si le mélangeur est réchauffé et propre, la valeur au niveau (watts) doit être tout juste au-dessus de zéro (<5). Si cette valeur au niveau est inférieure à zéro (immobile) ou bien au-dessus de zéro, vous devez aller à l’acquisition des données et réinitialiser la valeur d’étalonnage B. La règle générale est que vous diminuez la valeur d’étalonnage B lorsque la valeur au niveau est supérieure à zéro, et que vous l’augmentez lorsque la valeur au niveau est inférieure à zéro. Une fois que le point de comparaison est stable, le mélange de la pâte peut débuter.

5.1.3 Extensographe

  1. S’assurer que les chambres d’incubation de la pâte contiennent de l’eau distillée et qu’elles ont atteint la température opérationnelle de 30 °C ± 0,2 ºC. Vérifier les chambres de roulage et de moulage des balles, les berceaux à pâte et le crochet de rallonge pour voir s’ils comportent des traces de pâte sèche. Si nécessaire, nettoyer la surface avec de l’eau tiède, puis l’assécher à l’aide de serviettes.

5.1.4 Balance

  1. S’assurer qu’une balance adéquate est mise au niveau et étalonnée. La balance doit pouvoir peser 200 g de farine plus le poids du porte-échantillon avec une précision de ± 0,01 g. Protéger la balance de la statique et des courants d’air excessifs.

5.2 Protocole de mélange

  1. Le mélangeur doit être prêt à être utilisé (5.1.2.4) et doit fonctionner entre les essais pour rester chaud. Il est conseillé d’entrer la date, le nom de l’échantillon et les commentaires dans le logiciel avant le mélange. Cette information demeure à cet endroit et doit être modifiée avant le prochain essai.
  2. Préparer la quantité requise de solution de chlorure de sodium (Base farine) de 1 % (section 4.2) et peser 200 g de farine sur une base de 14 % d’humidité. Placer la farine dans le bol et faire un puits pour que la farine et la solution se mélangent de façon reproductible (couvrir le bol si vous ne mélangez pas la farine et la solution immédiatement).
  3. Ajouter la solution saline à la farine et démarrer immédiatement le mélangeur <FWD>, puis démarrer le logiciel en appuyant sur <G> dans le logiciel P2M.
  4. Surveiller la courbe de développement de la pâte de près. Lorsque la pâte commence à se briser, la ligne de marquage rouge indique le dernier pic, et vous devez arrêter l’essai en appuyant sur l’interrupteur <Stop> sur le contrôleur et en cliquant sur <S> dans le logiciel P2M. Parfois, la ligne de marquage rouge est placée prématurément sur la courbe, et le fait d’arrêter l’essai à ce moment donne une pâte sous-développée. Dans la plupart des cas, la pâte presque développée produit un claquement caractéristique; lorsque la plaque claque, elle est fort probablement prête.
  5. Les mains légèrement graissées, retirer doucement la pâte (éviter de tirer dessus ou de l’étirer inutilement). Plier la pâte en deux, à deux reprises, puis écailler deux pâtons de 150 g. Note : traiter le premier pâton tout en préparant le deuxième. Plier chaque pâton à deux reprises. Placer la pâte dans la bouleuse et démarrer la bouleuse. Une fois que la boule est complétée, vous pourriez avoir besoin d’une petite quantité de farine à fendre pour empêcher que la boule ne soit collante. Tremper doucement la partie inférieure de la boule dans la farine à fendre si nécessaire, et enlever l’excès de farine. Centrer avec soin la boule de pâte sur la façonneuse à pâte, puis en faire un morceau de pâte cylindrique. Placer la pâte dans un porte-pâte (berceau) chaud et non graissé côté grossier vers le haut, et l’entreposer dans une chambre humidifiée. Démarrer immédiatement la minuterie (45 minutes).

5.3 Essai de la pâte

  1. Ouvrir le logiciel Brabender Extensograph®-E et créer une liste d’échantillons à l’aide de <Test>, puis de <New>. Cliquer sur <Add> pour ajouter un essai. Inscrire l’information requise dans les espaces vides : opérateur, nombre de duplicats, nombre et durée des essais (45 et 90 minutes), nom de l’échantillon, absorption d’eau (14 % mb) et toute autre remarque (comme les propriétés de manipulation de la pâte, etc.). Le système vous demandera d’enregistrer l’essai. Si le temps est limité, la liste d’échantillons peut être produite avant de mélanger la pâte, et l’absorption peut être ajoutée une fois la pâte mélangée.
  2. Après une pause de 45 minutes, placer fermement le berceau avec le pâton sur le support de maintien de l’étireur. Cliquer sur l’icône <Start Measurement> pour initialiser l’essai et, dès que l’inscription jaune « initializing » disparaît, appuyer sur l’interrupteur <Start>. Au fur et à mesure que le crochet descend, mettre votre main droite sous celui-ci (en cas que vous ayez besoin d’attraper un pâton brisé) et la main gauche sur l’interrupteur d’arrêt. Lorsque le pâton se brise, appuyer immédiatement sur l’interrupteur <Stop> pour arrêter l’essai. Les résultats sont automatiquement enregistrés dans le dossier d’essai précédemment créé (essai de 45 minutes).
  3. Enlever les pâtons du berceau, les combiner en un pâton, plier doucement le pâton à deux reprises et le reformer comme en 5.2.5. Incuber la pâte dans la chambre humidifiée pendant une autre période de 45 minutes. Après 45 minutes, on sort la pâte de l’entreposage et on la reteste (essai de 90 minutes). Les résultats sont enregistrés automatiquement dans le dossier d’essai précédemment créé (essai de 90 minutes).

5.4 Nettoyage

  1. Pétrin à tiges : Nettoyer le pétrin à tiges immédiatement après que la pâte d’essai est placée dans la chambre à pâte de l’extensographe. Nettoyer le bol à mélanger et les tiges à mélanger avec de l’eau à l’aide d’une petite brosse à dents et de serviettes sèches et humides. À la fin de la journée d’essai, dévisser le couvercle dans la tête à mélanger, et faire un bon nettoyage à l’aide d’une serviette humide. S’assurer que le couvercle est fermement réattaché, et que les deux numéros (gravés sur le couvercle et sur la tête à mélanger) sont du même côté.
  2. Extensographe : Nettoyer la bouleuse et la façonneuse après chaque utilisation si les échantillons sont très collants. Sinon, on peut les nettoyer à la fin d’une journée d’essai. Nettoyer les berceaux immédiatement après le dernier étirement de pâte afin qu’ils soient prêts pour le prochain échantillon. Si l’instrument n’est pas utilisé le jour suivant, arrêter le bain d’eau, enlever l’eau de la chambre à pâte et laisser la porte ouverte pour empêcher la croissance microbienne.
  3. Bain d’eau : Drainer et nettoyer le réservoir à eau, et le remplir d’eau distillée, deux fois par an, ou plus fréquemment si de la décoloration visible apparaît.

6.0 Évaluation et interprétation des résultats

Le logiciel Brabender comparera automatiquement la force (résistance) et la longueur (extensibilité), et dérivera les paramètres de qualité comme la résistance à l’extension (Rmax), l’extensibilité, la surface sous la courbe et le ratio entre la résistance et l’extensibilité.

  1. La résistance à l’extension, Rmax ou R5, est la hauteur de la courbe en U.B., au maximum ou à 5 cm après le début de l’essai.
  2. L’extensibilité est la longueur totale de la courbe en centimètres. Le bruit dans la « courbe » après le bris de la pâte doit être ignoré.
  3. La surface est la zone sous la courbe (Rmax vs extensibilité) en centimètres carrés.
Date de modification :